We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Potters Arms

The Potters Arms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Potters Arms to your Saves list
The Potters Arms
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Winchmore Hill, Amersham HP7 0PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Amersham B&B and Inns
Leeds
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Excellent accommodation, very good food. Was booked as a last minute booking and I am not disappointed. Great country location and a lovely 'rustic' feel to the rooms. Really friendly owner happy to chat with you and make you feel at home.

If I am back in this area again, this place would be my first choice and would be upset if there were no rooms available.

Room Tip: The room I was in was lovely. I guess all the rooms offer the same value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
18
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Had a nice Sunday roast here.....service good very friendly. Was quite empty for a Sunday which was surprising, two courses for 12 pounds was good value too. I expect the rooms are really nice and looked good value. We will return :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went for a evening meal recently and really enjoyed ourselves.Staff friendly and helpful.Speaking to other people in the bar.,accomodation evidently is good and ideal for a little break from the hurly burly!! Would consider staying there as its the kind of place,you could relax and eat well.

Room Tip: Ring 1st,speak to someone about your expectations.This is a good plain and very clean 'Inn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a pub. How can a PUB get five out of five? It's a very good pub. It is not a swanky hotel, but neither are the charges.
The welcome from Richard is warm and genuine - he likes to have you there. Parking is easy and free. The room is clean and comfortable. The situtation is delightful - looking onto the village green. The breakfast is well-cooked and tasty. The price is very reasonable.
Don't talk about gyms, swimming pools, or even lounges. It's a PUB - a very good pub.
We would stay again - willingly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Found the restaurant on Trip Advisor whilst we were away on business and we weren't disappointed. Well cooked food with great service.Good choice on the menu and we enjoyed all courses. A real gem.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We arrived at the potters arms,unsure what to expect.our stay from start to finish was terrific.our evening meal was superb as was our breakfast.landlord Richard was a perfect host.our room was very clean and fresh and the bed was very comfortable. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We chose the Potters Arms and booked very last minute - Richard was most welcoming. Even gave us him mobile number in case we were delayed and would arrive after the pub has closed. We booked B and B and the breakfast was lovely. Service fab.The room was basic and very clean. Great Value for money. From past experience we always book directly with the establishment, we have found that this gives us a good feel for the place we are going. We stayed on the night of tuesday 26th July and as we arrived late we did not have dinner but looking at the menu it all looked very inviting We wish Richard and his team all success and will tell friends who live locally that they must visit. VAW & BKW

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Potters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potters Arms

Address: Winchmore Hill, Amersham HP7 0PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Amersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potters Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Potter’s Arms is a traditional village pub set on the edge of the Chiltern Hills in glorious rural Buckinghamshire, but close to fast road and rail connections to London and the Midlands. We provide accommodation in our four comfortably-appointed en-suite bedrooms at reasonable rates. Perfect for a layover, and handy for departures and arrivals from Heathrow Airport - only thirty minutes away by car. Nearest tube station - 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Potters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Potters Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.