We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Cielo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Al Cielo Hotel to your Saves list
Al Cielo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 118 | Solidaridad, Xpu-Ha 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best place ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

It is so hard to find a place that really is a walk out your door be on the beach place. We renewed our vows in June they planned the entire Mayan ceremony and let us add Buddhist elements and it was simply perfect. We stayed in Suite Del Mar and my wife was literally jumping up and down with joy when she saw the room. Perfect beach perfect water simply magical. The food and drinks were outstanding. Great menu but mostly we just ordered fish or steak tacos a la carte they put something in them that makes you like them more than is normal for a fish taco. Playa is close enough to just get a can if you need night life but we mostly sat on our deck at night got drunk and watched the moon. I will be back every year even if it's my last dollar. Andrew and his dad were outstanding hosts and the wedding dinner on the beach is something I will never forget

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew O, Gerente at Al Cielo Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
AL CIELO Staff was honored to help you organize your renewal of your vows, indeed it was a magical ceremony.

Also all our staff would like to thank you for your kind comments.

We are very happy to hear that you felt like home and that everything was as you expected and more.

We hope to meet you again very soon.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    27
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
111
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Al Cielo for 7 days for our honeymoon in June. We searched the internet for months looking for the perfect place. We wanted to go someplace where we would be treated as guests, but would not be bothered. We did not want the big, all-inclusive resort feel. Somehow we came across Al Cielo and knew we had found our honeymoon. The photos you find on the website and online are pretty true to what you discover once you get there--it IS as gorgeous as it looks!

One of our desires in our search was to be able to walk out of our room and be in the sand. We stayed in the Tierra room and got what we wanted! We had a substantially-sized porch with a dunk pool to cool off. The room had a rustic feel because it is all made of a beautiful dark wood, but is luxurious at the same time. Our room was prepared with rose petals throughout, bottles water, and coffee and tea for the mornings.

We had no trouble getting a hut to sit under on the beach every day. It was so relaxing to sit in the shade all day and just enjoy the view. In fact, we were surprised that not more guests were taking advantage of it like we were. It seems that a lot of the hotel guests were doing more sight-seeing than we were interested in.

The food was absolutely amazing. Andrew was very up front with us about how the board plan works and that the menu is designed to be about equal to the meal plan. We considered it after the first day, but ultimately decided that it was not for us. Breakfast was included for all guests and we usually shared a light lunch.. Between 12 and 1 every day, all of the guests receive a complimentary appetizer and beverage. We got an appetizer, entree, and desert every night. Each one was delicious, but the clams were our favorite!

All of the staff was extremely helpful, generous, and personal. We speak very little Spanish, so it was helpful for us that most of the staff could speak pretty advanced English. The cleaning staff was so thorough in their work every day. Our room always felt clean, fresh, and well-stocked. Andrew gave us several recommendations of places to go for eating and sight-seeing. He was very kind to us for our entire stay.

We rented a car at the Cancun airport and were glad that we did. As mentioned before, we stayed at the hotel most of the time, but were able to get out and see the area with a rental. Tulum and Playa del Carmen are each 20 minutes in opposite directions. Both were worth seeing and we went to eat at each place a few nights (although we always decided the food at Al Cielo was better!).

We can't wait to go back. Words cannot do Al Cielo justice...you just have to go experience it to understand!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew O, Gerente at Al Cielo Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
All AL CIELO Staff would like to thank you for your kind comments.

We are very happy to hear that everything was a s you expected, we try our best to make every guest feel unique and pampered.

Indeed the photos are almost as beautiful as when you see it in person!!

Sometimes that happens, some guests go out more for sightseeing than staying at the hotel, but as you say even if they are here the beach is almost private for our guests.

Our staff is trying all the time to improve their english because its very important to speak with our guests and make them feel understood.

Thank you as well for your comments on our food, our Chef and staff at the kitchen thank you very much for your words.

We hope to meet again in a near future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

What a pleasant way to have a six day holiday - Al Cielo. Ladies, if want want a get away on your own, this place is a perfect selection! I always wanted to go to Tulum, & did my research online, deciding to change resorts from Esencia next door. This was an exceptional choice! I was a bit hesitant to travel to Mexico alone, but was assured that part of the country was completely safe. I like quiet, and Xpu Ha beach is paradise. I met so many wonderful travelers and
locals up and down this beach during my stay. I had just one dinner alone - my first night. Then, I was surrounded by newly formed friendships, and felt part of a fantastic international community. The swimming, the food and service were all exceptional. Andrew is on the job to make sure your stay is special. I requested a guide to Tulum for the morning, he arranged it, and was so fantastic that I hired the guide the following morning for another excursion. Ask for Memo! Al Cielo is a cozy place I will return to year after year. Thank you, Andrew and staff for all the hospitality and personal attention - you've created a haven for me. Have a wonderful summer, see you next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew O, Gerente at Al Cielo Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
AL CIELO Staff would like to thank you for your kind words.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us, we try to make every guest to feel like home.

We are hoping to meet you soon again with us.

My best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Al cielo is amazing. I love that it's small and secluded and there are only a limited number of suites making it really private. All the staff are so friendly and go over and above to make your stay as perfect as possible. Shout out to Regina (who helped us tremendously with booking our chichen itza tour) Carlos at the bar and restaurant, and Santos who was super attentive with whatever we needed. I wish I could remember the names of everyone else who helped make our stay so amazing.

You get your own lil palapa on the beach and breakfast is really great as it's not the usual boring buffet you get at other large hotels. You get to order whatever you want and it's all included with your stay.

Thank you everyone at Al cielo!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew O, Gerente at Al Cielo Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
AL CIELO STAFF would like to thank you for your kind words.

We are so glad to hear that everything was as you expected, our staff is always trying to make the best of them so all our guests feel unique.

Indeed since we have this breakfast menu, around 6 months ago, everybody just loves it!! We are very happy that you enjoyed it.

We hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Had my daughter's Hindu wedding in May of 2014 at Al Cielo for 85 people and of that 24 of us had an extended stay before the wedding at Al Cielo. Could not ask for a better venue and could not ask for a better staff.

If you ever dreamt of an exclusive beach wedding and expected a royal treatment to go along with it then this is the place!!

The beach is absolutely gorgeous and breathtaking. Al Cielo has an excellent staff and superb service to make any event successful!

The things that made this venue a little challenging are finding accommodations for the rest of the guests & meal planning for non-wedding days for Al Cielo guests. The back & forth conversion of dollars to pesos and back to dollars on the payments was a little baffling.

Having a traditional South Indian wedding on a beach and as a destination wedding presented unique challenges. The excellent staff at Al Cielo did a great job in fulfilling all the challenges.

To conclude, Al Cielo delivered all that was negotiated and more for the wedding. We would highly recommend this place as a destination wedding venue from any part of the world.

Room Tip: This place has 3 villas, 1 suite and four rooms. All the four rooms, Suite La Mar & Villa Del Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew O, Gerente at Al Cielo Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Al AL CIELO STAFF would love to thank you for choosing us as your venue for an amazing wedding and all your kind comments.

We had so much fun and hard work preparing your wedding, it was our fist Indian wedding and it was absolutely great. We enjoyed every minute of the whole weekend.

Thank you again for choosing us and we are certain that we will meet soon again with you and your beautiful family.

Thank you again.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I went on our one year wedding anniversary to the Rivera Maya and we did a ton of research on where to stay. We were looking for a resort which was intimate and did not have a lot of people. We also wanted a place that was right on the water. We found this hotel online and after weeks of research we decided it was the best option. It also had some of the best overall reviews.

We stayed for 5 nights in the "Agua" room. The hotel has only 8 rooms, so there are very few people at the resort. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful place to get away from everything this is the place to go. Upon our arrival we were greeted by a very nice manager who showed us to our room and brought us a complementary drink. During our stay we met two different managers, both of which were very nice and helpful with anything we needed. The rooms are maybe 20 to 30 yards away from the beautiful water. It is also great to swim in. The room was very large and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also huge and it has a very neat layout. There are eight different covered pairs of chairs on the beach, one for each room. We found it very nice we did not have to fight with people or get out early in the morning to save chairs, which you need to do at some resorts.

The hotel has a restaurant on site which offered free breakfast every morning. We found that to be a big cost saver throughout the week. We would eat a late breakfast and then just go out for dinner.

There is an onsite massage room and my wife and I both took advantage of it. They did a great job and it was worth the money. Occasionally while laying by the beach they would bring us complementary drinks or food. The beach is beautiful, and the water is even more incredible. Unfortunately half of our trip had horrible weather, which was frustrating, but that has nothing to do with the resort.

There are a few things that you should be aware of before you stay here:

We went in June. The resorts was 50% off, but that is because weather in the Rivera Maya in June throughout September is completely unpredictable. You may have a lot of rain. Also, the water in the shower was slightly salty. It is fine to shower in, but a little bit of a shock when you happen to get some in your mouth if you are not expecting it to be salty. The bathrooms in the rooms are only separated by a wood wall, that is not sound proof. You can hear any conversations or anything else that is going on in the bathroom next to you. There are very few restaurants in the area, so unless you plan on eating at the hotel restaurant every night, plan on doing some driving to get good food. (Have a rental car). The towns of Tulum and Playa Del Carmen are both about 25 minutes away in opposite directions. We found some great restaurants there. (Go to Tulum, and look for Mateos!!!!!!) The quality of the food at Al Cielo is average. We would also recommend going to COBA Myan Ruins or the Tulum Ruins. It is a good experience.

The weather is humid during this time of year! Pack light and just bring bathing suits and maybe shorts! Overall we loved the resort and had a great experience. We would stay in this resort again.

K & B

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew O, Gerente at Al Cielo Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
AL CIELO Staff was delighted to host your wedding anniversary and we are very thankful for your comments.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt really comfortable and like home. We try to be rustic and casual at the same time we are glad you enjoyed the layout of the rooms and areas.

Yes indeed everybody is really happy since we have our full on breakfast menu!!

Francisco our masseuse is very nice and he`s been working with us since a long time he has magic hands indeed.

We will try to improve in our food as much as we can, normally people tells us that is nice so we always try new things and try to be better always.

Yes as you say the weather during summer season is a bit unpredictable but normally the worst you get is a couple of storms in the evenings.

We hope to have you soon again with us.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and I came to Al Cielo on our 10 year anniversary, with very high expectations. Our expectations were: a hotel ON the beach; a beautiful beach with white sand and clear water; somewhat secluded; great service; great food; an open-air restaurant; and a comfortable bed - all for the right price, of course. Al Cielo delivered in every area. My only complaint would be that while the food was very good, it is over-priced. We had a rental car, so were able to do some sight-seeing and grab some food in other places those days. I was impressed with the service and level of care the staff showed. They truly make you feel like the most important people - actually, we really did feel like we were the only guests. We especially enjoyed little details like the restaurant serving breakfast until 12pm, and having our own cabana on the beach (no worrying about whether you'll get a good spot). Everything is truly designed to help you relax and just enjoy - which we did! The first afternoon, while in our cabana, the massage-therapist came by and gave us each a complimentary 5 minute massage. It was amazing! I then proceeded to take a 3 hr nap right there. Our room was Fuego. We loved that we could just step out of our room and right onto the beach. Every room seems very private. I will say, I think this might be the "noisiest" room because it is next to the kitchen. However, the only time we heard anything from there was when we were by our little pool - and then the sound of the waves and wind really drowns out any noise anyway. It felt like a dream the whole time we were there. I really hope we can go back some day and stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew O, Gerente at Al Cielo Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
AL CIELO Staff is very happy to read your beautiful comments.

We try our best every day to make all our guests feel special, we are very glad that you felt that way.

Yes indeed, we always recommend renting a car to our guests.

As you well mention, we are no longer a Beach Club open to the public, so all our guests can enjoy their own little Palapa and dont think of anything else but relaxing.

We hope that next time you can come and spend more nights with us.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Cielo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Cielo Hotel

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 118 | Solidaridad, Xpu-Ha 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Cielo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Cielo Hotel is situated on the beachfront of Xpu Ha and its one of the most secluded beaches in the riviera maya where you can sleep in heaven. Al Cielo Hotel is a beachfront petit hotel situated on the peaceful Xpu-Ha Beach, only 20 minutes drive North of Tulum and 20 minutes drive South of Playa del Carmen in Mexico's Riviera Maya. This charming beachfront resort, has four rustic elegantly designed rooms, named Water, Air, Earth and Fire. Four elements that combine to become a Caribbean elixir for your holidays in this secluded beach. Aswell as 2 amazing chic and romantic garden Villas named Atardecer and Girasol, designed specially for the confort and privacy of casual couples and families. If you feel like sleeping in heaven Master Suite La Mar is the perfect choice, situated for the complete exclusive feeling of bliss and peace in one of the last romantic places in Mexico. Try the relaxed atmosphere and privacy on the beachfront new Villa named Villa del Patron. Al Cielo can be one of the last places in the whole Riviera Maya where you can trully be away from crowds and feel yourself immeresed in a true mexican caribbean beach club experience. Al Cielo was created to express a fresh and exquisit feeling of relax and sensitivity, perfect for escaping from the rutine and enjoy true life changing experiences. Feel the bliss of our reef having a lobster dinner or a seafood paella as your feet are immersed in the white sand beach. Diving in the cenotes, swimming with turtles or fishing in the bay. You can always explore the Tulum Ruins, Coba Ruins and the Colonial Citys of Valladolid and Izamal. Guests will enjoy the services of massages, tours and more. The exclusivity of this place allows Al Cielo Hotel's staff to offer you personal attention always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al Cielo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Cielo Xpuha
Hotel Al Cielo
Al Cielo Hotel Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Cielo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.