We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stuff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown

The Crown
2 High Street, Henlow SG16 6BS, England
01462 812433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Henlow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated on the B659 in High Street at Henlow with easy access from Junction 10 off the A1. This pretty pub with its picturesque garden is full of traditional character and the perfect place to eat, drink and relax.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good stuff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Good food, good ambience, good service, good people.
We go regularly and have never been disappointed whatever day we choose to visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for review and its great to hear from our most valued regular customers.
Regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    107
    38
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly pub, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The crown is set back off the busy Arlesey road on the edge of Henlow village. It has an adequate car park. Walking in you are greeted by low beams and a log burner. You choose a table. Order food and drinks at the bar. The staff are mostly young college types and the service in friendly and efficient. But mainly we keep coming back for the high quality of the food. Prices are slightly above average, but well worth it. Try a Camembert to share and a good choose of in season specials. Well done. We'll be back again soon

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for nice review of our Pub.
I notice from your review that you placed order at our Bar, just so our customers are aware we do, of course, have full service available in our Restaurant.
regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Having been to this restaurant years ago and not enjoying it then I was told by others that the food was excellent, wrong it was one of the worst meals I have had in years, the food was cold, greasy and very over priced for the type and quality of food available.

There are lots of better places around.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Oh what a disappointment to read your review.
The management and staff including our kitchen team are really deflated after a brilliant weekend of great food and service to our customers.(we assumed)
I guess after all the glowing and amazing reviews we were due to come down to earth with a bump.
If we are going to improve or maintain our standards of food and service we have to take this with grace.
However I find it hard to believe what you are saying a bit harsh especially as you give no detail of when you dined or what you had to eat.
Did you bring this issue to our attention at the time?
I assume you came Sunday after your disappointing visit to our friends at Champneys( as per your review on trip advisor 21.10.12)
I can see however you give us 3 for atmosphere and 3 for service 1 for value 1 for food.
My apologies for your disappointing visit to us.
No further action to be taken due to lack of information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Superb food, wonderful atmosphere and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I visited the Crown in Henlow this evening with my partner and his parents. We were greeted with a warm welcome and were taken to our table.
The pub had a few people dining and the atmosphere was very chilled out and comfortable.

We all took a little while to decide what to eat as everything on the menu looked delicious.
When the food arrived we were all very impressed with the presentation and the taste. I had pork belly for main and it was outstanding.

I honestly can't fault the food, service, atmosphere or even the wine (French merlot was delicious).

It was all made even better by the fact that we had a tastecard so received 50% off the food bill.

Even without the discount I would definitely go back here to eat.

Well done the Crown Henlow.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi Kirsty thanks for taking the trouble to write such a glowing review of your Dinner with us last Wednesday evening.
Look forward to seeing you again soon!
regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Golden Wedding Aniversary for Doris and Brian Newbury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Sit down meal for 23 people service and food was impeccable, highly recommended have ate here on previous occasion in a smaller group and the food and service was as good when looking after this large group.
Thanks to all the staff and management at The Crown.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks Nathan for the great review, it was very much appreciated by myself and all the team at The Crown. Regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Henlow, Bedfordshire
Toddington, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.