We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning & unique beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquinnah Cliffs

Aquinnah Cliffs
State Rd., Aquinnah, Martha's Vineyard, MA
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$53*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Aquinnah
Type: Historic Sites, Geologic Formations, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Stunning & unique beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Wow. One of the prettiest & certainly most unique beaches in the US. Stunning clay cliffs that deposit multi colored clay into the sand & water. The result is a unique buoyancy to the sand & water that appears red in areas.

Note that this is partially a nude beach. The main beach is clothed, but when you wander you will see lots of nudists. This didn't bother me, but it may not be the most family friendly of beaches. Additionally, there are no refreshments or rest/changing stations (there are portapotties (sp?) closer to the parking lot). There is a parking fee.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    21
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a great day trip while visiting Martha's Vineyard. Very picturesque. Great history lesson especially in regards to the Gay Head Lighthouse.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Worth a stop -- beautiful view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Loved the view. It's a gorgeous stop to take in the cliffs and beach below. Definitely a great photo opp! Got crowded as bus tours came through. Parking is also limited, but the island buses stop here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views of Aquinnah...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I took a day trip to M.V. (I'm from the Boston area). My goal was to see the Aquinnah Cliffs and Gay Head Lighthouse. I used the shuttle bus transit which was very easy as the busses run every hour at least in the month of September. The cliffs, the beach and the lighthouse are spectacular!!! A must see and worth every effort to get to this remote location. I spent about 2 hours taking photographs. From Vineyard Haven the bus takes about 45 min to Aquinnah(Gay Head). Considering, still lots of traffic in Sept. and a few other stops along the route.
Wish I had more time to enjoy as it was only a day trip.
I will definitely return next year!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Average to Good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stopped here, along with everbody else, as this was a "50 cent and lobster roll stop" on our bus tour. Not a whole point else to come here really: pleasant view. Police do issue tickets fairly easily.
Not sure I would bother all the way here on a scooter especially on MV's lanes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquinnah Cliffs also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Aquinnah, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Aquinnah Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquinnah Cliffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.