We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, great music...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Penn Road | Knotty Green, Beaconsfield HP9 2TN, England
01494 680 888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Beaconsfield
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: English, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The delights of a traditional country pub are alive and well at the award-winning Red Lion in Knotty Green - which has been at the heart of the little hamlet of Knotty Green, near Beaconsfield, for nearly 3 centuries. Food at The Red Lion is a traditional home-cooked pub menu, with dishes including 10oz rump steak, scampi, butternut squash, mixed grill as well the dish the pub is famous for - its enormous portions of fish and chips. But be sure to leave some room for the mouthwatering desserts like summer fruits cheesecake, Belgian waffles, apple crumble and treacle pudding which are prepared by the chef daily. Roast dinners - said to be the best in the Beaconsfield area - are available every Sunday. The Red Lion - with its real log fires in winter and wooden decking, beer garden and children's play area for the summer - is one of the oldest and finest pub-restaurants in the area, with records dating back to at least 1753. The restored 19th-century fireplace and tranquil decor evoke a homely atmosphere perfect for lunches and dinners alike. A unique attraction is the Enid Blyton snuggery, celebrating the world-famous children's author who lived nearby, and is said to have sat writing by the fire at The Red Lion. There's a library of her books donated by the Enid Blyton Society for visitors to browse, along with a gallery of original 1950s Noddy prints. Ideal for all the family and any occasion, The Red Lion is a real gem tucked away in the Chiltern countryside.
Eglwysbach, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great people, great music...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

One of my favourite places to be with a guitar in my hand. This pub is run by a woman with more energy than a power-station, the beers is always well kept, the food is good and wholesome but the thing that tops this place off is its atmosphere when a band is on. Great place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myredlion, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review - it is very much appreciated. We are very proud of our reputation for great food, great music and our great welcome to locals and visitors alike. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    23
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good friendly pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

If you want good friendly service and a decent pint go to the Red Lion, the live music is always top class

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myredlion, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great food - worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I have been here a couple of times and was very happy with the food and the service at the Red Lion. The lady behind the bar was lovely - very friendly. It is definitely a welcoming atmosphere. This is a local pub for us and a great place to have a meal or catch up with friends. We also found it family friendly on the day we visited - although it was lunch time during the week and maybe not as busy as an evening. There is a link with Enid Blyton too and the lady we talked to was very happy to explain about some of the local history to our visitors from overseas. I would recommend the Red Lion to anyone who is looking for a 'proper' pub without any fuss or frills. Just good food and drinks and great service.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionweb, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Hi there,
Just wanted to say thank you for your very complimentary review.
it is very much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke Poges, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of my favourite pubs in South Bucks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Can't really knock this place - its always got a nice atmosphere, service is good and from what I remember the food was good too the few times I've eaten there (and not too expensive). Overall, a place I'd recommend either to eat or have a drinks at.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myredlion, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review - it is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again at The Red Lion very soon.
Tina Massie
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“The service was very good but may have been because we were the only customers on a sunday!! The decor was standard...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

The service was very good but may have been because we were the only customers on a sunday!! The decor was standard even though the pub has just been renovated and the Sunday roast was so bland even i left some .. The returned food was not questioned

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Seer Green, Beaconsfield
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.