We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base camp!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AMC Cardigan Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AMC Cardigan Lodge
Save
You added AMC Cardigan Lodge to your Saves list
774 Shem Valley Road, Alexandria, NH 03222   |  
Hotel amenities
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A great base camp!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

My wife and I traveled to the Cardigan Lodge on Columbus weekend. We left our home in MA and quickly got stuck in traffic and knew we wouldn't make dinner. We called ahead and the lodge staff put our dinner aside for us and we could heat it up when we got there. Our room was neat and clean. We had more than enough room. The morning breakfast was a perfect way to start the day off right. There was more than enough food put out for bagged lunches. Dinner was a good time to talk to other guests and how their day of hiking went. We hiked a little over 20miles in two days and had five outstanding meals. We can't wait to do it again. Thank you AMC!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Cardigan Lodge is a great place to relax with family and friends. It is also a wonderful place to meet really nice people. In the 5 five years I have been visiting the lodge, I have found the staff to be universally friendly and helpful. The lodge was completely renovated several years ago so it is warm and comfortable. Most rooms have bunk beds and sleep 2 to 6 people. They are clean and comfortable. There are shared bathrooms which are also clean and have plenty of hot water. The common areas have a ski lodge feel to them. During the peak season, it offers family style breakfasts and dinners. In the off season, it is self service and guests have full access to the commercial kitchen. It you like to cook, this is the place for you. The lodge is situated in Cardigan State Park. It sits at the trail head of several trails that run through the park. They range from easy nature walk paths to longer and more challenging including those that go to the summit of Mt. Cardigan (GREAT 360 degree views!). There are also designated cross country and back country ski trails for winter use. The sledding is great right outside the lodge. If you are looking for a place to escape from your smart phone, TV and email this is it-there is virtually no cell coverage and only one TV (which is in the basement).

Cardigan Lodge is not your typical "hotel". If you are looking for shopping and over the top amenities, this is not the place for you. If you want a really great place to truly relax or a nice place to start and end some day hikes or skiing, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, RI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I have stayed at this AMC lodge on one other occasion before this and both times it was Great. Very well organized. Food is always great and the staff are wonderful. My only complaint is that the bunks are not very comfortable. But considering why I was there, I didn't mind too much.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Cozy accomodations. Friendly staff. Delicious meals. Gorgeous hiking trails for all ages and abilities. Bubbling brooks. Breathtaking waterfalls.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damariscotta, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

My 11 year old daughter and I had an outstanding experience at the AMC Cardigan Lodge. The staff were outgoing and very informative, the food was great and the hiking trails were fantastic. Just be sure to follow the driving directions from the AMC website as several guests had problems using their GPS units.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Wholesome and tasty meals that are fully satisfying after a day of outdoor exercise. Yummy trail lunch provided. An escape from the hustle and bustle - a disconnect from technology and a return to nature and simple fun.

Bring extra blanket as it can get chilly in the evenings.

Knowledgeable and friendly naturalists. Warm and cozy with fireplace and opportunity to relax andplay games.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

It's an AMC lodge with rustic casual bunks, good atmosphere, friendly staff and large helpings of good food. With hiking, backcountry skiing and Cardigan Mountain at the back door. It can be a little tough to get into in the winter so snow-tires are a really good idea.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AMC Cardigan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMC Cardigan Lodge

Address: 774 Shem Valley Road, Alexandria, NH 03222
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Alexandria
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMC's Cardigan Lodge in Alexandria, New Hampshire is just two hours from Boston. Surrounded by 5,000-acre Mount Cardigan State Forest, Cardigan Lodge offers an extensive trail network for hiking and cross-country skiing, a nature trail and swimming pond, and family-friendly programs and theme weekends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cardigan Hotel Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AMC Cardigan Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.