We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe bet, reasonably laid back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Head

The Kings Head
7 Market Hill, Buckingham MK18 1JX, England
01280 823464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 42 Restaurants in Buckingham
Cuisines: English
Description: This is a pub/bar food/resturant. Excellent vakue -- good beer and amazingly inexpesive food.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a pub/bar food/resturant. Excellent vakue -- good beer and amazingly inexpesive food.
Buckingham
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
1,006 helpful votes 1,006 helpful votes
“Safe bet, reasonably laid back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Not particularly smart or special but we come in once in a while and have never been let down. Not particularly suited to cosy couples, rather a group of family or mates. Knockabout and slightly predictable menus with occasional upbeat surprises. It's a fairly good pub so you can look at it as a food with booze event rather than an in your face over anxious gastro pub experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Town Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a town pub, they offer a good value breakfast and often have offers on. Not a place to go for a special meal. Food is good but in the middle of town and it gets busy with local drinkers and Sports Supporters

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“er ... strange”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

first time to Buckingham for a wonderful meal at Prezzo but astounded that this quaint village had no good pub. The building itself was lovely opposite a castle looking museum, so we thought we would go in for a drink before our meal. We were the only ones in there at 7pm on a Saturday night, the place had the aroma of wet dog and it was soo shabby - the chap behind the bar was very pleasant but it was just horrible. The place could be so lovely and from the outside it is a great looking place. We Unfortunately went back in there after our meal at Prezzo opposite as their beers were £6.50 each, and by this time a live band was just starting, there were about 8 people in then, the band started up and it was so loud we had to immediately leave, it was DEAFNING.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good local pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A good local pub with friendly staff.Uses Facebook well,good offers via Facebook.The food is traditional english fare well done.Particular mention to the breakfasts which use locally sourced ingredients and are great value for money.All in all this pub has a great future

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We had 4 big breakfasts. The service was really good and friendly and the food was excellent. I normally pay much more than this so was very impressed

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head also viewed

Buckingham, Buckinghamshire
Buckingham, Buckinghamshire
 
Buckingham, Buckinghamshire
Buckingham, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.