We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy, happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Cielo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Al Cielo Hotel to your Saves list
Al Cielo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 118 | Solidaridad, Xpu-Ha 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy, happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was very happy and satisfied with the service of the hotel. We spent one week with my girlfriend there. We traveled a lot along the coast down to tulum and did all the activities along the way.
XCaret, XelHa, Adventure Parc, Scuba diving ( www.divingplaya.com ), Salsa at Zebra ( Tulum ) amazing place. and a lot more. For the night we always returned to the hotel to take our well prepaired dinner and a good night sleep in a wonderfull room. Thank You for everything hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    31
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
127
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The staff was great, the scenery was beautiful, the food was excellent, I loved it. I'll definitely be back. Get the half board, as it is the best restaurant on the beach and every meal was wonderful. The beach was great, although not wavey, but that made it good for snorkeling and swimming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I am reluctant to share this treasure with others, but it is magical. The staff makes you feel like family, the food is fabulous, the beach unbelievable. If you like small, intimate, quiet surroundings, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I found this hotel on the internet and picked it based on the great reviews. I did not regret it. My husband and I went there - leaving our child behind - for a few days of romantic couple time. From the first moment we arrived through the last it was a wonderful experience. The private beach is incomparable: you feel like a celebrity (almost) on this secluded beach: perfectly white sand, amazingly clear azure water, your very own private coral reef for snorkeling: even saw a sea turtle whizzing past me on one occasion, never mind the many colorful fish and other sea creatures. The food was far better than expected and the owner, Andres and hotel manager were very kind and helpful. The rooms were meticulously cleaned every day and attention to small details (flowers on each table, delicious free snacks) made our stay very happy.

The place is not for people who expect getting the all-inclusive service of big resorts where they make sure you get your American food including French toasts, pancakes and meat at every meal. It is for people who love to enjoy a local flair in near luxury. I would go back in a heartbeat and for the money you pay (not the cheapest) you get a fantastic experience on all levels. And that includes the great massages by a sweet couple who really know their craft. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms in the main hotel. They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had an intimate wedding ceremony and stayed there for 2 nights. The location of the resort was great. It was so private that during the 3 days, we took a lot of pictures with only white sandy beach, blue sky and ocean as background, but without other people. The food in the restaurant was delicious. We had meals there everydays and didn't get bored of it. The staff were very helpful. They organised for us the Mayan wedding ceremony, dinner on the beach and many flower petals in our room. For the room, I would not say luxure. But I think it matches with the nature and that's how it should be as a beach front resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Whether you can afford the hotel or not, I encourage you to come by for an afternoon at the beach and restaurant. It's a great way to enjoy THE BEST beach in the area and not pay a room rate.

I went to the hotel for a friend's wedding and there couldn't have been a better setting. It was lovely and picturesque.

The service is attentive and the food tasty and medium-range priced, but the reason to visit is the beach. It's untouched and simply stunning. You'll be glad you went!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We're a family of 3 (mom, dad, teenage son) and we've been going to the Riviera Maya since 2005. We tried the big-all-inclusive-resort thing once and it wasn't for us; we prefer smaller properties with rooms big enough to spread out a bit. We're also a food-oriented family, so I was pretty excited about finding Al Cielo. I booked the 'Villa Atardecer' with the half-board plan (breakfast plus lunch or dinner) for 4 days and really expected us to fall in love with the property... but it didn't quite work out that way.

Villa Atardecer itself worked well for us. It has two generous rooms that would sleep four comfortably, with a king-sized bed in the bedroom and another room described as a 'sitting room' with twin and full-sized beds, built-in like day beds. Unlike the older beach-front rooms, the villas are concrete construction and have a cool, if spartan, feel. Ours also had a nice roof deck with a small plunge pool, covered sitting area with hammock, daybed and adirondack chairs. It was a great place to hang out for us. You get a glimpse of the ocean from the roof deck but most of the view is blocked by another villa building. Additionally, in back of the villa, accessed through the bedroom, is a sandy garden area edged by a cenote. I think we'd have utilized this area more if we'd had some lounge chairs; there was no seating provided in the garden.

The bathroom in the Villa was roomy with a large walk-in shower. The showerhead is installed in the ceiling to be a "rain shower" though it would be more effrective if they kept the showerhead clean from corrosion. I'm not sure where the hot water tank is but it took nearly 5 minutes before we got hot water in the shower... it made us feel guilty about wasting water.

The bed, pillows, linens, etc. were "OK". We weren't expecting luxury and were fine but if you're expecting mega-star high-thread-count accommodations, you'll be disappointed.

The sitting room has a ceiling fan and the bedroom has a/c. For nights when a/c is needed, you would need to keep the bedroom door open if you have people sleeping in the 'sitting room'. Something to keep in mind for hotter/less windy seasons with more than 2 people.

Al Cielo is NOT a low-budget property and to get the value out of their rates, you have to appreciate it's beach location. And the beach is beautiful. As a hotel guest, you're assigned a palapa on the beach for your stay... so no need to play the "lounge chair game".

Where we were really disappointed -- and this surprised us -- was the restaurant. First of all, the dinner menu we saw was very different from what is posted on their website. While I could understand this had we gone off-season, that wasn't the case and I felt a little deceived. Almost half of the main course items require 2 persons ordering the same thing -- not easy to arrange day after day. Non-seafood options are VERY limited -- only three main courses, to be exact. No pasta. No soups. No daily specials. And to top things off, they were out of at least half-a-dozen dishes on the menu every day. They had none of the crab dishes for our entire stay. No lobster, no sea bass, no stuffed peppers. One night, they didn't even have any single serving fish -- they had a lovely grouper for 2 but refused to serve it to me alone.

Breakfast was almost worse. The only offerings were egg dishes and chilaquiles. The only meat offered was bacon... which they were out of 2 out of 4 mornings we were there. No pancakes, no french toast, no waffles. The only bread we were served the entire 4 days was the same toasted sliced baguettes, for breakfast and dinner. (Where are all the great Mexican baked goods?) I'm normally a yogurt-granola-fruit eater, so I was OK but the guys struggled. The last two mornings, we just had coffee and fruit and then went out to breakfast again elsewhere because the guys were hungry.

Just to be clear, I think the restaurant is fine for one meal or one night's stay but it definitely didn't work for us for 4 days. We like seafood but I'm the only one happy to eat it EVERY day. My husband and son really struggled to find things they wanted to eat after a day or two, which they actually had in stock. After 4 days, I had two grouchy, hungry males on my hand.

Neither Olga or Andreas were around in the dining room at breakfast or dinner the enitre time we were there. (We only saw them when we checked in and then at check-out.) I don't know if it would have made a difference but our entire dining experience had a rather dismal feel and really affected our overall experience at Al Cielo.

Room Tip: If you're considering the half-board plan, I would ask to see the ACTUAL menu being served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Cielo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Cielo Hotel

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 118 | Solidaridad, Xpu-Ha 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Cielo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Cielo Hotel is situated on the beachfront of Xpu Ha and its one of the most secluded beaches in the riviera maya where you can sleep in heaven. Al Cielo Hotel is a beachfront petit hotel situated on the peaceful Xpu-Ha Beach, only 20 minutes drive North of Tulum and 20 minutes drive South of Playa del Carmen in Mexico's Riviera Maya. This charming beachfront resort, has four rustic elegantly designed rooms, named Water, Air, Earth and Fire. Four elements that combine to become a Caribbean elixir for your holidays in this secluded beach. Aswell as 2 amazing chic and romantic garden Villas named Atardecer and Girasol, designed specially for the confort and privacy of casual couples and families. If you feel like sleeping in heaven Master Suite La Mar is the perfect choice, situated for the complete exclusive feeling of bliss and peace in one of the last romantic places in Mexico. Try the relaxed atmosphere and privacy on the beachfront new Villa named Villa del Patron. Al Cielo can be one of the last places in the whole Riviera Maya where you can trully be away from crowds and feel yourself immeresed in a true mexican caribbean beach club experience. Al Cielo was created to express a fresh and exquisit feeling of relax and sensitivity, perfect for escaping from the rutine and enjoy true life changing experiences. Feel the bliss of our reef having a lobster dinner or a seafood paella as your feet are immersed in the white sand beach. Diving in the cenotes, swimming with turtles or fishing in the bay. You can always explore the Tulum Ruins, Coba Ruins and the Colonial Citys of Valladolid and Izamal. Guests will enjoy the services of massages, tours and more. The exclusivity of this place allows Al Cielo Hotel's staff to offer you personal attention always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Al Cielo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Cielo Xpuha
Hotel Al Cielo
Al Cielo Hotel Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Cielo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.