We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in an unlikely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway Cafe

Hideaway Cafe
57784 Overseas Hwy, MM58, Rainbow Bend Resort, Marathon, Grassy Key, FL 33050
(305) 289-1554
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 restaurants in Grassy Key
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Stuart, FL
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food in an unlikely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very casual excellent dining right on the Ocean at Rainbow Bend Resort. This out-of-the way restaurant is tiny, reservations are needed and the food is wonderful. Great wine list! Great food selection!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    197
    60
    14
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“So good we ate there twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were on one of our not frequent enough trips to Marathon and had somehow missed out on the Hideaway on previous trips. Never again! The atmosphere was lovely. Friendly staff, especially the charming Robert, good service, and great food with a wonderful view of the water. Be warned though, the portions are huge, compared to most restaurants in the keys. When you order duck, which was excellent, you get not a half, but a whole duck! This is along with vegetables, potatoes, and a salad or soup. Got to be one of the best values for money in the keys. We enjoyed it so much that we ate there a second time in the same week, and will definitely be back again any time we are in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A gem in this area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Many places around this area are not focused on gourmet food, but the Hideaway is a welcome exception. A bit dated and not highly luxurious interiour, but who cares about the decor when you have a brilliant chef who is eager to show how much care he/she puts in the food. Finally, a gourmet style place with great seafood, tasty steaks and food that's tendered and cared for! Can highly recommend

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavernier, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Long wait for good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Have eaten here many times, but not sure I'll be back. Waited over an hour just to get a salad. When I informed the waitress of our wait, she replied, "I know. We only have one cook and a lot of people showed up." Not what I wanted to hear. Food is good, though.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Meal with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Whenever I travel I try to find one special restaurant . I did on Grassy Key. It was down the street from our lodging, Casa Del Sol. The restaurant is on the second floor which lets you have this gorgeous view of the water. It's eclectic and funky going back in time. Small in size but large in service, hospitality and excellent food. Robert was wonderful. . As he explained each item on the menu in his wonderful Bronx accent, it was hard to decide what to choose. I thought their wine list was good. Had a great pinot gris. We started with appetizers, a fresh shellfish soup plus a delicious seafood crepe and salads. Our meals were outstanding, Beef was tender, fish was fresh. Veggies cooked perfect and, of course we had desssert. Again yummy. Robert had a chance to ask us where we were from and also if this was our first time in the Keys. We were treated like family. I would highly recommend this restaurant and I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Cafe also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Grassy Key, Marathon
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hideaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.