We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moran State Park

Moran State Park
3572 Olga Road, Olga, Orcas Island, WA 98279
800-452-5687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Olga
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Biking, Camping
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We drove straight to Mount Constitution for the breathtaking views. We saw an eagle gliding across the clouds and a couple of deers by the side of the road (I had to do a double take). We need to go back to enjoy the trails and waterfalls. This should be on everyone's bucket list.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    36
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Absolutely must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is a stunning park with mountains, lakes, streams and waterfalls. Lots of hiking options- I loved this place. Only caveats- park website says that they have hot showers but we were here in April and zero showers were open. Also, there is tiered pricing on the campsites. Sites with blue triangle and a P are preferred sites at $29 per night (preferred because of view). Cheaper sites are about $22 per night. Bring your Discover Parking Pass and bring your camera!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

print out your directions before you go, because there's no cell service. The waterfalls were amazing. The trails were very well taken care of.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hiking was AMAZING, and the views were just phenomenal. We hiked down Cascade Falls to Cascade Lake, and then up to Sunrise Rock. It was one of the best views on the island. Then we got lazy and decided to drive up to Mount Constitution instead of just hike the whole thing. It was a gorgeous view from the top. GLAD we drove up. It's about 2,400 feet (I think) and was more than a few miles.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I visited the park both days of our vacation on Orcas.

The first day was clear blue skies, we were short on time and drove up to the summit of Mt. Constitution. We climbed the tower... the views were amazing. We could see Mt. Baker and Mr. Rainier. There were maybe 4 other people there. The roads are well maintained, and the tower has photos and historical information.

The second day, we hiked from Rosario Resort and went all the way around Cascade Lake and up to the falls. The hike was moderately difficulty, and very muddy in places. We didn't encounter a soul until we got to the road. The lake was turquoise and gorgeous. The trail was in excellent condition. The falls were beautiful.

If you're an outdoor enthusiast there are miles of trails and plenty of facilities.

Discover pass is required or pay a day use fee.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moran State Park also viewed

Orcas Island, San Juan Islands
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 
Eastsound, Orcas Island
Orcas Island, San Juan Islands
 

Been to Moran State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moran State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.