We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villiers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villiers Hotel to your Saves list
Villiers Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Castle Street, Buckingham MK18 1BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Reigate, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Midweek stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights while my brother went to the Silverstone Challenge Day. We also visited Bletchley Park and Stowe Landscape Gardens. I was fortunate to stay in room 224, quietly situated at the far end of the old hotel. It was quiet and spacious, with a very comfortable bed. The builti-in air conditioning worked and was also quiet. My brother and his wife were allocated a courtyard room which was suitable for use by disabled visitors. The air conditioning was supplied by a slightly noisy unit and I would not have been so happy with this room. Breakfast in the modern restaurant was excellent, and we enjoyed our evenings in the pub-style bar. Generally I found the hotel very comfortable, homely and welcoming. I would recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Room 224 was tucked away at the top of the hotel in a corner. Although at the front of the hotel I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRBuckinhamshire, General Manager at Villiers Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
So pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for bringing to our attention the noisy air conditioning unit in the room your family were allocated. We hope to welcome you back to Villiers in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    101
    35
    14
    1
See reviews for
32
171
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three nights whilst attending Silverstone Corporate Challenge - hotel stay and Silverstone was a retirement gift from employer for my partner. The hotel room was spacious, clean and staff friendly. The room was noisy from 6 a.m. - 11 p.m. due to the noise of the fans - assume from kitchen or bar. Another disappointment was a letter left in our room Friday evening advising customers that as the hotel was full please try to attend breakfast early - I was looking forward to a lie-in on Saturday morning seeing as I wasn't working; however I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRBuckinhamshire, General Manager at Villiers Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Sorry to have disappointed you during your recent stay. The letter we placed in the guest rooms was just meant as an alert, that if any guest should be in a hurry the next morning to avoid the popular later breakfast times. Thank you for informing me of the fan noise, the fans should not have been so noisy to have disturbed you, I do apologise. I have had the fans checked and no problems could be found. We hope to welcome you back to Villiers in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is nicely presented, although in my room the two single divan beds were soooooo old they were brown. The mattresses were extremely soft, so uncomfortable night. The room was very well presented despite the beds, it had lots of character.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. A great place for a wedding reception, great venue, great food!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRBuckinhamshire, General Manager at Villiers Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, we are embarking on the next round of refurbishment, with the room you mention being on the list. Refurbing the hotel is like painting the 'Forth Bridge', we get to one end and have to start all over again. Pleased to read that other aspects of your stay were enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights to attend a family wedding. Signing in was carried out efficiently and staff helped us to find a parking space even though the one disabled space was taken. Our room was designated as a "disabled" room. The bedroom was very spacious but the furniture was disappointing - a bit "self assembly"! The bed, however was large and comfortable. The ceiling was very low and a hazard for the taller person. The bathroom had a raised toilet and hand rails to assist disabled visitors. However, the shower was over the bath which was walled in for half its length. I would expect a walk-in shower cubicle or a wet room in a room classified as disabled. The room was also very hot. There was air conditioning but it was far too noisy to leave on at night.

Dinner and breakfast were excellent and the restaurant nicely appointed. The bar was comfortable with a good selection of beers on tap. The reception was in the banquet or conference room. This was a good space and nicely decorated. The wedding breakfast was good and all staff helpful and polite. The lift to the banquet hall is accessed via an outside yard where the bins are stored. There is then a steep ramp which required two men to manhandle the wheelchair into the lift. At the banquet level the door to the hall was not wide enough to get the wheelchair through so the user had to alight from the chair so it could be collapsed and then re-erected when through the door. Not good at all and certainly not good enough.

In short the staff were excellent - friendly, helpful and accommodating. The hotel itself is not ideal for disabled visitors and I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRBuckinhamshire, General Manager at Villiers Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your Review from the prospective of a wheelchair user. I am sorry that the access to the Ballroom in the Old Town Hall caused you problems, the building is more than 300 years old, built on a gradient with the floors at different levels. Due to the geography of the building the service lift is sited in the only place that each floor can be reached. we have had many guests in wheelchairs & mobility scooters gain entrance via the service lift without having to alight. Noted your disappointment about the allocated room. I would like to add this room is not classified as a specific disabled room. The hotel is a listed building, more than 400 years old, unfortunately due to the age and status of the building we are unable to make changes to the ceiling height. We are sorry to have disappointed you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had an excellent short break at this lovely hotel . The room and bathroom was spacious and clean . We had dinner bed and breakfast both nights . The food was excellent the staff friendly and obliging . We had free entrance to Stowe gardens as part of the deal, which was a beautiful place to visit . The location was good, close to Bicester Shopping Village and Bletchley Park . The air conditioning was not working which meant the room (116) was uncomfortably warm, the only negative of an excellent stay . Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRBuckinhamshire, General Manager at Villiers Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
So pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable short break with us and your visit to Stowe Landscape Gardens was equally enjoyable. May I thank you for bringing to our attention the malfunction of the air conditioning unit in the room allocated to you,116. I am sorry we could not get the unit fixed during your stay but the plumber has now been able to diagnose and fix the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Childswickham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We live in Milton Keynes and don't venture to Buckingham to eat very often but a few people had mentioned this restaurant so we decided to try it with friends to celebrate my husband's birthday. The restaurant is very nicely appointed, the staff very helpful and friendly. The choices on the menu were good, even for someone like me who doesn't eat red meat. Everything was excellently presented and tasty. The only things I would say that could have been better were a) the white wine was warm but they managed to chill it in an ice bucket reasonably quickly. However I would expect somewhere of this quality to know its wine wasn't chilled - you could see it on the bottle when they brought it and why do restaurants keep using those silly thermos flask wine coolers?! They are next to useless. They did then get us a proper ice bucket with ice (and water ... so many people pile in the ice which just chills the bottom of the bottle!). Then b) at the end we came to pay the bill and discovered we'd paid about £7.20 for 4 very small bread rolls and about 6 olives. This is a little bit over priced in my view. It wouldn't hurt a restaurant of this size to provide a nice selection of bread as part of the dining experience. They deducted it when we commented, so they did handle it well. Otherwise it was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRBuckinhamshire, General Manager at Villiers Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
So pleased to read that you had enjoyed your time with us and the dining experience too. Sorry that the white wine was not served as chilled as it should have been but pleased to read you were happy the way the staff rectified the problem. With ever increasing costs of ingredients we now have to charge for the homebaked breads that are served with a selection of olives, butter, tapenade, olive oil and balsamic, this is charged at £3.50 per portion. I apologise if you ordered one portion and were charged incorrectly. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

By and large this hotel is okay. Our room was spacious and comfortable (albeit the on the ground floor overlooking the car park). The food is pretty good and the bar serves Hook Norton on tap-and is open to residents until late (apparently)- what's not to like!
Areas of improvement required would be with the staff who don't quite make enough effort. I arrived at breakfast at 0959 (last orders at 10) and without asking was promptly told that the kitchen was closed and no cooked breakfast would be available. This inflexibility was irritating.
We also ordered some sandwiches for a picnic for a few people the next day and the charge was £38.00. Ouch!
I would stay here again (just) but it would make all the difference if the staff could up their game in terms of PR.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigeloddy, Owner at Villiers Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking time out to review your stay at Villiers and I’m pleased most was OK. Re breakfast, Villiers prides itself on the quality of its breakfasts (see other reviews) and I apologise for the misunderstanding over your cooked breakfast. All cooked breakfasts are freshly plated - on that morning the chefs, believing all residents had breakfasted had just popped over to our other kitchens to prep for a function. We always serve breakfasts after the 10am deadline but on this occasion there would have been a slight delay whilst we recalled the chefs back to the restaurant. Apologies for any misunderstanding.

Re the sandwiches, 9 rounds were specifically ordered from our afternoon tea menu – finger sandwiches including smoked salmon, cream cheese, and honey baked ham.

Looking forward to welcoming you next time when hopefully all will be fine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villiers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villiers Hotel

Address: 3 Castle Street, Buckingham MK18 1BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Buckingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villiers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villiers Hotel has a 4 Star AA classification. The hotel has a 450 year history from being an important main coaching inn in the 16th century to a delightfully refurbished hotel today. Designed around a cobbled courtyard, the hotel has 49 bedrooms individually designed and including suites, and executive rooms. The restaurant has been awarded 2 rosettes by the AA for innovative fresh food dining, and offers an eclectic a la carte menu as well as the fixed price 3 course Market Menu. The real ale bar is popular with guests and locals alike who appreciate its real log fire and delicious bar menu. The hotel also encapsulates Buckingham's Old Town Hall also full refurbished for conferencing and weddings. Car Parking is extensive and freely available for customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villiers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Buckingham
Buckingham Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel Villiers
Villiers Hotel Buckingham, Buckinghamshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villiers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.