We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and terrific room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elkhorn Inn & Theatre

Save Saved
You added Elkhorn Inn & Theatre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elkhorn Inn & Theatre
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30767 Coal Heritage Road, Landgraff, WV 24829   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Landgraff B&B and Inns
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly service and terrific room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was in West Virginia on a trip researching for an assignment, and Elisse and Dan could not have been more warm, pleasant or helpful. The room was lovely (the bed was the most comfortable I had in my whole trip to West Virginia), and I enjoyed sharing a glass of wine and hearing all about Elisse and Dan. This area of West Virginia is quite rural but strikingly beautiful, and would be perfect for anyone wishing to spend a relaxing trip in the outdoors, or anyone interested in the history of West Virginia. My stay couldn't have been better!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to welcome you back to the Elkhorn Inn again soon!
Elisse & Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charlotte, nc
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I just got back from a two night stay with Dan and Elysse at the Elkhorn Inn. What a great place to stay at...especially if you are a rail fan. The Norfolk Southern line is right across the street from the Inn and Dan and Elysse have a viewing platform set up complete with a rail scanner. If you like watching and photographing trains, I cannot think of a better place to be at.

Even more impressive than the Inn itself is the hospitality afforded by Dan and Elysse. I literally spent hours speaking to each of them about a wide and diverse array of topics (Israeli art, Vietman, the Southern West Virginia economy, restoration of the inn, Hurricane Katrina, etc.) and learned so much! I could have spent tons more time listening to them. They are so warm and inviting and make you feel so welcome in their home, And so too are their two dogs and two cats!

If you want to get away from it all and spend time in a great inn with two wonderful hosts, by all means try the Elkhorn Inn. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: You will hear the train whistles, so if you are a light sleeper, get a room not facing the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! Dan and I are delighted you enjoyed the Inn! Hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

As an avid railbuff and dirt bike rider, I first came to know of the Elkhorn Inn through railbuff blogs. I have visited there about five times now. Each time I got to experience my favorite hobbies while enjoying the company, hospitality and gourmet food of Dan and Elisse. Having the awsome rail traffice on NS Pochahontas Division across the road and the Hafield/McCoy trails about five miles away is a truely incredible experience.. From the "Dining by Rails" weekend (Breaded Roast Beef), to Vietnamese Pork Chops, to Ghanan Chicken Stew, to Indian Butter Chicken, Chef Dan has produced some of the most memorable meals I have had anywhere. The old world antique decor of the lounge and rooms contrasted with Elisse's "Nuvo" artwork makes for an interesting and relaxing experience. My girlfriend and I had an extra special New Years Eve with a gourmet meal and Champagne and Fireworks at midnight!!! I recommend the Elkhorn Inn for anyone who wants something "extraordinary" in a B&B experience.

Room Tip: I recommend the third floor queen bedroom with private bath. Privacy with great view of the railroa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are both so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, the trains, and Chef Dan's dinners! Hope to welcome you back to the inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Next to Hatfield McCoy Trails, Ashland ATV Resort, the Elkhorn Inn has historic railroad museum, art gallery, books signings by authors who visit, the most imaginative gourmet meals to entice the pallette, antiques, railway goes by Inn several times a day and the Inn offers a great balcony view of the passing trains. Hosts Dan and Elisse Clark are the proprietors and have a wealth of talent between the two. Dan is a gourmet chef, Elisse is an artist. Her gallery has not only her work but paintings from all over the US and overseas. I am so impressed by them. They are awakening LIFE in a sleepy little hid away village!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed the Inn, the ATVing, and Chef Dan's dinners! Hope to welcome you back to the inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Dan & Elysse are fantastic hosts who not only provide an excellent experience, but also go out of their way to help you with anything that may arise. Especially loved coming off the trails at the end of the day to a nice glass of wine and a gourmet dinner. Checked in late on Friday night and Dan was up waiting with a nice snack of smoked ribs (his ribs are a must try).

Have been ATV'ing the area for a few years and normally stay at a cabin in Ashland. Due to availability, we ended up staying at the Elkhorn and don't regret it. Was concerned with the location in relation to the trails, but quickly found it not to be an issue. As JerseyJimD put it, this B&B may not be for everyone, but I found it to be an excellent place to stay and will consider at the top of my list for future ATV trips.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are both so glad you enjoyed the Inn, Chef Dan's dinners, and the great ATVing we have in this area! Hope to welcome you back to the Inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, WI
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at the Elkhorn in March of 2011, and we were very pleased with our stay. Dan & Elysse were accommodating, friendly, and extremely knowledgeable. We could have spent half of our trip just asking them questions about the history of the area, and their experiences with FEMA. Dan & Elysse also had insider information on the best places to eat and see in the surrounding towns and we took them up on their advice on several occasions. Originally our stay was meant to be 2 days, however we were so comfortable and the area was so rich in history that we ended up extending our stay another 2 days.

Definitely ask about the story & history of the resident ghost. Very interesting and entertaining. The history of the Elkhorn is equally intriguing. Each room is appointed very nicely, the bedding is cozy and comfortable and each room has it's own charm.

We did not end up eating with Dan & Elysse, however we had heard tremendous things and the menu sounded delicious. Unfortunately, we just did not have the time, since we spent the majority of our stay exploring the area. If you choose to stay at the Elkhorn, you will not regret it. We definitely plan to revisit again in the future and the Elkhorn will be a must stay.

Thank you Dan & Elysse!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! Dan and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn! We do hope you'll return soon and have a chance to have a Chef Dan dinner at the Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany,OH
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I almost don’t want to write a good review for the Elkhorn Inn because if everybody knew how awesome this place is, it would be constantly booked!
I decided at the last minute to ride the Indian Ridge/Pinnacle Creek Hatfield McCoy ATV trails (The new Pocahontas trail system will be finished and connected soon) and the “normal” places were booked. I never stayed at a bed and breakfast before because you never know what you are going to end up with, but I feel very fortunate to have discovered the Elkhorn Inn and Theater.
I know some people might scoff at the $40 dinner, but these are five star meals (something very unexpected for Southern West Virginia). You could spend three times as much money on a meal and still not get anything that comes close. My taste buds have never been so confused. The ribs are great without the homemade sauce, but they are also great with the sauce. You don’t know whether to eat that next rib with or without sauce.
The proprietors are very friendly, helpful, and interesting. I’ve been there twice so far, and I regard them as friends. I can’t wait to go back. The other guests are also entertaining. It’s so nice after a day of riding (you can ride your ATV from the Inn to the trails) to get cleaned up, have a great meal, and enjoy a few drinks. The place is big enough that you can still get away to your room and not be bothered by anyone.
I thought the trains would be a distraction (some people go there just to watch trains), but they don’t keep you from sleeping at night and they are fun to watch.
They have wireless high speed internet and also recently installed a Verizon cell booster, although I somewhat regret being able to get cell calls now.
This is way better than staying in a small cabin at some campground. If you want a unique, rewarding experience, try the Elkhorn Inn and Theater, I hope to see you there!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you so much for your glorious review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay & Chef Dan's dinners, and hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elkhorn Inn & Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkhorn Inn & Theatre

Address: 30767 Coal Heritage Road, Landgraff, WV 24829
Location: United States > West Virginia > Landgraff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Landgraff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Elkhorn Inn & Theatre 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on HGTV, the historic "Coal Heritage Trail" Elkhorn Inn & Theatre has 13 a/c guest rooms and offers fine dining by reservation. The Inn features free WiFi access, sat. television, and long distance telephone service, a Gift Shop/Gallery, fireplace, and rail-view balcony, front porch, and guest rooms. The art and antique-filled inn was restored by the owners, Dan & Elisse Clark, and offers down comforters and pillows, vintage and antique furnishings, bathrobes and signature toiletries. Our area offers THE best railfanning, flyfishing, and ATVIng in the eastern USA, as well as historic sites, hiking, golf, summer theatre, fall festivals and leaf-peeping, and other fun in the moountains! An inspected member of the WV Bed-and-Breakfast Association, the Elkhorn Inn is in the Great Country Inns of America Cookbook, and has been featured on Inn The Kitchen, Wandering Eduators, the NY Daily News, WV Living, WV South, Railfan & Railroad, ATV Illustrated, Preservation, Trains, WV Game & Fish, Eastern Flyfisherman, Wonderful West Virginia, Traveling the Mountain State, Charleston Gazette, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Elkhorn Inn & Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.