We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place I have ever stayed!! BEWARE!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lieber Haven Resort & Marina

Lieber Haven Resort & Marina
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lieber Haven Resort & Marina
Save
You added Lieber Haven Resort & Marina to your Saves list
1945 Obstruction Pass Road, Olga, Orcas Island, WA 98279   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Olga
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worst place I have ever stayed!! BEWARE!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

If you enjoy large flying termites invading your room each night through window glass that does not meet up with the frame and sewage gurgling by the shower drain each time you flush the toilet, then this is your special kind of Hades. We stayed in a few of the cabins and all were public health/OSHA disasters. I wanted to leave, but finding another place for all of us on short notice was not a viable option.
The mold on the bath window coated it like black paint, and the hide-a-bed dipped in the middle and snagged your body with springs like some kind of bear trap for humans. The owner gave us some pads to put over the hide a bed, and they really did not help. The kayaks and life jackets on site were falling apart, so we all doubted they were capable of saving our lives if we used them. (We ended up having to rent kayaks at another resort across the island!) It was similar to staying at a camp from the 1950's that was literally frozen in time- with no updates, cleaning or maintenance done for 60 years!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    3
    4
    10
See reviews for
15
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Wa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

This place is a total rip-off and the customer service leaves a lot to be desired.

Upon arrival, we were shown our studio and asked if it was satisfactory after being in the room for 10 seconds. We said yes, as we didn’t know what other options we had if we said no. It was a Saturday in the middle of August and there was no way we were going to find availability at another resort.

After further inspection of the room, we were able to truly see what we would be staying in and were immediately assaulted by the musty odor in the room. This unit is very old and in serious need of updating. This unit was slightly better than dirt camping in a tent since it had running water. It did contain a fridge, sink, dishes, and microwave, but everything was very grimy. We found the few dishes there to be dirty and unwashed. The sink was rusty. Cobwebs and spiders were in every corner. The comforter on the bed stunk. There were no additional blankets or pillows other than what was on the bed, so we were stuck with the smelly old comforter. The bathroom was another joke. It was dark, and the handle on the faucet to the sink fell off again and again. There were spiders in the shower and the towels had seen better days.

We chose this resort for the location as it said it had a launch ramp (we transported our boat across on the ferry; we don’t recommend that either) and boat dock. The launch ramp was great and seems to be a county launch ramp, not that of the resort. That is probably the reason it is nice. The dock was another story. It was pieced together by rusty chains, with different heights on the fingers of the dock. We were randomly given a slip from the owner, which suited us pretty well. However, after the first night, we were moved to another place as the spot we were given was rented monthly to someone else, and that person was in town wanting to use it. We were moved to a really tight spot with broken cleats and we struggled with it for the rest of the trip. The last night, we gave up and pulled the boat out of the water, as it was breezy, there was a current, and the location on the dock was impossible to get into with 4 other boats tightly squeezed into the same area. Since we had already been moved on the dock and additional boats had been placed in our area of the dock making it impossible to maneuver, we asked for a refund of the last night's dock fee. They didn’t even consider it, stating that since our boat was there that morning (until ~ 10:00 AM) we would be charged the entire night's fee, despite the fact that when we returned that afternoon, our spot was essentially inaccessible with the breeze and other boats in a very tight space. We felt cheated as this business practice was unethical at best.

In addition to this, we were charged a different amount for the room than what was quoted to us on the phone. They do not list their rates on the website, so they can change it when you arrive. I was quoted $135 on the phone by the male owner. He said that the studio and regular rooms were the same price ($135) and for the same price he recommended we reserve the studio. We were charged $145 per night once we got there. I left my confirmation number at home so I didn’t argue, however, after returning home I called to tell them of their inconsistency. I spoke to the female owner, Kitty, who did not care and simply said that is the rate. I told her I was very unhappy with their service and her response was simply, “Thank you, have a nice day, bye,” and hung up. During our stay, she was not pleasant or friendly and seemed like we were inconveniencing her with even simple requests such as replacement towels for our room after two days, a new trash bag when the trash was overflowing or a new bar of soap or roll of toilet paper (any other "resort" would automatically do those things, you wouldn't even have to ask, and certainly would not act like it is an inconvenience). If you cannot be hospitable, then you should not be in the hospitality business.

All in all, please note that this is just one of many very negative reviews. If we had seen the reviews we would have never stayed at Lieber Haven. Unfortunately for us we did not read the reviews, and let me tell you, we were sorry. I recommend staying elsewhere, even if it costs more, as your visit to the San Juan's is likely to be much more enjoyable. Save yourself the frustration of staying in dirty, run-down accommodations, with inhospitable female owner, and unethical business practice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

I guess this must be such a great setting that the Lieber Haven doesn't need any sort of customer service or friendliness to stay in business.

If the employees don't like tourists, they are probably in the wrong business.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

An amazing place. Liber Haven is the perfect place to detox your mind and spirit. The physical beauty of this place is stunning. Moran State Park, which is near by, offers breath taking and fabulous short hikes to several waterfalls, and the view from the top of Mount Constitution is great. I highly recommend this place to anyone.

The village of Eastsound is about 10 miles up the road, and it has some very interesting shops and some fine places eat. PS - If you don't like seeing beautiful wild deer every 2 to 3 min. as you drive around the island, don't come here. But if you do like seeing these beautiful creatures, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We were assured that the cabin would comfortably sleep 4 adults. I don't mind rustic or simple. I do appreciate honesty however. $165.00 per night for a dripping bathroom and horribly uncared for interior with hide a bed that should have stayed hidden. The pull out DOUBLE couch was broken and the springs in what was the remains of a mattress were jabbing us. We had to literally pull the cushions off and ask for a thin, flimsy pad for the next night. Kitty was friendly and apologized which didn't help us sleep better the next night. We canceled the 3rd night as it was unbearable. The floor was so dirty! We told her early the next morning we were leaving to find something else.
I just got my visa bill and not only did she charge me for the 3rd night, but overcharged me for a total of $680.00. Who do you turn people like this in to? She assured me she would take care of my bill, but we'll see. Terrible experience!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

This was the worst experience our family has ever had at a hotel. The owner frightened our children by yelling at them when they were peacfully playing on the beach and not doing anything wrong. He was rude and overbearing to all of us. Not a good place for families!!!
The cabin was very dirty and buggy, the rooms are way overpriced, and the kayaks are overpriced as well. We will never stay there again.

  • Disliked — The owner
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Lady manager was nice upon arrival and accomodating. Nice location but stayed in upstairs rooms that was musty, dusty, with spider webs, and had mold on room window. Large commons area in upstairs and offered amenities such as coffee, tea, and free internet, but there was a musty smell in this room as well. Turned on fans and "fabreezed" everything. Needs some updating and cleaning for the price you pay. Has good size dock and waterfront. Has cabins but do not know about them. Hard to reach management to discuss problems.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms and Cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lieber Haven Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lieber Haven Resort & Marina

Address: 1945 Obstruction Pass Road, Olga, Orcas Island, WA 98279
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Olga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Olga
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lieber Haven Resort & Marina Orcas Island/Olga, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lieber Haven Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.