We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, fun, & romantic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outermost Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aquinnah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outermost Inn
Save
You added Outermost Inn to your Saves list
81 Light House Road, Aquinnah, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02535   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Aquinnah B&B and Inns
Boston, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Funky, fun, & romantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was at the Outermost Inn for a wedding and it was SO fun! The Inn is really ilke being welcomed into someone's home--and it is someone's home. The proprietress, Jeanne and her hubby, Hugh, run this place like they are welcoming long-lost family. Liza and Celeste are the "right hands" doing front-desk reception, wait-staff, and concierge work. Together, they all make for the most amazing lodging experience. The honor bar is so cool to just chill out at after a day at Philbin Town Beach. Grab a rose and watch the sun set. It's incredible.

If I had anything "bad" to say, it would be that if you are a light sleeper, just choose a room opposite the lighthouse. When you book a reservation, just ask for a room that is not on the lighthouse side. (I say this only because I'm a light sleeper. I know friends who have stayed there and did not have an issue with the rotating light flashing into the room.) The other thing is that you are not "near town". It's quiet, isolated, lovely, and stunning. Come here if you want to get away and enjoy the peace of a beautiful surrounding.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should pick a room opposite the lighthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I have been going to Martha's Vineyard for a while now, but have always stayed with friends at their house, always up island (Menemsha-Gayhead-Chillmark area). This time I was with my fiancee and I decided to book a hotel room. After having been to the Outermost Inn for dinner once I decided to reserve it. I went on the first week of August 2011, no need to say that the ferry from Woodshole had to be reserved over 1 month in advance.

Staying at the hotel was like staying with friends! The family who owns the place is very very nice and makes you feel with ease as if you're at home. In the morning and late afternoon all the guests stay on the patio and it is very ease to get to know people.

B-fast is very good, and all is made on the moment with fresh ingredients. Also dinner is amazing, however it has to be reserved well in advance and comes with an 85$ prix fixe price.

I'm definitely going to stay here again!

Room Tip: Stayed at the "Lighthouse Suite" had my own entrance and private deck with terrace. Very N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I make it a point to avoid Martha’s Vineyard. The ferry, with all its scheduling and waiting around, is just the sort of headache I don’t need. Martha’s Vineyard attracts the types of people who annoy me the most. People who sail. Sixty-somethings with permanent tans and PYT fourth wives. Swarms of daytrippers braying for lobster rolls in the foetid alleyways of fishing villages turned into tourist traps. Indolent monied youth yawning their summer holidays away.

Members of my family know well that, if they hold an event on Martha’s Vineyard, I will not attend. Apparently some members of My Dearest’s family did not get that memo. They scheduled an event on the wretched island and expressed surprise when I announced that I would be absent. Lively discussions followed and, ever the supportive wife, I agreed to accompany My Dearest to the event – under protest!

Determined to avoid the braying crowds, the reek of lobster rolls, and as many members of My Dearest’s family as possible, I booked us into the Outermost Inn on the very west end of the island. The location is superb with lots of privacy and many lovely views. There is a nice, although quite steep, path down to a stone beach with dramatic views across Vineyard Sound to Cuttyhunk Island.

The rooms are too barebones for my liking with rudimentary wooden furniture, kitsch art, and non-descript fabrics and furnishings. The bed was adequate but just barely so. Some would call this New England charm. I call it New England drab: rather like the stiff ladies in Boston who march around without makeup. Still our room was quite functional, and everything was immaculately clean. The fresh flowers were an isolated nice touch. Noise travels throughout the inn, so everyone hears every door slam and every raised voice.

Some rooms have excellent views of the sea, while others don’t. When booking, you should ask detailed questions about the view from your room, especially if you plan to spend much time in the room.

The bathroom was smallish with basic furnishings and fixtures. The soap and shampoo provided were of only average quality. The water pressure in the shower was good.

The innkeepers were first rate: well organized and constantly on the move making sure everything runs efficiently. They must take happy pills every hour, because they were always cheerful and always ready to help.

The restaurant was packed for dinner each night of our stay. It’s probably one of the few decent places to eat for miles around. So be sure to make dinner reservations when you book your room: otherwise you may be out of luck. The dinner menu was limited, but the dishes featured fresh local produce and were skillfully prepared. The wine list offered only a small selection of non-descript wines. Breakfast was, by the standards of New England inns, quite good with fresh eggs cooked to order, uber fresh local tomatoes, and homemade breads.

There is an honor bar on an outdoor porch. From the porch there are nice views across the lawn and towards the Sound. On a sunny afternoon sipping chilled white wine and enjoying this view is indeed a pleasure.

This place is not cheap, and the rooms are not worth the prices. But you are not paying for the room. You are paying for the location, the views, and the delicious peace and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

As an island summer resident for 40 years I can attest that for sheer natural beauty of location there is no rival to the Outermost Inn, which is located on the meadows forming the backside of the gorgeous clay cliffs of Zacks Beach in Aquinnah (formerly Gay Head) Martha's Vineyard. Deer pranced in the lush greenery as we sipped cocktails on the porch waiting for dinner and watching a breathtaking sunset. The food at dinner was great (although the portions are a bit too small for an $85 price fix) and the winelist was well put together. For daytime activities, the Inn boasts private access to the beach (at check in you are provided a map for a beautiful walking tour) as well as passes to Philbin Beach (one of the nicest beaches on the island-- Philbin passes are otherwise only available to Aquinnah residents). Hugh Taylor (brother of James) and his wife are proprietors and quintessential islanders-- pleasant, warm and easy- going. Hugh himself prepared breakfast (included in the price of the room) which was a generous portion of pan poached eggs, salmon, hash browns, fresh fruits, english muffin and coffee. The entire place has such a relaxed feel. There is an honor system for cocktails (you can serve yourself at a nicely stocked beer and wine bar on the porch if need be), beach chairs and towels are provided,the wait staff are caring (but not overbearing) and all take great interest in your daytime activities.

If I had a complaint it would be the quality of the mattress in the Cherry room. It was a little small and quite saggy in the middle so a good night sleep was not in the cards. Otherwise it the room was quiet and comfortable but not particularly well appointed (other than the bathroom which was quite nice). It also lacked an ocean view-- none of those rooms were available when we called in June so better to act fast.

Room Tip: Avoid Cherry and look for those with the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Not an auspicous beginning. Invited to arrive early and have a drink on the terrace, we arrive early and are invited to the terrace. But not invited to have a drink. No. the friendly and relaxed staff is enchanted with a stray golden retriever that has wandered on the property. Okay, the dog's cute; but no drink. Time for the dining room. Our vivacious waitress seems to have not stopped auditioning for the provincetown run of chorus line, and the mood is, at least (best?), quirky. The setting, and dining room, though, are just about perfect for elevated summer dining on the Massachusetts islands. And the food? A genuine, and genuinely good gazpacho, fresh and well dressed greens, a piece of broiled halibut on a creamy risotto, and so on. After dinner drinks, at last, on the lawn.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

We recently spent two weeks on Martha's Vineyard, and stayed at three different high-end properties. The Outermost was by far our favorite. It's one of those places where, if you looked at it piece by piece, you might be tempted to dwell on its shortcomings. But the whole package is marvellous.

Yes, there is no air conditioning. We were there during a period of exceptional heat and humidity, so this was not ideal. Yes, the rooms are looking a bit past their prime and could benefit from renovation. Yes, our bed could have used a new mattress. Yes, the price was high -- we paid $350/night (which includes a sumptuous breakfast), and that was not the most expensive room at the Outermost.

All that being said, we loved it. What makes the Outermost special is the ambience. The place exudes friendliness and down-home relaxation. It all starts with the inn keepers, Hugh and Jeannie Taylor, and their two adult children, Alexandra and Isaac. They are warm and friendly and welcoming. And mingling with other guests comes naturally, given the spacious and comfortable public areas at the Inn. We felt not so much customers as we did guests in the Taylors' country home.

The ground of the Outtermost are lovely, and guests have easy access to the beautiful, and very long, Aquinnah Beach.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

I thought location, location, location when booking a surprise family birthday celebration here but found much more than that - everything exceeded my expectations. This beautiful, quiet Cape Cod style Inn, set atop the famous Aquinnah cliffs next to the Lighthouse with rolling lawns and flower beds was immediately welcoming. The charming rooms, the elegant and delicious dining, onobtrusive yet warm and attentive hospitality all created wonderful memories for us for our too short stay. The bedrooms (we booked 5) were each slightly differently decorated with top of the line comforts, airey and spotlessly clean. The multicourse cooked breakfasts were feasts we lingered over as we listened to Hugh wistling in the kitchen. The special dinner party celebration was superb ("as usual", we have since heard) and even accommodated a lobster special 'off menu' item specially requested by one in our party! Every bite created a wonderful memory. We just wished they served lunch too! We had to settle for a lobster roll from vendors located up the road at the tourist bus rest stop for Aquinnah (formerly Gay Head). BYOB Cocktails served by the fun bartender on the sun porch and deck area was the perfect setting from which we watched the nesting osprey on the property and relaxed during the day when we were not exploring the fabulour clay cliffs and the beaches. What a perfect spot for sunsets. We did not wander far only because we enjoyed the beauty and happy environment surrounding this magical place. We wanted to stay much longer and will definitely be back. Jeanne and Hugh are to be complimented for their wonderfully attentive staff who were so flexible and happy to attend to our every wish. A classy, elegant home away from home.

  • Liked — Elegant attention to detail
  • Disliked — Expensive and no facilities for lunch
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outermost Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outermost Inn

Address: 81 Light House Road, Aquinnah, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02535
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Aquinnah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aquinnah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outermost Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.