We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, value and fabulous food plus tickets to fascinating Bletchley Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villiers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villiers Hotel to your Saves list
Villiers Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Castle Street, Buckingham MK18 1BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Comfort, value and fabulous food plus tickets to fascinating Bletchley Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We booked 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast at a bargain price, but everything was first class. The room (203) was spacious with a a comfy bed, large bathroom and plentiful very hot water ( if you have small children with you beware!) There was parking in the centre of town and a health club with gym, sauna and pool not too far away - maybe a 10-15 minute walk rather than the 5-10 quoted.

The food was a particular highlight - beautifully presented, well cooked with wonderful flavours. everything we had both at dinner and breakfast was superb. The staff were all pleasant and helpful and we shall definitely return.

The tickets to Bletchley Park provided a really interesting day out. Allow longer than you think you will need as it is so fascinating. The volunteer staff are passionate about the people who used to work there and have so many stories to make it all come alive that it is worth taking the guided tour rather than just using the multimedia one. A new visitor centre and renovation of huts 3 and 6 is underway and should be completed in June 2014 and the tickets allow repeat visits for 12 months.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    104
    40
    15
    2
See reviews for
35
179
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Booked 2 nights Dinner, Bed & Breakfast here via Travelzoo. Villiers Hotel is situated in the centre of the town of Buckingham. We managed to park in the Courtyard Car Park. We had a very warm greeting on arrival and the check in procedure was effortless.

We had Room No 124, which overlooked the front of the building. The room was big and very spacious and as it was a bitterly cold day, it was lovely to be greeted by a warm room. The bed was huge and comfortable, and the decor was in keeping with the design of the hotel.

We had a nice large bathroom with a large bath ( Heaven ) and their was lots of lovely hot water and we had complimentary toiletries.

We ate in the Restaurant on both evenings. Friday night we ate from The Market Menu and the food was execellent. My husband had the Smoked Trout Mousse, Confit Celery, Green Bean, Horseradish Cream & Lemon Oil for his starter followed by Pan Fried Pheasant Supreme, Pancetta, Roasted Chantenay Carrots, Puy Lentils and Chesnut Sauce for his main course. My husband's sweet was Warm Apple Tart with Creme Anglaise.

I had Chicken Liiver Pate, Tomato Chutney, Salad Leaves and Baked Croutes for my starter. My main course was Roast Fillet of Salmon, Chive Mash, Creamed Leeks, Green Beans and Grain Mustard Cream Sauce. My dessert was Iced Chocolate Parfailt with Mint Chocolate Ice Cream. The food was excellent.

We washed all this lovely food down on both evenings with bottles of 'Indabla' Red Merlot Wine, which was big, bold and beautiful.

Saturday evening My Husband had the Chicken Liver Pate for his starter followed by Braised Blade of Beef, Horseradish Potato puree, Braised Red Cabbage with a Red Wine Sauce. My husbands dessert was Vanilla Panna Cotta with Strawberry Coulis.

I had the Smoked Trout Mousse for my starter followed by the Chicken Supreme of the Ala Carte Menu served with a mushroom and red wine sauce and served with butternut squash mash and vegetables. My dessert was the warm apple tart with cream. This food was execellent and we both expressed compliements to the cheif.

The Breakfasts on both days were very good and each day we had a hearty Full English Breakfast to set us up for the day.

The Staff was unobtrusive but very professional and nothing was too much for them. Special Thanks go to Martin, Kate and Ross, who made our stay so enjoyable.

We also were given Compliementary Tickets To visit Bletchley Park, which made a very interesting day out.

We will certainly be going back there again sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Villiers is situated right in the centre of Buckingham and has plenty of parking available.

Warm greeting on arrival. Even though we were almost too late for dinner, we were made to feel as if it was no trouble for them to arrange it for us. The food is very good and comes well presented. I can recommend the salmon and braised beef.

We stayed on the travel zoo offer which offers exceptional value including a visit to Bletchley park, which is fascinating.

I would particularly single out Martin who seems to cover the work of several of the other staff while providing much better and friendlier service than the younger lads.

All in all a fantastic and great value for money stay - would definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Booked 2 nights bed breakfast and evening meals, very nice, very large bedroom/lounge..beautiful bay seated window overlooking a cobbled courtyard..large bathroom with bath and shower....mostly original features in the hotel with a very cosy authentic bar with huge inglenook wood burning fire going, original beams and flagstone floor.
The food in the restaurant was lovely..didn't want the food to end!
Breakfast had everything you could want and all the staff were very friendly and attentive, no waiting for orders to be taken,drinks to be given and food brought to your table promptly.The restaurant itself had a nice atmosphere.
Ryan in the bar was very friendly and made a mean Calypso coffee!

Along with the deal we had 2 tickets to Bletchley Park, which I thought may not interest me, but it did and had a brilliant tour guide who was very informative. (17th Nov 11.30am)the place is run by volunteers and is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: we had room 111 which was on the 1st floor..there is a lift if needed. The room had a very nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Similar to those below we had the 2 night travelzoo offer with Bletchley tickets, plus dinner and breakfast twice, all included for £99 per person.

The room we had, 102, was spacious and comfortable.

The restaurant was a highlight - we had the market menu the first night which was delicious. But as it was the same menu the second night we chose from the a la carte and just paid a small difference.

The a la carte choices we had were also very good.
The wines by the glass are a good selection - both the Riesling and the Malbec were good.

Breakfast was cooked fresh - smoked haddock and poached eggs delicious.

The service on check in, at the bar and in the restaurant was friendly, efficient but unobtrusive - so perfect.

The part stopping this hotel being a 5 review is the appalling internet connection. The wifi signal is weak and sporadic, and connectivity is standard in so many hotels now that it factors into our decision.
The area had poor vodaphone signal so good wifi is even more important.

If you don't need any connection for wifi, we would highly recommend this hotel, and will return once it is upgraded.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here on a Travelzoo break including Bletchley tickets, which was really good value for money. We were very impressed with this hotel and will definitely return.
Really good sized room and spacious bathroom, comfortable bed and flat screen tv. The food was also excellent, dinner from the Market Menu was really delicious, I had
Salmon on one evening & Braised Beef on the other. Breakfast offered a great choice and all freshly cooked to order.

We couldn't find fault with anything here the staff were so helpful and friendly going out of their way to talk to you and make sure everything was just right.

Thank you to everyone at the Villiers for making our weekend truly memorable, hope top see you all again soon,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury,England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week, using a travelzoo offer, which included bed, breakfast, dinner( from Garden Menu) and tickets to Bletchly Park. The hotel was first class, our room was a good size with two armchairs, large TV and fridge, with the usual tea making facilities. The bathroom had a large bath and was in good order.
The food at dinner was exceptional , the braised beef was very good as was the salmon.Breakfast was cooked to order and again was of a high standard and was served very promptly. The staff were all very friendly and efficient , car parking was in the hotel courtyard, though there was an overspill a couple of minutes away. We did not use the leisure facilities which I understand are close by.
We like the location and will definitely return. We stayed in room 106

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villiers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villiers Hotel

Address: 3 Castle Street, Buckingham MK18 1BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Buckingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villiers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villiers Hotel has a 4 Star AA classification. The hotel has a 450 year history from being an important main coaching inn in the 16th century to a delightfully refurbished hotel today. Designed around a cobbled courtyard, the hotel has 49 bedrooms individually designed and including suites, and executive rooms. The restaurant has been awarded 2 rosettes by the AA for innovative fresh food dining, and offers an eclectic a la carte menu as well as the fixed price 3 course Market Menu. The real ale bar is popular with guests and locals alike who appreciate its real log fire and delicious bar menu. The hotel also encapsulates Buckingham's Old Town Hall also full refurbished for conferencing and weddings. Car Parking is extensive and freely available for customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Villiers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Buckingham
Buckingham Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel Villiers
Villiers Hotel Buckingham, Buckinghamshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villiers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.