We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Cielo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Al Cielo Hotel to your Saves list
Al Cielo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 118 | Solidaridad, Xpuha 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Xpuha
tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I just spent a week at Al Cielo and had a fantastic experience. The staff was terrific and always willing to go the extra mile. We stayed in a bottom floor room named Fuego and it was very clean and had everything we needed. We loved leaving the windows open at night to hear the pounding waves a short distance from our room. We had zero issues with mosquitos the entire week.
Food was really good. Breakfast comes with a plate of fresh fruit and a plate of crusty bready with jam and honey. You can also get an omellete or anything else if you like. We had fish tacos for lunch and also had nachos and other snacks brought down to us at the beach. Margaritas and mojitos were very tasty and they have an extensive wine list. Dinners featured a "seafood catch of the day" and we enjoyed those every evening. Hogfish, red snapper and grouper were all tasty and huge proportions.
The beach--All I can say is wow! This stretch of beach is probably the best I have ever seen including Tulum and Great Exuma. To your left is the deserted Xpuha Palace that has a terrific cove and calm, clear water. On down the beach is an all inclusive Catalonia resort that has quite a few folks but like I said, it is quite a walk down the beach. You can look in either direction and only see may four people so we felt like we had our own personal beach. The weather was sunny and 85 almost every day. We only had it get rainy one afternoon for about 4 hours.
They also offer massages on the beach for $60 per hour and we did that about four times since they were so good and reasonably priced.

I rarely go back to the same place but will definitely consider. I highly endorse this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    25
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
100
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at Al Cielo for the last few days of our honeymoon, the "luxury" part - we decided to spend a little more money to have a really nice ending to the trip. So the only thing to complain about is that this hotel is a little bit more expensive than others on our trip, but for us it was definately worth it.
The beach outside Al Cielo is absolutely amazing. We spent so much time out in the water. You probably need to have a car to get around if you're staying at Al Cielo, but we didn't really make any big trips when we were there because we enjoyed the beach so much. We went to the Cristalino cenote which is really close and was nice.
Anyway, we had the half board which we thought was good, we did not experience any problems with dishes on the menu not being available. We stayed for 4 nights and if you stayed longer perhaps you would start getting bored with the menu but we really loved it. The rib eye steak was GORGEUS and also the tuna sashimi.
As for the breakfast, the only issue was that the waiter didn't really explain what the breakfast would consist of, and it took him quite a while to serve us. So when he first came out with a little bread and butter and some fruit, we sort of thought "well, that was kind of a simple breakfast" - but then after like 20 minutes he would come and ask if we wanted eggs or omelette... So the breakfast was really HUGE we thought, I recommend mexican style of the eggs! We thought maybe our breakfast waiter was a bit SLOW which became a bit of an issue on our last day when we wanted to get going.
We really enjoyed the room and the bathroom with shower we thought was beautiful. We had our own plunge pool which we never used - the ocean was just so great. We also got massages as part of our deal (half board) and I must say that my massage (by the female massager) was one of the best massages I've ever had in my life!
I would love to come back here some day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is right off the main highway 307 down a dirt driveway that is about 1/4 mile long, so we rented a car to get around which we thought was a smart idea in retrospect. We are also foodies, so we opted for the "half-board" meal plan so that we could at least eat one meal off-site to explore other options. I think eating 3 meals there would get old because after about 4 days (we stayed 8) we had tried all the things on the menu. The lobster was only available about 40% of the time we asked for it, but one of the times, we each got about a 2.5lb lobster!
We opted to tip a few bucks each time we ate. We also tipped the maid about $3 each day. The breakfast's were superior. The lunch/dinner was off the same menu and was average/good. The lobster was amongst the best we ever had. The chilean sea bass and tuna were also winners.
The beach is what you dream of. The private huts assigned to you are incredible. Pure luxury. There is a great reef just a short swim out if you like to snorkel. Of all the restaurants nearby we tried, we liked the simple traditional mexican place called "Las Chiapanecas" in Tulum city close to the Subway (ask someone if you can't find it once you see the Subway). Didn't get sick there - food is safe. In fact, we took quite a few chances on some different "local" places and never got sick. that being said, always good to look for places that have lots of people eating there - its a good sign.
Feel free to email me with questions about this area / Mexico. I will try and help if I can. I've been traveling to Mexico for the past 20 years and lived there for one year also.

Room Tip: Looking at hotel from beach, "El Agua" is top left, "La Tierra" is bottom left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frugalgoodies
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Only spent the day here at the beach club. RESERVATION required as they only have 8 Palapas and 4 are reserved for their guest at the hotel.

Just an amazing beach and spot. See pics. The winds were up but is usually more calm.

Service was top notch with a friendly greeting from Andre, the owner?, upon our arrival. Palalpa was ready for us. Service was great until lunch when a language barrier with a young waiter (in training?) kept us from having from what we had hoped would be a seafood/fish lunch. So be sure you are understood.

That hiccup, although kind of a downer, didn't ruin our day. My wife and I still VERY MUCH enjoyed AL CIELO and would return in a heartbeat. We actually plan to this year.

Get a massage. My wife said her Masseuse hand "magic hands". Fransisco. Thank you. PLUS the setting can't be beat.

Please see the pics. They speak for themselves. I believe is is PESO/USD only.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I've been to Al Cielo a few times now and what a delight. The owner Andres has great taste in all areas. The hotel is comfortable but not over the top, several of the rooms are right on the sand, the beach in front of Al Cielo is quiet and beautiful.. which brings me to the food. The food here is SO GOOD. I will dream of that day on the beach, coming out of the water after a long swim, sitting under the large palapa sipping sangria and eating a mix of different paellas. One word. Heaven. I love the laid back approach here to travel and relaxation. It might not be for everyone but this is pretty much as good as it gets when it comes to sleeping and eating on the beach (literally). It's awesome that places like this exist. A nice alternative to the massive all inclusives filled with people just there to gorge themselves on "free" food and call that a vacation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

After a horrific start to our holiday in Tulum we were over the moon and delighted to arrive at Al Cielo.
Warm friendly welcome when we pulled up. Help with our luggage and offers of a cool drink all within minutes of setting foot out of the taxi.
As others have said, I really don't want to share this place as its a beautiful piece of soft sandy beach, and clear blue water heaven!
It's only got a few rooms, very spacious and clean. Also the rooms have a small air con unit, amazing to help in the humid heat.
The restaurant is a major thumbs up and awesome experience. Beautiful food, tasty, simple, presented better than most places in London where you would pay three times the price at least. Such a treat to have a lovely place with awesome restaurant.
All the staff, including the owner were warm, polite, funny as well as helpful. Really nothing is to much trouble.
The beach outside is just beautiful as you would expect along the coast here. There are some other hotels along the same stretch which in peak season would probably make the beach a lot busier than it was, but we had no trouble finding a quiet spot to relax.
If you are in this part of Mexico do go at least dine here. It's a truly wonderful spot and lovely, charming hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was very happy and satisfied with the service of the hotel. We spent one week with my girlfriend there. We traveled a lot along the coast down to tulum and did all the activities along the way.
XCaret, XelHa, Adventure Parc, Scuba diving ( www.divingplaya.com ), Salsa at Zebra ( Tulum ) amazing place. and a lot more. For the night we always returned to the hotel to take our well prepaired dinner and a good night sleep in a wonderfull room. Thank You for everything hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Cielo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Cielo Hotel

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 118 | Solidaridad, Xpuha 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpuha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Xpuha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Cielo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Cielo Hotel is situated on the beachfront of Xpu Ha and its one of the most secluded beaches in the riviera maya where you can sleep in heaven. Al Cielo Hotel is a beachfront petit hotel situated on the peaceful Xpu-Ha Beach, only 20 minutes drive North of Tulum and 20 minutes drive South of Playa del Carmen in Mexico's Riviera Maya. This charming beachfront resort, has four rustic elegantly designed rooms, named Water, Air, Earth and Fire. Four elements that combine to become a Caribbean elixir for your holidays in this secluded beach. Aswell as 2 amazing chic and romantic garden Villas named Atardecer and Girasol, designed specially for the confort and privacy of casual couples and families. If you feel like sleeping in heaven Master Suite La Mar is the perfect choice, situated for the complete exclusive feeling of bliss and peace in one of the last romantic places in Mexico. Try the relaxed atmosphere and privacy on the beachfront new Villa named Villa del Patron. Al Cielo can be one of the last places in the whole Riviera Maya where you can trully be away from crowds and feel yourself immeresed in a true mexican caribbean beach club experience. Al Cielo was created to express a fresh and exquisit feeling of relax and sensitivity, perfect for escaping from the rutine and enjoy true life changing experiences. Feel the bliss of our reef having a lobster dinner or a seafood paella as your feet are immersed in the white sand beach. Diving in the cenotes, swimming with turtles or fishing in the bay. You can always explore the Tulum Ruins, Coba Ruins and the Colonial Citys of Valladolid and Izamal. Guests will enjoy the services of massages, tours and more. The exclusivity of this place allows Al Cielo Hotel's staff to offer you personal attention always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al Cielo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Cielo Xpuha
Hotel Al Cielo
Al Cielo Hotel Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpuha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Cielo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.