We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location... check all three.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elkhorn Inn & Theatre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Elkhorn Inn & Theatre to your Saves list
Elkhorn Inn & Theatre
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30767 Coal Heritage Road, Landgraff, WV 24829   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Landgraff B&B and Inns
Centreville, Virginia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location, location, location... check all three.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

As a railfan and outdoorsman, the Elkhorn Inn is a home away from home for me. I've stayed there at least a dozen times over the past 3 or 4 years, and each time I dread packing the car to leave. I enjoy the railroad operations, and love the hospitality of everyone in that part of West Virginia, it's amazing that people down there will open their doors and hearts to help you enjoy yourself.

Dan is THE best chef within 100 miles of Welch. His meatballs are amazing, and his scratch made tomato sauce is equally amazing. I keep promising myself to try his smoked ribs, but as of yet haven't requested them, maybe next time.

Railfans are notoriously cheap, and while it may be cheaper for me to go stay at a Super 8 or something of that caliber in Princeton, the location of the Elkhorn Inn right next to the "Pokey" mainline is well worth the nominal difference in price.

The best thing Dan and Elisse offer is their open mindedness. If you need something, all you have to do is ask. Want to plan a week long trip checking out several inns or B&B's? No problem, tell them where you want to end up, and they'll help you make the necessary reservations. Need to pack a box lunch for a day of chasing trains or riding ATV's? No problem, all you have to do is ask. They will bend over backwards to make sure you have a good time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We always love welcoming back our return guests, and it pleases us greatly to know how much you appreciate Chef Dan's dinners! Hope to welcome you back to the again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
9
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is really hard. I really enjoyed my stay here, but I am an adventurer. There are great things, the one of a kind atmosphere throughout the hotel, trains watching, the really nice couple running the hotel … but there are also not so great things, locations miles away from any food or drink, everything is a bid run down, breakfast (limited but great place to eat), price, and the trains … I think they are all operated by Italians, because they honk constantly, day and night.
So, if you want something really extrodenary, stay here. You will love it, Kind of a once in a lifetime experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review; we're happy you enjoyed your stay, and we're sorry if anything disappointed you. Had we known of any issues, we would have endeavored to fix everything to your liking. As you know, we offer fine, Chef Dan Dinners at the Inn, and we do so because we are located in an extremely rural area with few dining options. If you have the opportunity to return, we hope you will treat yourself to dinner at the inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had another great railfanning weekend at the Elkhorn Inn for my son's birthday. Even though Dan and Eliesse were on vacation, Noel and his wife proved to be good stand in hosts. Had a great time relaxing on the deck. Plenty of action on the railroad. Will be returning with my girlfriend soon.

Room Tip: 3rd floor corner single room.. best view of the RR
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! Please note that we will now Always be at the inn for our guests, as we have for 10 years with this one exception. We learned the very hard way that we can't depend on anyone else to do what we do the way we do it! It's always wonderful for us to welcome back guests who enjoy the Inn, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had really looked forward to four nights in this historic building up in the back country of West Virginia. My high hopes weren't met..

On the positive, the location is lovely and the building has been renovated in the most important areas. Our host Noel was warm and hospitable and the source of several interesting conversations. The rugged scenery along Highway 52 is great for photography and out of doors enjoyment. The sound of the adjacent train track is minimal, and trains are not that frequent at night - the sound did not impair my sleep (I do use earplugs when travelling). The rooms have been decorated creatively and the owners' artwork collection is interesting (alhough likely not to everyone's taste). There is a nice outdoor patio upstairs, and a common room equipped with a computer that shows when a train is approaching.

There were significant con's, however. The biggest was that the property, while renovated in the right areas, has been allowed to run down. Inside, there were many cobwebs and dead insects. The place needed a good dusting and walls needed scrubbing. Outside, unfinished gardening projects, tools, and hoses lay everywhere. Painting and window repair can't wait much longer. The cleaning person appeared to accomplish very little other than enjoying her iPod. A peek in a back room while looking for some help with something left little confidence in the management's sense of tidiness or cleanliness. It would be nice to have a peaceful common area on the back of the building, away from the busy road and the train tracks.

Also, the rooms have not been set up with a thought to the guest experience. On arrival, there was a lovely assortment of fluffy towels on the bed….but no place to hang them. Similarly, the bed had an attractive assortment of decorative pillows…but no shelf or floor space for them when it was time to pull down the covers. There is nowhere to sit in the rooms if one doesn't enjoy the common areas. The bathrooms (across the hall in our case) had old style tubs with "200 Days of Summer" style shower curtains….pretty, but as the movie demonstrated, it's hard to keep one's balance when showering. The owners have friendly dogs and a cat, who were eager to be part of the hospitality….but if you have allergies or don't enjoy pet smells, be forewarned.

Breakfasts were continental, just cold items. Noel kept the coffee flowing but the muffins and croissants were grocery store quality.

For the first time ever, the side-of-the-interstate chain motel that we stayed in after leaving the Elkhorn Inn actually looked great.

Bottom line - the Elkhorn Inn has enormous potential but needs to do better. In its current condition, it's fine for a guy's week(end) away, be it train watching, hunting, or ATV'ing. But it is not up to a romantic B+B experience. I am certain my spouse would not enjoy it.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have adjoining baths, some rooms face the road and the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are so sorry that you were disappointed during your stay. I wish Dan & I had been at the inn during your stay so we could have attempted to fix everything to your liking; unfortunately we had to be away, but we believed that our Inn-sitter, Noel, was keeping things up to our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My nephews (9 and 11) and I spent a night at the Elkhorn Inn & Theatre. My oldest nephew is an avid train watcher. Dan let him borrow a laptop to keep track of the Heritage Units in the vicinity. He saw two new Heritage Units, while we were at the lodge. Now, he is two ahead of his dad! My youngest nephew loved the satellite T.V. He watched the Football Hall of Fame game. He told his grandma, who was disappointed that she couldn’t go that the Elkhorn was the neatest place he had ever stayed. Both boys loved the Inn’s pets, especially, the two cats. The only problem was the lack of food choices for children in the area. However, Dan, the Inn’s owner, is working on the problem. He is thinking of creating a children’s menu. He already has a number of delicious meals for adults. Check out the Inn’s website.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad you and your nephews enjoyed the inn and the trains- and our kitties! Hope to welcome you to the inn again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

While on a photo trip through a number of Southern States I found the Elkhorn Inn was in the middle of the area I wanted to shoot. Dan and Elise are warm and pleasant hosts. Dan is the chief and also helped me find locations. Elise has decorated the Inn with here own style of art and has made each room special and comfortable. Rail fans will not be disappointed as there are trains coming and going all day and night just across the road from the Inn. It is a great home base to stay while checking out the many railroad towns and coal mines.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so happy that you enjoyed both the inn and the trains! We love our railfan guests! Hope to welcome you back to the Elkhorn Inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was in West Virginia on a trip researching for an assignment, and Elisse and Dan could not have been more warm, pleasant or helpful. The room was lovely (the bed was the most comfortable I had in my whole trip to West Virginia), and I enjoyed sharing a glass of wine and hearing all about Elisse and Dan. This area of West Virginia is quite rural but strikingly beautiful, and would be perfect for anyone wishing to spend a relaxing trip in the outdoors, or anyone interested in the history of West Virginia. My stay couldn't have been better!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to welcome you back to the Elkhorn Inn again soon!
Elisse & Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elkhorn Inn & Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkhorn Inn & Theatre

Address: 30767 Coal Heritage Road, Landgraff, WV 24829
Location: United States > West Virginia > Landgraff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Landgraff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elkhorn Inn & Theatre 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on HGTV, the historic "Coal Heritage Trail" Elkhorn Inn & Theatre has 13 a/c guest rooms and offers fine dining by reservation. The Inn features free WiFi access, sat. television, and long distance telephone service, a Gift Shop/Gallery, fireplace, and rail-view balcony, front porch, and guest rooms. The art and antique-filled inn was restored by the owners, Dan & Elisse Clark, and offers down comforters and pillows, vintage and antique furnishings, bathrobes and signature toiletries. Our area offers THE best railfanning, flyfishing, and ATVIng in the eastern USA, as well as historic sites, hiking, golf, summer theatre, fall festivals and leaf-peeping, and other fun in the moountains! An inspected member of the WV Bed-and-Breakfast Association, the Elkhorn Inn is in the Great Country Inns of America Cookbook, and has been featured on Inn The Kitchen, Wandering Eduators, the NY Daily News, WV Living, WV South, Railfan & Railroad, ATV Illustrated, Preservation, Trains, WV Game & Fish, Eastern Flyfisherman, Wonderful West Virginia, Traveling the Mountain State, Charleston Gazette, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Elkhorn Inn & Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.