We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro atmosphere and amazing dishes you can't get anywhere else!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway Cafe

Hideaway Cafe
57784 Overseas Hwy, MM58, Rainbow Bend Resort, Marathon, Grassy Key, FL 33050
(305) 289-1554
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Grassy Key
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Atkinson, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Retro atmosphere and amazing dishes you can't get anywhere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Seafood crepes, escargot a la Edison, sliced filet mignon. Cesar salad, bread and veggies included in entree price. Beer and wine only. Palm trees, ocean view, white tablecloths. Here is what made it special...SERVICE......Amazing! I gave up my Martini for this great experience and it was worth it. You will not regret it. Yes the place is worn on the outside, give this place a chance and you will be writing a glowing review like me.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    66
    15
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food and wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

This place is tucked away inside the Rainbow Bend resort on US 1. Don't judge the outside, as it looks a little worn down. When you arrive the place is beautiful decorated and the owner greets you and sits you down, he also made suggestions on the menu for us. We actually got the Filet and hogfish special. Everything was Amazing! Don't overlook this place it is so great! We still talk about the meal. Definitely go!!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Entertaining spot with good eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This place is truly hidden, we would never have found it if not for reviews. We enjoyed the friendly staff, the funky decor and the really well prepared homemade fish dinners.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL Keys
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best value in the middle keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Always excellent, The Hideaway does easy, casual classic without strain. Robert will look after you from appetizers to dessert. Ask and he will give honest reports from patrons. The perfect medium rare rack of lamb was accompanied by a small and perfectly executed trio of mashed potatoes, carrots and green beans (sounds ordinary, but done very well). The signature dish is duck, and if you're there for the first time you can't go wrong. There is a good selection of seafood (it's in the Keys, after all) and steaks for the hungry carnivores. Our waiter first brought us a small loaf of garlic bread and a dish of tapenade before we ordered - we could have stopped there. Ask Robert and he will not steer you wrong - we have been to every restaurant in the Middle Keys and we recommend The Hideaway for a comfortable and enjoyable dining experience that is a value.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“cozy and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

simply a cozy and beautiful cafe situated on the oceanside of the middle keys.....food is wonderful....staff is exceptional....dining area is small, but not too crowded....
super deal on early bird, if you want to avoid all the tourists

i highly recommend this eatery

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Cafe also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hideaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.