We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great relaxing day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ZSL Whipsnade Zoo

ZSL Whipsnade Zoo
Whipsnade, Dunstable LU6 2LF, England
+44 1582 872171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Dunstable
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy an epic day out at the UK's largest Zoo. Set in 600 acres of panoramic scenery and rolling Chiltern Hills, and with over 2,741 unique animals and 193 different species ZSL Whipsnade Zoo is a group adventure you will never forget! See the elephants on their daily walk around the Zoo, view the majestic rhino in their huge paddock, meet our lion pride, spot the cheetahs as they speed by and don't forget to look up our lofty giraffes too!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great relaxing day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I went to visit Whipsnade Zoo on my own to relax, and found it to be a very relaxing. Wonderful sunny day helped with the outing. I Pre booked on line for the single ticket and for the car park. Cost was £21 for a single adult, plus £4 for the car park which was for all day. Taking a short walk under the tunnel, you came to the queue. I am glad I Pre booked my ticket, a must especially if you have a big family on tow. Everything is very spaced out, and well signposted. Just make sure you wear appropriate foot wear, not high heels like some woman were wearing! The zoo keepers were very informative, if you got lost, and the animals were all kept clean and well watered. Lots of open space for them all, and lots of green pastures to graze. I didn't try out the cages, as I brought my own food. But, I personally think it is best and cheaper to bring your own packed lunch. I would defiantly recommend visiting the zoo, a great place to visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    318
    71
    33
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A brilliant zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Whipsnade is a great day out for all. Great that they accept Tesco vouchers too! The zoo is set out over a wide area and there such a wide variety of animals to see. We were pleased to see that quite a few of the animal enclosures have been improved over the years. Although the zoo is set out over a wide area, there are a number of places to purchase refreshments and a great deal of benches and picnic areas. The free bus service circles the zoo and you can hop-on and hop-off. A lovely place to picnic is near the penguins, as the views of the countryside are stunning. The café is very clean, although it would be better if you could purchase a selection of hot snacks such as toasties or hot sausage rolls etc. as they do tend to focus on full meals in my opinion. The train ride was fantastic and the commentary from our guide Victoria was brilliant!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“the attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

having drove to whipsnade there was'nt enough parking spaces for disabled drivers we went into the zoo it was very well set up but i found that some of the enclosures were just to big and finished up trying to find some of the animals let alone see them but the sealion show was excellent and is a must for anyone to see but don't sit in the front ?? it was a good day (if you can see the animals)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great zoo...a little costly....comfy walking shoes recommended!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A great zoo...especially if u like walking...as enormous....all animals were out & came very close to a lot of the larger ones which my 5yr old loved...play park fantastic...everything clean & looked after...watched the bird & sealion show which were superb & involved audience participation which was fun....just remember to wear comfy shoes....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Fantastic day out! Kids loved it would go again so much to see and great little train ride in the zoo good shows put on through out the day to keep you entertained

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZSL Whipsnade Zoo also viewed

Broxbourne, Hertfordshire
 
Dunstable, Bedfordshire
 

Been to ZSL Whipsnade Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZSL Whipsnade Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.