We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Outing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquinnah Cliffs

Aquinnah Cliffs
State Rd., Aquinnah, Martha's Vineyard, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 attractions in Aquinnah
Type: Geologic Formations, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a great day trip while visiting Martha's Vineyard. Very picturesque. Great history lesson especially in regards to the Gay Head Lighthouse.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    18
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Worth a stop -- beautiful view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Loved the view. It's a gorgeous stop to take in the cliffs and beach below. Definitely a great photo opp! Got crowded as bus tours came through. Parking is also limited, but the island buses stop here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views of Aquinnah...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I took a day trip to M.V. (I'm from the Boston area). My goal was to see the Aquinnah Cliffs and Gay Head Lighthouse. I used the shuttle bus transit which was very easy as the busses run every hour at least in the month of September. The cliffs, the beach and the lighthouse are spectacular!!! A must see and worth every effort to get to this remote location. I spent about 2 hours taking photographs. From Vineyard Haven the bus takes about 45 min to Aquinnah(Gay Head). Considering, still lots of traffic in Sept. and a few other stops along the route.
Wish I had more time to enjoy as it was only a day trip.
I will definitely return next year!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Average to Good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stopped here, along with everbody else, as this was a "50 cent and lobster roll stop" on our bus tour. Not a whole point else to come here really: pleasant view. Police do issue tickets fairly easily.
Not sure I would bother all the way here on a scooter especially on MV's lanes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

You have not been to Martha's Vineyard unless you park and walk the trail to the cliffs at Aquinnah (Gay Head). The water is crystal clear and warm. You can enjoy a day at the beach with a picnic, sunbathe, walk the beach to see the exquisite colorful clay cliffs that make this a national wonder!!! A true gem not to be missed!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquinnah Cliffs also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Aquinnah Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquinnah Cliffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aquinnah Cliffs to your Saves list