We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway Cafe

Hideaway Cafe
57784 Overseas Hwy, MM58, Rainbow Bend Resort, Marathon, Grassy Key, FL 33050
(305) 289-1554
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Grassy Key
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dallas, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Took a family vacation to Marathon, FL the week before Mother's Day. Decided to give this restaurant a try. Made reservations on line for family of 6 adults for 7:30pm. We got to restaurant early, around 7:05pm. They made us wait until 7:35pm before they seated us. The restaurant was not that busy. Also, as you walk up to the restaurant, the bar is the first thing you see & hear. Of course there are people there who already have had entirely too much to drink that welcome you in a very loud obnoxious way. I was not impressed at all. Our server is a big young man with glasses (forgot his name) who was extremely slow with his services. After being seated, it took him a while to even acknowledge us. He was walking all around us in the restaurant. When he finally came to our table to get our drink orders, he frowned when we didn't order alcoholic beverages. Service was extremely slow! Took forever to get our drink orders. He dropped them off & said he would come back to take our food order. Took quite a long time before he came to take food orders. Everything took forever to to come out. I observed other servers who were hustling to get there orders out to their customers. We had to ask for refills on our water & sodas. Had to flag him down on several occasions. Don't believe I would go here again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    66
    15
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We found some good reviews on this place and decided to check it out. It looks like an absolute hole in the wall joint but was the most amazing meal we had on our stay! The food was fantastic and the wait staff even better. I know some of the reviews we saw said casual, but it was nicer than that (would not recommend flip flops or baseball caps). Most entrees $20-40, but completely worth it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of the Keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Robert was our outstanding waiter who made recommendations of the fresh catch of the day, Hogfish...which was incredible. Perfect sized portions enjoyed while taking in the view of the Atlantic Ocean just before sunset. The restaurant is hidden in back of a motel on the second level. Don't judge the book by it's cover, this place was the perfect spot for a 40th Anniversary Dinner, check it out!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Don't let the location fool you. It nearly did, for us.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This great restaurant is hidden in the back of what looks like a very low-rent motel, if you look at it from the road at night. It's up a flight of outdoor stairs and faces the ocean. Inside, it's tremendous. The owner is a wonderful guy that is full of great suggestions. The food is excellent, and the wine list is a big surprise and very fairly priced. If you're staying at Hawks Cay, forget the crappy restaurant there and eat here, instead. If there's anything to complain about, it's that the portions are almost too generous.

And for sure, sit at one of the tables on the porch, overlooking the beach.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The hidden gem in the mid Keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent, excellent, excellent. Plan on spending over an hour and feast on this superb food. Wine selection is great and take Robert's advise on everything. Have never had anything other than the best at the Hideaway.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Cafe also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hideaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.