We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done...again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Mangal

Village Mangal
Hill Avenue, Amersham HP6 5BD, England
01494 729055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 59 Restaurants in Amersham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well done...again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on Thursday 28 March 2012. We had not booked and were worried when we arrived as we were early but it was already very busy. We were given a nice table and the staff were very attentive. We have had a few take away meals which have been superb and we have eaten in before. The food is always excellent and tastes so fresh. I would like to know what they put on their salads as it is the tastiest salad I have ever eaten! All in all a lovely evening, I would suggest that everyone tries village mangal!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    62
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Luckily we don't have to travel miles to get to Village Mangal, but we would because it's a Turkish Delight.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We mainly have takeaways, due to our young family, but when we do go as a family the staff are delightful with our children and nothing is too much trouble.The takeaways are as tasty as what you get in the restaurant. We'd recommend a cold meze for 2, lamachun, eskender kebab, rice & Turkish bread.
The restaurant appears spotless from the street entrance, the tables, kitchen area, staff and the all important toilets. I do hope they hold a Turkish night soon. You need to book at the weekends. Enjoy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely our family favourite restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Discovered this place via a leaflet about a year ago and have probably been back twice a month since. Taken so many friends and they have all returned. Delighted to see the television has been ditched!. Mistake stopping weekend lunch menu though........

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Gorgeous Food and Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend visited the Village Mangal following a recommendation from a friend. We went on a Monday evening, so it was fairly quiet. The waiter was very attentive, without being annoying like in some places who smother you! We ordered the Mangal Special and I had chicken and the food was wonderful! Cooked to perfection and full of flavour, my partners only complaint was the salad dressing (although give him half a chance it just would have been a plate of meat!) the waiter advised him it was actually pomegranate juice which is very good for you (I sat smugly as I thought the salad was delicious) £30 roughly for a drink each, large main and a starter for 2
People...we certainly didn't complain. I have already recommended this restaurant to family and friends and will return very soon!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We popped in for a quick meal on Saturday night and though we didn't book were given a table as it was still early and fairly quiet. The food was fresh and of good quality -- we had the mixed cold and hot starter and mixed grill to share. I preferred the cold starter and the lamb was nicely seasoned and very good and the service was quick and friendly. As we were leaving the entire restaurant was full and everyone seemed content --- nice place and would definately go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Mangal also viewed

Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Village Mangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Mangal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.