We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villiers Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villiers Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villiers Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Castle Street, Buckingham MK18 1BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Buckingham
London, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had an excellent short break at this lovely hotel . The room and bathroom was spacious and clean . We had dinner bed and breakfast both nights . The food was excellent the staff friendly and obliging . We had free entrance to Stowe gardens as part of the deal, which was a beautiful place to visit . The location was good, close to Bicester Shopping Village and Bletchley Park . The air conditioning was not working which meant the room (116) was uncomfortably warm, the only negative of an excellent stay . Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRBuckinhamshire, General Manager at Villiers Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
So pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable short break with us and your visit to Stowe Landscape Gardens was equally enjoyable. May I thank you for bringing to our attention the malfunction of the air conditioning unit in the room allocated to you,116. I am sorry we could not get the unit fixed during your stay but the plumber has now been able to diagnose and fix the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    97
    33
    13
    0
See reviews for
30
163
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Childswickham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We live in Milton Keynes and don't venture to Buckingham to eat very often but a few people had mentioned this restaurant so we decided to try it with friends to celebrate my husband's birthday. The restaurant is very nicely appointed, the staff very helpful and friendly. The choices on the menu were good, even for someone like me who doesn't eat red meat. Everything was excellently presented and tasty. The only things I would say that could have been better were a) the white wine was warm but they managed to chill it in an ice bucket reasonably quickly. However I would expect somewhere of this quality to know its wine wasn't chilled - you could see it on the bottle when they brought it and why do restaurants keep using those silly thermos flask wine coolers?! They are next to useless. They did then get us a proper ice bucket with ice (and water ... so many people pile in the ice which just chills the bottom of the bottle!). Then b) at the end we came to pay the bill and discovered we'd paid about £7.20 for 4 very small bread rolls and about 6 olives. This is a little bit over priced in my view. It wouldn't hurt a restaurant of this size to provide a nice selection of bread as part of the dining experience. They deducted it when we commented, so they did handle it well. Otherwise it was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRBuckinhamshire, General Manager at Villiers Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
So pleased to read that you had enjoyed your time with us and the dining experience too. Sorry that the white wine was not served as chilled as it should have been but pleased to read you were happy the way the staff rectified the problem. With ever increasing costs of ingredients we now have to charge for the homebaked breads that are served with a selection of olives, butter, tapenade, olive oil and balsamic, this is charged at £3.50 per portion. I apologise if you ordered one portion and were charged incorrectly. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

By and large this hotel is okay. Our room was spacious and comfortable (albeit the on the ground floor overlooking the car park). The food is pretty good and the bar serves Hook Norton on tap-and is open to residents until late (apparently)- what's not to like!
Areas of improvement required would be with the staff who don't quite make enough effort. I arrived at breakfast at 0959 (last orders at 10) and without asking was promptly told that the kitchen was closed and no cooked breakfast would be available. This inflexibility was irritating.
We also ordered some sandwiches for a picnic for a few people the next day and the charge was £38.00. Ouch!
I would stay here again (just) but it would make all the difference if the staff could up their game in terms of PR.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigeloddy, Owner at Villiers Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking time out to review your stay at Villiers and I’m pleased most was OK. Re breakfast, Villiers prides itself on the quality of its breakfasts (see other reviews) and I apologise for the misunderstanding over your cooked breakfast. All cooked breakfasts are freshly plated - on that morning the chefs, believing all residents had breakfasted had just popped over to our other kitchens to prep for a function. We always serve breakfasts after the 10am deadline but on this occasion there would have been a slight delay whilst we recalled the chefs back to the restaurant. Apologies for any misunderstanding.

Re the sandwiches, 9 rounds were specifically ordered from our afternoon tea menu – finger sandwiches including smoked salmon, cream cheese, and honey baked ham.

Looking forward to welcoming you next time when hopefully all will be fine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This old coaching is centrally located in Buckingham which is just about twenty minutes from Milton Keynes. It is handy for Woburn Abbey and Bletchley Park, with Blenheim Palace just a little further away. The rooms are arranged around a central courtyard accessed through an archway from the street. Extra parking is available close by. Our room was large and clean if uninspiring. There was no resident’s lounge to spend time in, but as most guests are either business types, or intending to spend the day visiting the attractions, this is probably acceptable. The bar was a pleasant pub-like place patronized by non-residents too.
However, the great appeal of the Villers is the staff, in particular Matt, the F&D Manager, and the chef and his team who produced excellent meals, in particular, our evening meals which were very enjoyable with beautifully laid tables (snow white tablecloths and sparkling cutlery and glassware).
The Villiers is great value for money and well situated. Ask about the deal for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast which includes free tickets to any of the above attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRBuckinhamshire, General Manager at Villiers Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay but was sorry to read that you did not manage to find the Hotel Lounge during your stay. We do have a lovely lounge area at the front of the hotel with lots of comfy sofa's to sit and while the time away; being an old coaching inn that has been extended & refurbished over the years, the hotel is a little rambling, so I do apologise that you were not made aware of the lounge area and where to find it. Myself and the Team hope to be able to welcome you back to Villiers in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Villiers is a nice, old hotel that has many lovely period features. We have stayed there many times and the same things are always wrong. The rooms are over-heated and it's difficult to adjust the temperature. This time the air conditioning unit wouldn't work so we turned off the radiators. The bathrooms are badly lit and gloomy with very tired fixture and fittings. The restaurant where you eat breakfast is chilly first thing in the morning. That said, the staff are always pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had stayed here several years ago, when it had been recently refurbished. Not much has changed, but it is starting to look in need of some investment.
That said, it has a lot to offer. Good pricing gives good value. Plenty of free parking in a town centre. Friendly and efficient staff. Good bar.
Room was big, but a bit old fashioned, but comfortable and fine for our purposes, a brief one night stay while passing through.
Breakfast not so good, with limited choice, and cooked food has to be ordered. Delivery wasn't quick, so breakfast was very leisurely, which may not suit those in a hurry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Two nights half board in a super Hotel with excellent service, easy access to Town Centre.
Staff very helpful. Room spacious and clean. Food in evening and at breakfast excellent.
Would recommend this Hotel to all our friends.
Very good value for money

Room Tip: 114 (twin) was spacious, clean and had a large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villiers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villiers Hotel

Address: 3 Castle Street, Buckingham MK18 1BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Buckingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Buckingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villiers Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villiers Hotel has a 4 Star AA classification. The hotel has a 450 year history from being an important main coaching inn in the 16th century to a delightfully refurbished hotel today. Designed around a cobbled courtyard, the hotel has 49 bedrooms individually designed and including suites, and executive rooms. The restaurant has been awarded 2 rosettes by the AA for innovative fresh food dining, and offers an eclectic a la carte menu as well as the fixed price 3 course Market Menu. The real ale bar is popular with guests and locals alike who appreciate its real log fire and delicious bar menu. The hotel also encapsulates Buckingham's Old Town Hall also full refurbished for conferencing and weddings. Car Parking is extensive and freely available for customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villiers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Buckingham
Buckingham Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel Villiers
Villiers Hotel Buckingham, Buckinghamshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villiers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.