We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villiers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villiers Hotel to your Saves list
Villiers Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Castle Street, Buckingham MK18 1BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Only stayed here for 1 night B&B. Very friendly and helpful check-in staff who allowed us to check in early. Very clean hotel including the rooms; ours was very roomy particularly the bathroom. Nice well stocked bar and dining room. On site car park, if you arrive early apparently. I would definitely stay here again. One thing to be aware of is due to the age of the building the stairs are steep so if you suffer any mobility problems it would be worth calling ahead and asking for a low level room. I'm sure they'd do their best to accommodate

Room Tip: It appeared some rooms may have been in the rear courtyard area. I'm guessing these would have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    104
    40
    15
    2
See reviews for
35
179
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have just got back from a few days at this lovely hotel, all the staff are friendly and helpful, the food is wonderful, you will not be disappointed, it is beautifully presented and tastes as good as it looks. The rooms are clean, big and spacious with lovely decor. And I must mention the wonderfully helpful bar staff who told us of places to go and see, also where the nearest bank was, and was in general friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here before attending a business conference at Silverstone.
Pros:

* friendly restaurant staff and nice food
* clean rooms, towels, linen

Cons:

* Noisy courtyard ground floor room
* Provided with a wifi code but the connection was terrible and non-existent in the bedroom, not suitable for business travel
* No parking available on arrival, car park full, very inconvenient after a long drive
* Sink plug in room faulty

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard ground floor rooms, noisy with doors banging from all guests leaving the pub.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

we booked the Villiers Hotel as last minute change of plans on a special offer, we up graded to a premium room. The hotel is very good, clean and friendly, food and service at dinner were excellent.
After our (included in the price) trip to Bletchley Park we found an anniversary card and homemade chocolates in our room, and we were treated to a free glass of bubbly each at dinner.
The only couple of niggles were that the shower curtain had seen better days, and that the service at breakfast was not as good as dinner.
We will be back to stay again The Villiers Hotel is a great find

Room Tip: we upgraded and our room 110 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in Villiers Hotel for 5 days, for our exploring trip to UK. Both of us was so surprise of the positive atmosphere which the staff had towards us and we really felt appreciate and welcome.
The food was outstanding, we had dinner in the restaurant 2 out of the 4 evenings, and we were not disappointed at any time, quality is very good when comparing quality and price
We would for sure recommend this hotel to anyone who are coming to UK for a relaxing trip, don´t go to Villiers if you expect a party hotel and business hotel, it is more a luxury hotel where you relax and save up energy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Jean at Villiers organised the most marvellous reception for our daughter's wedding last Friday. 110 people had drinks, canapes, a delicious sit-down wedding breakfast beautifully presented and very efficiently served in their anne, Buckingham's 18th century Town Hall. In the evening they provided a well- run bar, magically reconfigured the dining tables to reveal a dance floor, laid on a discotheque, and worked round the live band that we hired ourselves. About twenty of the family stayed in the hotel,who offered a bridal suite as part of the package. The event was very well presented and unobtrusively managed, and Jean and her staff at Villiers offered a marvellous backdrop for the happy couple's big day; Jean herself was around until the last guest left. If I had to do it all again I would not change a single thing. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was my third stay at the hotel. The customer service has been uniformly high in all areas of the hotel. The rooms are well appointed for this class of hotel. The food continues to be of a very high standard.

The internet connection signal is very poor - it's neither consistently available nor anywhere strong enough. They clearly have not ensured that the signal quality beyond the reception area is usable.. If you need internet for more than reading the odd email, then this is not the hotel to stay at.

It's such a shame as otherwise I would be happy to fully recommend the hotel for business. Until this is properly sorted then I would stay elsewhere if you have the choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villiers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villiers Hotel

Address: 3 Castle Street, Buckingham MK18 1BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Buckingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villiers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villiers Hotel has a 4 Star AA classification. The hotel has a 450 year history from being an important main coaching inn in the 16th century to a delightfully refurbished hotel today. Designed around a cobbled courtyard, the hotel has 49 bedrooms individually designed and including suites, and executive rooms. The restaurant has been awarded 2 rosettes by the AA for innovative fresh food dining, and offers an eclectic a la carte menu as well as the fixed price 3 course Market Menu. The real ale bar is popular with guests and locals alike who appreciate its real log fire and delicious bar menu. The hotel also encapsulates Buckingham's Old Town Hall also full refurbished for conferencing and weddings. Car Parking is extensive and freely available for customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Villiers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Buckingham
Buckingham Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel Villiers
Villiers Hotel Buckingham, Buckinghamshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villiers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.