We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Train Watching” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elkhorn Inn & Theatre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Elkhorn Inn & Theatre to your Saves list
Elkhorn Inn & Theatre
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30767 Coal Heritage Road, Landgraff, WV 24829   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Landgraff B&B and Inns
Bluffton, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Train Watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My nephews (9 and 11) and I spent a night at the Elkhorn Inn & Theatre. My oldest nephew is an avid train watcher. Dan let him borrow a laptop to keep track of the Heritage Units in the vicinity. He saw two new Heritage Units, while we were at the lodge. Now, he is two ahead of his dad! My youngest nephew loved the satellite T.V. He watched the Football Hall of Fame game. He told his grandma, who was disappointed that she couldn’t go that the Elkhorn was the neatest place he had ever stayed. Both boys loved the Inn’s pets, especially, the two cats. The only problem was the lack of food choices for children in the area. However, Dan, the Inn’s owner, is working on the problem. He is thinking of creating a children’s menu. He already has a number of delicious meals for adults. Check out the Inn’s website.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad you and your nephews enjoyed the inn and the trains- and our kitties! Hope to welcome you to the inn again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
10
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldsmar, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

While on a photo trip through a number of Southern States I found the Elkhorn Inn was in the middle of the area I wanted to shoot. Dan and Elise are warm and pleasant hosts. Dan is the chief and also helped me find locations. Elise has decorated the Inn with here own style of art and has made each room special and comfortable. Rail fans will not be disappointed as there are trains coming and going all day and night just across the road from the Inn. It is a great home base to stay while checking out the many railroad towns and coal mines.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so happy that you enjoyed both the inn and the trains! We love our railfan guests! Hope to welcome you back to the Elkhorn Inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was in West Virginia on a trip researching for an assignment, and Elisse and Dan could not have been more warm, pleasant or helpful. The room was lovely (the bed was the most comfortable I had in my whole trip to West Virginia), and I enjoyed sharing a glass of wine and hearing all about Elisse and Dan. This area of West Virginia is quite rural but strikingly beautiful, and would be perfect for anyone wishing to spend a relaxing trip in the outdoors, or anyone interested in the history of West Virginia. My stay couldn't have been better!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to welcome you back to the Elkhorn Inn again soon!
Elisse & Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I just got back from a two night stay with Dan and Elysse at the Elkhorn Inn. What a great place to stay at...especially if you are a rail fan. The Norfolk Southern line is right across the street from the Inn and Dan and Elysse have a viewing platform set up complete with a rail scanner. If you like watching and photographing trains, I cannot think of a better place to be at.

Even more impressive than the Inn itself is the hospitality afforded by Dan and Elysse. I literally spent hours speaking to each of them about a wide and diverse array of topics (Israeli art, Vietman, the Southern West Virginia economy, restoration of the inn, Hurricane Katrina, etc.) and learned so much! I could have spent tons more time listening to them. They are so warm and inviting and make you feel so welcome in their home, And so too are their two dogs and two cats!

If you want to get away from it all and spend time in a great inn with two wonderful hosts, by all means try the Elkhorn Inn. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: You will hear the train whistles, so if you are a light sleeper, get a room not facing the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! Dan and I are delighted you enjoyed the Inn! Hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

As an avid railbuff and dirt bike rider, I first came to know of the Elkhorn Inn through railbuff blogs. I have visited there about five times now. Each time I got to experience my favorite hobbies while enjoying the company, hospitality and gourmet food of Dan and Elisse. Having the awsome rail traffice on NS Pochahontas Division across the road and the Hafield/McCoy trails about five miles away is a truely incredible experience.. From the "Dining by Rails" weekend (Breaded Roast Beef), to Vietnamese Pork Chops, to Ghanan Chicken Stew, to Indian Butter Chicken, Chef Dan has produced some of the most memorable meals I have had anywhere. The old world antique decor of the lounge and rooms contrasted with Elisse's "Nuvo" artwork makes for an interesting and relaxing experience. My girlfriend and I had an extra special New Years Eve with a gourmet meal and Champagne and Fireworks at midnight!!! I recommend the Elkhorn Inn for anyone who wants something "extraordinary" in a B&B experience.

Room Tip: I recommend the third floor queen bedroom with private bath. Privacy with great view of the railroa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are both so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, the trains, and Chef Dan's dinners! Hope to welcome you back to the inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Next to Hatfield McCoy Trails, Ashland ATV Resort, the Elkhorn Inn has historic railroad museum, art gallery, books signings by authors who visit, the most imaginative gourmet meals to entice the pallette, antiques, railway goes by Inn several times a day and the Inn offers a great balcony view of the passing trains. Hosts Dan and Elisse Clark are the proprietors and have a wealth of talent between the two. Dan is a gourmet chef, Elisse is an artist. Her gallery has not only her work but paintings from all over the US and overseas. I am so impressed by them. They are awakening LIFE in a sleepy little hid away village!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed the Inn, the ATVing, and Chef Dan's dinners! Hope to welcome you back to the inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Dan & Elysse are fantastic hosts who not only provide an excellent experience, but also go out of their way to help you with anything that may arise. Especially loved coming off the trails at the end of the day to a nice glass of wine and a gourmet dinner. Checked in late on Friday night and Dan was up waiting with a nice snack of smoked ribs (his ribs are a must try).

Have been ATV'ing the area for a few years and normally stay at a cabin in Ashland. Due to availability, we ended up staying at the Elkhorn and don't regret it. Was concerned with the location in relation to the trails, but quickly found it not to be an issue. As JerseyJimD put it, this B&B may not be for everyone, but I found it to be an excellent place to stay and will consider at the top of my list for future ATV trips.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are both so glad you enjoyed the Inn, Chef Dan's dinners, and the great ATVing we have in this area! Hope to welcome you back to the Inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elkhorn Inn & Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkhorn Inn & Theatre

Address: 30767 Coal Heritage Road, Landgraff, WV 24829
Location: United States > West Virginia > Landgraff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Landgraff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elkhorn Inn & Theatre 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on HGTV, the historic "Coal Heritage Trail" Elkhorn Inn & Theatre has 13 a/c guest rooms and offers fine dining by reservation. The Inn features free WiFi access, sat. television, and long distance telephone service, a Gift Shop/Gallery, fireplace, and rail-view balcony, front porch, and guest rooms. The art and antique-filled inn was restored by the owners, Dan & Elisse Clark, and offers down comforters and pillows, vintage and antique furnishings, bathrobes and signature toiletries. Our area offers THE best railfanning, flyfishing, and ATVIng in the eastern USA, as well as historic sites, hiking, golf, summer theatre, fall festivals and leaf-peeping, and other fun in the moountains! An inspected member of the WV Bed-and-Breakfast Association, the Elkhorn Inn is in the Great Country Inns of America Cookbook, and has been featured on Inn The Kitchen, Wandering Eduators, the NY Daily News, WV Living, WV South, Railfan & Railroad, ATV Illustrated, Preservation, Trains, WV Game & Fish, Eastern Flyfisherman, Wonderful West Virginia, Traveling the Mountain State, Charleston Gazette, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Elkhorn Inn & Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.