We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villiers Restaurant

Villiers Restaurant
3 Castle Street, Buckingham MK18 1BS, England
01280 822444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Buckingham
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We took a friend out for afternoon tea. The atmosphere in the dining room was peaceful, the staff were attentive, and the meal was more than we could finish. A lovely place to sit and relax after doing the riverside walk and exploring the town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Superb Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

A must for all who adore food. Cooked and served to perfection. Some of the best food my friend and I have ever tasted. Stunning!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great food and lovely restaurant, staff very helpful and attentive. Ate from the a la carte menu the first night and the market menu the second. Could not fault the food at all. I am not fish eater, but opted for the Salmon and was very impressed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, East Sussex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, good staff, interesting food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We ate at Villiers during a short break staying at the hotel on half board basis. As part of the package we ate from the 'Market Menu'. I thought that the restaurant was smart and had a good atmosphere. The staff were polite and efficient. The food was well cooked and tasty but for me it lacked balance. We had confit duck as a main on the first night and it was really well cooked but served with creamy vegetables, a rather well done potato rosti and a tiny bit of balsamic reduction it was just too rich, it was a small portion of duck but I couldn't finish it. More of the reduction and plainer veg would have been far better. The second evening we had sea trout and again it was well cooked and well presented, but also somehow lacked balance. Myself and the chef obviously have a very different pallet.

Having looked at the other menu available ( but not in our deal/package) and seen the dishes from it being served to other customers, it looked far more straight forward, not stacked artistically like the food we had, larger portions and more of a 'proper dinner' which is what I think we both would have preferred. We both agreed that we had exhausted the four choices for each course on the market menu after two evenings choosing from it.

Despite the food not being quite to my taste, both evenings were very pleasant particularly because the staff were really nice, a bit of tweaking and I would have really loved the food!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Food at Villiers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had both the a la carte and market menu and they were faultless, good sized helpings , staff were friendly and effecient.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villiers Restaurant also viewed

Buckingham, Buckinghamshire
 
Buckingham, Buckinghamshire
Buckingham, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Villiers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villiers Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.