We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't believe how ripped off we felt” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Merchant

Spice Merchant
33 London End Road, Beaconsfield HP9 2HW, England
+44 (0)1494 675474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 47 Restaurants in Beaconsfield
Price range: $47 - $62
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: This chic restaurant in Bucks is one of a small chain of classy Indian restaurants across the south east founded by Bashir Islam. Bashir, who's been part of the industry for over 30 years, wants you to enjoy yourself. Well, if he insists... This is where the Spice Merchant Group Chef, Vijay Anand, is based, so you get to savour dishes made with his own highly-experienced hands. You can't go wrong if you start with his bataki nazrana - tender tandoori duck and potatoes encased in filo pastry, served with a sweet n' spicy red onion and mango chutney. For a refreshingly different main course order the mirchi ka kekda - peppers stuffed with kerala-style flaked crab meat served with a fabulous febugreek flavoured sauce. Plenty of veggie options and tandoori specials too.

Spice Merchant has recently won an award for the best and innovative restaurant in the south.
Amersham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I can't believe how ripped off we felt”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The chicken shaslick was cold, really bland food, and when we ordered sharing platters for four people, only one came, we said ok as we might have over ordered, but it consisted of 2 peices lamb tikka, 2 pieces chicken tikka, 2 veg pakoras, and two spiced potato paties. When we got the bill they had charged us £25.90 for this poultry starter sharing platter, I started to complain but as it was a special do which my father was paying for, seeing the look of sheer disappointment on his face I decided to let it go. They really should be ashamed of what they charge and deliver. Go down the road to old Bengal or go to Malik's

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    15
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced & poor quality food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I ordered a Chicken Shaslik as a main course. It was bought to the table only warm I would say, not freshly cooked, with hardly any onion/pepper and no tomato. Tables very close together. Overall the food quality didn't warrant the price charged.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expensive and pre- cooked food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a con this place is. Door to door person sell you vouchers which you would find a job getting to use them. Promises are not fulfilled and then you are stuck with something you have paid for and cannot use when it suits you.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No understanding of Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

A very disappointing experience with this restaurant. Over inflated prices backed up by a discount scheme that is clearly a complete con. The convoluted rules around this discount scheme mean that, even if the details were revealed to you at time of purchase, which they are not you would struggle to meet the requirements for you to even get your money back. Definitely designed to confuse and obfuscate do not attempt to pay without having first cleared the T's & C's around the scheme (several times)...
Food was average, service not great.
Clearly they are sensitive about the issue of the discount as they get very defensive when challenged on the issue. However their sensitivity does not extend to actually honoring the discount. Poor... poor... poor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not the same experience as the first year it opened!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Having been out of Bucks for a while and moved back, we decided that as the planned meal was a celebration we would go somewhere we had been to before and was excellent. Great Indian restaurants can be hard to find!

Personally, I don't like hovering staff and glasses being taken the minute it's empty and put on the table and another drink being offered immediately. I don't like being asked if everything is ok when I have a mouth full. There were more than enough staff milling about, whom we could have mentioned any problems to.

The whole meal felt rushed and I felt irritated that we weren't just left to enjoy it at our own pace. As soon as our cutlery was put down when finishjng tge main course, the dirty cloth was rolled back. It wasn't busy, prompting an urgent need for them to reclaim the table, so when you are spending that amount of money you don't want to feel they are pushing you out of the door.

When it first opened the staff made everyone feel special. I'm now inclined to think its just the big boozers who get that treatment. The average family of four on a week day are better ushered out as quickly as possible?

Clearly, we may have just had a one off disappointing experience. It's a shame management don't appear to respond to feedback here.

We will try somewhere else next time as its too expensive for us to have an experience just above average, but not good enough to be very good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Merchant also viewed

Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Spice Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Merchant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.