We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you expect but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Buckingham

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Buckingham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Buckingham
A421 Bypass, Buckingham MK18 1SH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Buckingham
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just what you expect but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Oh the awful mattress!
Room 14 - Clean room, friendly helpful staff but oh what a horrid mattress. Husband was tired out and fell asleep straight away but I had to take to the sofa bed!

Room Tip: Ask to try the mattress first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
33
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Everything was fine with this hotel, exactly what you expect from a Travelodge, EXCEPT the awful mattress. It was so uncomfortable, very thin and lumpy, it was impossible to sleep on. So we slept on top of the duvet and put our coats over us to keep warm. Doesnt matter if you are paying £25 or £250, you should still expect a comfortable bed. Have never experienced this at any other Travelodge - this seems an exception to norm.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Convenient for Buckingham & Milton Keynes, Tesco next door, friendly staff.
Could have been a bit cleaner in the rooms, dust, a few hairs, but bedding was clean
A fairly decent nights sleep had by all of us, and for under £25 per night, can't really go wrong!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We usually stay at The Villiers Hotel in Buckingham town but they could not accommodate us for two nights so we had one night at The Villiers (great hotel by the way) and managed to get a room at the Travelodge Hotel in Buckingham..this was my first stay at a Travelodge and to be honest I was not expecting much (sorry!)..what a pleasant surprise - a lovely clean room with a king size bed, tv, clean bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities. For the price it was absolutely excellent, so much so that we have booked again for November. Now to be honest its not as "grand" as The Villers - but value for money, if you want a clean bedroom then I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Good size bedroom - very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed here on our second night away, the previous being in a Premier Inn.

Paid £25 for the night. The pull out bed was not made up - don't think this is the norm in Travelodge anyway.
The Room was clean and perfectly adequate although It was very hot when we walked in despite being fairly cool outside. After making the spare bed for our son, we climbed into our bed. There was only one flat pillow each, so resorted to using the spare towels underneath for extra height. Then there was the mattress.............
It was SO bad I thought it was a joke. Not only was it soft, sagging in the middle, but the lateral springs were poking through so much it actually hurt after just five minutes of lying down. We tried turning the mattress over but this was even worse. I went to reception (at 22.30) to complain and he offered us another room of duvets to put on top of the mattress. We opted for the latter as moving room with 2 fast asleep kids was not an option. Needless to say a good nights sleep was not had. I don't expect 5 star luxury for this price but seriously that bed was VERY VERY bad.

Room Tip: Avoid room 22?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We booked this on the way to Legoland to break up the journey. There was also no extra duvet for a "family rfoom". when we arrived no one was on the desk but a man's voice could be heard in an office next to the desk obviously having a row with someone !
In the room the mattress was awful, you could feel every spring on itthe sofa bed was filthy, we certainly didnt want our child sleeping on it. and to cap it all no breakfast other than a £10 charge for muffins !
We found a tesco nearby the next morning where we had breakfast much cheaper.
Terrible. Should have asked for a refund, cost us £50.00

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

As always, good basic clean accommodation, friendly (good looking!) guy on reception.
2 criticisms though. broken hook on the back of the bathroom door and wish someone would clean the hair from the plughole in the bath....eeeuuurrrggghhhhh!
That said, it would not stop me staying there again, it's always good value for money and it's great that they are always near either a supermarket or somewhere you can get food and drink.

Room Tip: front of hotel (even # rooms) avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Buckingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Buckingham

Address: A421 Bypass, Buckingham MK18 1SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Buckingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Buckingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Buckingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Buckingham Hotel Buckingham
Travel Lodge Buckingham
Buckingham Travel Lodge
Buckingham Travelodge
Travelodge Buckingham Buckinghamshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Buckingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.