We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise 80th Party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies Flitwick Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Menzies Flitwick Manor to your Saves list
Menzies Flitwick Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Road, Flitwick MK45 1AE, England (Formerly Flitwick Manor Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flitwick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprise 80th Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had arranged a surprise 80th party for my mother at Flitwick Manor where we were having afternoon tea for 20 people. From the very start they went out of their way to ensure that everything ran smoothly on the day. Nothing was too much trouble and on the actual day the service was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful and anything we asked for was brought to us without question.

I would definitely recommend Flitwick Manor and on top of all of the above, the surroundings are lovely as well.

Sue L

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Menzies Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Congratulations to 'Mum' on her 80th Birthday and thank you for selecting the Flitwick Manor Hotel for such a special occassion. I was so pleased to hear the party was enjoyed by all we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    54
    28
    15
    6
See reviews for
54
121
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

After visiting Flitwick I thought I should set up a Trip Advisor account just to be able to tell people how much of a nice time we had.

My partner bought our package on an online discount site and I was very much looking forward to enjoying the break after the stress of moving house. We were welcomed by a beautiful house lightly covered with snow which gave a very romantic feel to the Georgian Manor. Inside was much the same with a warm log fire and very friendly, attentive and professional staff.

We had a cream tea as part of our package which we took in the very comfy lounge. Again the staff were very good and nothing was too much trouble, even the fussy way my partner has his tea. We were very nicely suprised when the cream tea arrived to see lovely fresh scones, which coming from a home baker were gorgeous and to see homemade jam is something of a rare occurance these days (well done chef).

We had dinner in the restaurant which is decorated to a very nice standard and again very comfortable. We had a glass of wine in the lougne before dinner and accompanied by some delicous nibbles of 3 different flavoured popcorn, it was different but done well I think, better then the usual rushed canapes you sometimes get in hotels. The menu was a good size and something for everyone. I stayed with the dinner menu while my partner went for the a la carte. The food was to a very nice standard, not overly complicated, honest and full of flavour. This isn't a place that trys too hard to be something they're not, but what they do they do well. With a favourable choice of wines it was a pleasant experience.

The service was top-notch with a well defined standard. The staff at Flitwick Manor are a treat to their company and it was even good to see a chef with a smile who greeted us while we were walking through the house.

A great way to relax and take in some of Bedfordshires countryside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Menzies Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
What a pleasure to read your review and thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope it wont be too long before we see you again for a short relaxing break.

Kind regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My friends sister was visiting from Australia where she has lived most of her life. We decided to treat her to Afternoon Tea and we thought Flitwick Manor would be a lovely 'English Manor' location/experience. Yes the grounds were indeed very beautiful, especially with the falling snow but we had booked seating by the fire in the lounge but were told on arrival that a larger party had booked. We were shown to a table in a small cold dinning room along with another party with small children. In fairness when I complained we were then given a window view table in the larger, warmer dinning room. Most disappointingly, the sandwiches were nice but we were served three small fingers each - you get more at The Lavender Tea room in Hexton which is considerably less expensive. Even worse followed with over cooked scones and quite honestly we would have preferred 'Mr Kipling' rather than the sad selection of cakes that were served.
Such a shame, I would like to recommend this hotel for Afternoon Tea as it is such a pleasant environment but very sadly it is badly let down by the food served! It would not be difficult to get this right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Menzies Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
So sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent afternoon tea with us. Your feedback is valued and we have as a team discussed this at length and hopefully on your next visit you will see some great improvements. We serve a great deal of cream and afternoon teas and it is important to us that we not only create a lovely environment but the freshly made cakes, scones, sandwiches and teas are the'best in class'. Something obviously went very wrong on this occassion and please accept my apologies.

Kind regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have experienced many hotels throughout the world during my sixty-four years. Service and helpfulness at the Flitwick Manor are amongst the best available.
It’s a typical English country hotel with high standards and willingness to provide any guests with their needs. I highly recommend this hotel.

Michael R. Paulick
California

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Menzies Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
It was great to see you again on your recent visit to the UK and thank for posting such a lovely review. I do hope we will see you again on your next visit.

Kind regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for a night with the missus and 16 mth daughter. Great place, great staff and good food. Given the age of our daughter the staff were very understanding. Highly recommended. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Menzies Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Many thanks for this lovely review and I was delighted to hear your family enjoyed the facilities and services. I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Let me be clear here, we booked the hotel because it was dog friendly and we had a 9 week pup. Everything about this hotel is good until you come to eat. The staff are very friendly and helpful and our room was without fault. However the table d'hote for dinner for guests on a package had a very limited choice for all courses and it was difficult to differentiate certainly on my main between it and a starter in size course........., postage stamp size more apt with rubbish potatoes and underdone asparagus. My daughter's chicken was dry. My wife suffered stomach problems all the next day.

Lovely place to stay just don't bother having dinner there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Menzies Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank your for the feedback on the hotel generally and pleased to hear you enjoyed the dog friendly experience. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy the food or menus.
Kind regards, Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

stayed here for one night as a suprise for my fiance, we were delighted with the overall experience. staff were really friendly, helpful and attentive. food was yummy and the manor itself very quaint and peaceful. The typical quirkiness you would expect from a 17th century manor and outside grounds lovely. we stayed in room 8 (free upgrade on arrival) which was really big and the bed could fit 4 people! lovely experience overall and the log fires on a freezing cold day were beautiful. my only small gripe would be that i booked as part of a deal which included cream tea, this really was not the case and only one scone each came out! we were really hungry and expected some sandwiches etc but was told as it was mothers day and very busy we could not order any additional items for two hours, eventually i managed to order a sandwich after explaining that we only wanted something small to tide us over until dinner. dinner was delicious!! and portions were a good size too! overall very happy couple who will keep an eye out for future offers so that we can return again someday and the free upgrade was a beautiful guesture! also sheldene in reception was a very helpful lady, but all staff were great!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Menzies Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your relaxing break with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Mothers day is always exceptionally busy at the Hotel and apologies for any delays experienced with Lounge service. No need to wait for any offers on the internet, contact me directly and I will personally arrange a lovely, excellent value break.
Kind regards, Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menzies Flitwick Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Flitwick Manor

Address: Church Road, Flitwick MK45 1AE, England (Formerly Flitwick Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Flitwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flitwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies Flitwick Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Menzies Flitwick Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Flitwick Manor Hotel Flitwick
Menzies Hotel Flitwick
Flitwick Manor
Menzies Flitwick Manor England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies Flitwick Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.