We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aquinnah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duck Inn
Save
You added Duck Inn to your Saves list
10 Duck Pond Lane, Aquinnah, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02535   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Aquinnah B&B and Inns
York Beach, Maine
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Elise was warm and welcoming. Her place is cosy, breakfast was wonderful. We walked to the beach, she allowed us to bring our (small) dog and spoiled her rotten! Showers were plenty hot, hot-tub small and private, lovely fireplace. Low-key place from which to enjoy the island. If you want a ton of amenities, shopping, etc.....don't go to Aquinnah. If you want serene, beautiful landscapes, and the company of those respectful of what nature has to share, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was perhaps our best ever experience of an Inn. The Duck Inn is a beautiful historic building set among fields, woods, and dry stone walls, with wonderful views of the ocean and lighthouse. The interior, with passive solar design, is charmingly furnished with vintage pieces that were selected with love and often humor. And yes, it's clean, notwithstanding the third review below! Elyse, the innkeeper, gave us a warm, generous welcome and quickly became a friend. Her organic breakfasts were delicious (try the fresh fruit crepes). Aquinnah was our favorite part of the Vineyard, with its magical light and its openness of sea and sky. We're definitely going back.

Room Tip: Deck Room West U was amazing. Large, with gorgeous views on two sides, a comfortable king-sized bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Short, beautiful walk to best beach on the island. This eclectic inn with breathtaking views is one of the last vestiges of what island hospitality used to be. The end-of-island sea breezes eliminate the need for summer air conditioning while efficient passive solar construction and a Rumford fireplace in this 200-yr old house provide cosy comfort in winter. Charming innkeeper provides best breakfast with local produce - worth the visit. This is a Bohemian experience, more like a home stay than a hotel stay. Bring your whimsy.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Charming rooms, delicious organic breakfast fresh from the garden, short walk on a wooded path to the beach and the best view of the stars at night. Gorgeous ocean views and a warm, friendly innkeeper. Low key and completely relaxing. Pretty close to perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We arrived to a surprise. Not in a good way for the Vineyard. toy ducks on the way in?
The sheets were unkept and unclean. We found a hair in the bed. I'm sorry but not what you expect. If you're looking for rustic this is not your getaway B&B. We left without evening staying the night even though we PRE-paid.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at the Duck Inn while visiting family on Martha's Vineyard over the 2011 holidays. We could not have been happier with the experience. The owner Elise was helpful in every way and her breakfast was spectacular, The house is beautiful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We will certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed on Thanksgiving weekend. Great location and setting for charming B & B on five acres of property with beautiful ocean views. Cozy rooms and ours had a deck with views of the Gay Head lighthouse and ocean. Outstanding breakfast, possibly the best on MV, provided by a wonderful host, Elise.

Fun birdhouse outside the dining area, that had over a dozen blue jays and cardinals battling for position. Short walk to beach. Will be back!

Room Tip: try for the rooms with a deck and lighthouse/ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck Inn

Address: 10 Duck Pond Lane, Aquinnah, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02535
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Aquinnah
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aquinnah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.