We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the only place I will stay when visiting this area & would love to keep it all to myself.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Cielo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Al Cielo Hotel to your Saves list
Al Cielo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 118 | Solidaridad, Xpuha 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Xpuha
SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's the only place I will stay when visiting this area & would love to keep it all to myself.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

As everyone else has said in prior reviews, do it! I am leaving this slice of Riviera Maya heaven tomorrow, but already planning my next trip. You could stay at dozens of places in this area but you will not find one like this! Unpretentious, a bit rustic, no phones, no radio, no tv & I Love It! Even my amigos here said they love this place for the beach food & relaxed, laid back vibe. Andrew & staff value their guests better than most any other hotel I have (all over the world) stayed. Do not hesitate to make this little magical hide-away your next place to discover!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew O, Gerente at Al Cielo Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
AL CIELO STAFF would love to thank you for your nice words.

We are small and hidden, but we try to be the best we can every day, your words makes us improve every day, when we read your words we feel that our job is done, make you feel like home away from home.

Thank you again, and we are looking forward for your next visit.

Best.

AL CIELO STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    25
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
100
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We travel fairly frequently but we seldom return to the same hotel. We loved our Al Cielo experience so much the first time that we returned and we have now vowed to return again. If you are not a fan of large all-inclusive resorts, this is the place for you. The hotel itself is very small, elegant in a rustic style (although the 2 new villas may not be "rustic"), located on the most beautiful beach ever. The service is outstanding. But everything is low-key and understated. We feel so welcomed and relaxed. The restaurant has the best food ever and the chef is totally accommodating. Everything is charming, from the palapas to the rooms to the restaurant to the staff and the natural setting is outstanding. The general area is also amazing (cents, scuba diving, turtles ……). Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew O, Gerente at Al Cielo Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
From all AL CIELO STAFF we thank you for your kind words.

We are so lucky to be in a beautiful spot as we are, but as you say we try our best to bring excellence in our services.

We are so glad that you decided to come back and we are waiting for you again soon, we will try to be even better next time.

You make our job so easy and fun, outstanding guests deserve the best!!

Thank you again.

Best Regards.

AL CIELO STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Al Cielo is an exceptional place ... on the outside, it's a chill beach hotel with bungalow style, but peel back the layers and its a top notch high end boutique resort that literally feels like paradise. The beachfront they have is just perfect: the water is somehow more clear and turquoise than other stretches of beach on the Riviera Maya, and the food !!! ... the food is amazing (coming from a self proclaimed NYC foodie, that's saying a lot!).

On April 19, 2014, Al Cielo hosted the best wedding I have ever been to: my own! We had 70 close friends and family come (from New York, LA, Paris and Tokyo!), and everyone is STILL talking about what an incredibly fantastic time it was. When planning a destination wedding, it can be really unsettling to work with vendors whom you have not met in person, however, Andrew, Andres and the Al Cielo team took all the guesswork out of it by suggesting vetted vendors for photographer, dj, flowers, cake etc., when we arrived, we sat down for a few hours and they worked with us on the logistics to ensure that every detail was just right. Ultimately, this made for seamless, effortless and and perfect wedding ceremony and reception.

Furthermore, Andres and Andrew are genuine and sincere ... you can tell they are passionate about what they do, and they put every ounce of care and quality into their work. They are two very cool dudes (father and son team!) who I am honored to have met and worked with :)

We rented out all 8 rooms on the property for three nights. Every single one of our friends raved about the location and what a fantastic time they had. All rooms have phenomenal ocean views (with the exception of the two garden villas, which are gorgeous in their own right!)

We stayed in the Suite La Mar and the views are just breathtaking!!! We are already making plans to go back next year ... but this time we may be ballers & stay in the Villa del Patron! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew O, Gerente at Al Cielo Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
All AL CIELO Staff would like to thank you for your outstanding words!!

Thank you very much, as you say, we try very hard every day and in every event to give the best of ourselves. Everyone is different and we try to make the best of all the situations.

Your wedding was absolutely wonderful, we had so much fun hosting it, for us it was so beautiful to make your dream day come true, and we are very thankful with you for choosing us, all your guests and most of all you two are amazing persons and we are very honored to meet you too.

We are waiting you with our arms open for whenever you want to visit us again.

Again thank you, and hope we meet again soon.

Kind Regards.

AL CIELO STAFF.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Al Cielo Hotel…What can I say, every word I can come up with really feels short… I booked my wedding with Al Cielo without doing a site visit. I did tons and tons of research and then just went with my gut feeling, a successful formula that for me has proven to work time after time . But even with such record, I could not have expected a place so beautiful and people as amazing as Andres, Andrew, Natalia and the entire crew.

Al Cielo perfectly sits on the most beautiful beach on the Riviera Maya, perfectly coexisting with the amazing natural beauty of the place. Really, I promise you, it's just PERFECT! Simple, unpretending, beautiful, and perfectly matching its surrounding beauty, without the stuffiness, or trying too hard to be sophisticated/luxurious feel of many other places in the area.

Imagine this...working your last minute wedding details, talking to 3 super fun and amazing people (Andrew, Andres, and Natalia), sipping on yummy cocktails, and looking at the most beautiful beach ever, a dream. That's really how we felt.

The amazing staff of Al Cielo worked SUPER hard to make my wedding perfect and it was. I was a bride with a million ideas, extremely detailed, and had a lot of projects for the crew.It all turned out so beautiful. I really would' change a thing. BTW, Andrew is the best problem solver ever. Got it problem? Had a problem, Andrew already took care of it!

All of our guests LOVED our wedding. The food was amazing. We're a San Francisco couple and anyone that has been to our lovely city knows, we have delicious food. So the expectations for food were high. To be honest I was a little nervous about this… The food was AMAZING!!!! Drinks plenty and delicious! A dream, a dream :)))))

We took the entire hotel and we are ALL already planning when to go back. Comfort, beauty, attention, friends, staff that feels like family, Al Cielo has it ALL.

So this review is not to thank Al Cielo, that we already did. This review is for you in case you're considering, thinking about Al Cielo. This is my pay it forward token to all the brides out there and all the people looking for a little piece of heave, you WILL find it at Al Cielo.

Cheers!

Room Tip: La Mar was my favorite!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew O, Gerente at Al Cielo Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
All AL CIELO Staff would love to thank you for hosting your wedding with us and for staying, we all are very happy and thankful for your amazing words.

We know that booking a place for hosting a wedding without doing a prior site inspection can be a tricky thing, but we thank you once again for going with your gut and doing this choice.

As you well say we do not try to pretend that we are something that we are not, we just try to be the best we can with what we have.

Our Chef and his staff as well thanks you for your beautiful words, as you saw, the food here is one of our most important points.

We are waiting for you to come back to renew your vows or just enjoy a holiday.

Thank you again.

Kind Regards.

Al Cielo Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Hats off to the Al Cielo Team for making our wedding celebration experience truly exceptional. Everyone (and I mean everyone) had a positive, can-do attitude, was friendly, knowledgable and highly skilled in providing an excellent customer experience. We stayed for only 3 nights and it clearly should have been more. Both Andrew and Andres run a world-class operation & it obviously shows. The food was always "on point" at every single meal and the location is 2nd to none. We stayed in the Suite La Mar and our family & friends stayed in the other rooms. No complaints whatsoever. Just love!

We can't wait to return when we've got more vacation time. In the meantime, y'all don't change a thing (except maybe dim the lights late night on top of the ocean front suites when it's time to sleep). Much love!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew O, Gerente at Al Cielo Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hello.

All AL CIELO Staff would like to thank you for your beautiful words.

From the bottom to the top of our staff, we try every day to make the people feel like you describe, anything is possible in AL CIELO...

Our Chef as you well know is one of the jewels we have, and his staff as well is always trying to learn and improve their skills...it makes us feel really happy that the food is always on point...

We are waiting for you as soon as you can, you know that in AL CIELO you have your Home Away from Home...

PS: we noted about the light on the beach, it is for your own security, but we will change it asap.

Thank you again...

Kind Regards.

Al Cielo Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Relax atmosphere, quiet, seclude, excellent service, great food, you just need to be there...all rooms are beach front, wonderful beach area, very clean. Rooms are comfortable, eco-friendly, is a great place to be with your couple!!!!

Room Tip: There are just 8 rooms... So all of them are good and are beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew O, Gerente at Al Cielo Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hello.

All AL CIELO Staff would like to thank you for your stay with us.

A lot of you words express what we try every day to share with our guests, so seeing that you felt like that makes us very happy and makes us try harder for every new guest we have.

We hope to host another vacation for you soon.

Kind regards.

Al Cielo Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I want to keep this my little secret, but that would not be fair. I have traveled to Mexico about 20 times and this was by far my best vacation there. We stayed in the El Patron Suite with another couple and it was perfect. The beach and area is very secluded and private. Beautiful water, sand and little bay. Great for swimming, snorkeling, fishing and more. The staff is superb and the food is amazing. The owners are onsite everyday and are the best. Really enjoyed talking with them and planning another trip back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew O, Gerente at Al Cielo Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
All AL CIELO Staff would like to thank you for your kind comments and your stay with us.

We also enjoyed a lot talking and getting to know you all a lot.

We are certain that we will work something out for your next trip. And we will have a lot of fun for sure.

Thank you again.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Cielo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Cielo Hotel

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 118 | Solidaridad, Xpuha 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpuha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Xpuha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Cielo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Cielo Hotel is situated on the beachfront of Xpu Ha and its one of the most secluded beaches in the riviera maya where you can sleep in heaven. Al Cielo Hotel is a beachfront petit hotel situated on the peaceful Xpu-Ha Beach, only 20 minutes drive North of Tulum and 20 minutes drive South of Playa del Carmen in Mexico's Riviera Maya. This charming beachfront resort, has four rustic elegantly designed rooms, named Water, Air, Earth and Fire. Four elements that combine to become a Caribbean elixir for your holidays in this secluded beach. Aswell as 2 amazing chic and romantic garden Villas named Atardecer and Girasol, designed specially for the confort and privacy of casual couples and families. If you feel like sleeping in heaven Master Suite La Mar is the perfect choice, situated for the complete exclusive feeling of bliss and peace in one of the last romantic places in Mexico. Try the relaxed atmosphere and privacy on the beachfront new Villa named Villa del Patron. Al Cielo can be one of the last places in the whole Riviera Maya where you can trully be away from crowds and feel yourself immeresed in a true mexican caribbean beach club experience. Al Cielo was created to express a fresh and exquisit feeling of relax and sensitivity, perfect for escaping from the rutine and enjoy true life changing experiences. Feel the bliss of our reef having a lobster dinner or a seafood paella as your feet are immersed in the white sand beach. Diving in the cenotes, swimming with turtles or fishing in the bay. You can always explore the Tulum Ruins, Coba Ruins and the Colonial Citys of Valladolid and Izamal. Guests will enjoy the services of massages, tours and more. The exclusivity of this place allows Al Cielo Hotel's staff to offer you personal attention always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al Cielo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Cielo Xpuha
Hotel Al Cielo
Al Cielo Hotel Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpuha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Cielo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.