We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It all depends on what you are looking for.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 265, Xpuha 77710, Mexico (Formerly Xpu-Ha Palace)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Xpuha
San Diego, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It all depends on what you are looking for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have stayed at this location 4 times, twice when it was a Palace resort and twice since going under new management. IF you are looking for people then stay away from here. If you would like a resort for yourself then this is the place for you. No crowded buffet lines, no loud music at the pool, just peace and quiet. Staff is a little sparse but very friendly. Food is all cooked to order but limited menus. The rooms are very spacious as are the balconies. The resort is very spread out so you will be doing a lot of walking, if that is a problem this is not the resort for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    258
    115
    88
    87
See reviews for
183
303
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estes Park
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Although it did seem like a ghost town at times. Staff way outnumbered the guests at least while we were there and all were quite pleasant and helpful except the front desk. Our check in was reminiscent of a scene from Fawlty Towers. But the pool is incredible and the food just fine. We did not do all inclusive which I think was the better choice and we got a really good rate on Expedia, way less than the prices published on the hotel website so it was a good value for what we got. There are really good restaurants in Akumal and Tulum.

Internet spotty at times but room was fine.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the animal park are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The lack of people at this resort resounded in a deafening silence. When my family saw another person or more people, there was a small sense of relief as we felt we'd been bamboozled. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a cocktail. It was the only fresh mimosa we'd received the entire stay. We took the golf cart shuttle to the "main" restaurant while we waited for our room. We were the only people there. That was the case on most dining experiences. The food was extremely inconsistent in taste, temperature, and appearance. English is tolerated, however I had to rely on my limited 10th grade spanish class to get decent service. Service overall was not too bad. Everything on this resort requires transportation. Otherwise, you will walk at least 5 miles a day. Even the beach requires transportation to a corner of another beach with over priced jet skis. $60 for 30 min/$100 for an hour. Night life? What night life? There was an hour of music and movie trivia that engaged the other 8 people on the resort. Drinks were readily available but very weak even when asking for a double shot. Limited food hours further dampened the spirits of my party as the main restaurant and sushi bar closed at 10. The rooms are extremely outdated and all three rooms my family occupied had a foul smell. Killing cockroaches, ants and spiders became normal. The animals look depressed and hostile. The tiger constantly paces and bangs his head on the glass. No one enjoyed themselves and vowed to never return. The hour long ride to and from the airport didn't help.

Room Tip: 300/400 rooms were neutral for walking to restaurant or lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge R, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you very much for your feedback. As a representative of this hotel, I am concerned and worried to read that your stay wasn’t as you planned because as your hosts, our goal is to make your stay pleasant and warm.
However, it is important to say that we are not a hotel that offers party time. We are a family hotel and indeed all our activities we finish early because our concept is aimed at people who want to rest and relax in a natural environment.
It is for them that we also invite people to enjoy long walks around the nature and watching animals everywhere. Personally, I think that our distances are nothing long, about 10 minutes to everywhere. We even provide bicycles if they want to be transported by this means. We also have bell boy service if neither of these two options will suit you.
I understand that during your stay we probably have not had a high occupancy but never as a "ghost hotel". Most people decide to come in holiday season and we just finished Christmas vacation with a full occupation.
I appreciate your comments and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and change the erroneous image that was us.

Sincerely,

Jorge A. Rodriguez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Animals around the hotel were nice and the staff outside the front desk were great. Limited food choices, food is terrible, service very bad, food you get is not how it was described on menu. Rooms were unique but had a sewer like smell. Internet did not work for most part; moved us to another room finally after 3 days of saying it will be fixed in 20 minutes. Multiple items in room broke and had to call front desk for service. No activities or entertainment for the guests. Approx hour drive from the airport. Pool bar had the best food but was only available from 10-5. All-inclusive is very expensive for the quality of the food they provide. Will never go back or recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge R, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest:

Your comments mean a lot to us because they allow us to know what areas we need to improve. I appreciate your sincerity and have taken the time to describe each of the inconveniences you had during your stay as all the information that we share is our best tool to identify areas of opportunity that we must strengthen. Personally, I gave myself the task of reviewing each of the points shared kindly and measures to assure you that these incidents don’t happen again.
I’m so sorry that we haven’t met your expectations and hope to have the opportunity to change the bad image that we have caused.
If there is anything I can do please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

It will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Jorge A. Rodriguez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I thought I was getting a steal of a deal through LivingSocial on an all-inclusive resort in Mexico, but I should have known that if its too good to be true, its for a reason. First of all, expect at least a 45 minute drive from the airport. Then expect to wait a VERY long time to receive access to your room. (We waited almost 2 hours at the front lobby before we could get into our room.) The rooms are actually quite nice, cozy, and romantic. If you want a quite getaway to hide in your room for a trip, this is a nice place to do that. There is NO beach area. They have 2 restaurants on the entire resort with limited hours, and you either have to wait 20 minutes for the golf cart to pick you up and bring you to a restaurant or you can take the solid 10 minute walk on your own. The "zoo" on the resort is, in a word, heart-breaking. The look on the chimps face in that cage made me think he wanted a gun to end his misery. I would NOT recommend this resort to anyone. Oh, and if you do decide to go despite these words, I hope you can speak Spanish because the employees speak NO English. I know that statement seems asinine, but I've stayed in resorts that DEFINITELY cater to English speaking people and Bel Air Xpu Ha Riviera Maya is NOT one of them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with friends in December of 2011. We really enjoyed it; quiet place to stay, wifi so we could stay connected back home, and a huge jacuzzi in the bungalow room. The food options weren't that great; honestly, the pool bar food was by far the tastiest option. The restaurant wasn't very good at all. I would still stay here again, though. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the pool are much easier to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We actually expected more from this hotel since is part of the Bel Air Collections.

Room: Nice, comfortable, terrace with hamacas and have jacuzzis inside (good for romance).

All Inclusive: for an all inclusive experience go somewhere else. There´s no snack bar that is open 24 hrs. Your last chance to eat is 11pm. The bars are suppose to be open until 12 but from the 6 days we stayed only one they actually stayed open until 12. The service on the restaurant is really really really slow and food is not that good.

Installations: the hotel looks like it´s abandoned. like death. there´s no beach you have to take a van to go to a beach that is not that nice.

I suggest to stay on Barcelo, Iberostar or even on Palladium nice hotels with better amenities for the same price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with jacuzzi and close to the lobby bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 265, Xpuha 77710, Mexico (Formerly Xpu-Ha Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpuha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Xpuha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel Air Xpu-Ha is the newly open Resort of Bel Air Collection at Riviera Maya. Feel with your family the natural environment, the perfect place to rest and delight yourself. A unique place for a romance experience. Enjoy our facilities surrounded by natural beauty in an eco-paradise. A gourmet experience in each of our restaurants, from Mexican-Italian fusion cuisine to sushi & martini delightful Japanese style, all in a la carte menu selection. Premium brand drinks and appetizing snacks in our Bars at Lobby and pool area. A unique layout of a cozy and peaceful guestrooms in liberate getaway with all the luxury and comfort of a five stars resort, refurbished indoors with jacuzzi and branding amenities; a relaxed exterior and a spacious terrace with hammock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya Hotel Xpuha
Xpu Ha Palace Xpuha
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya Mexico - Xpuha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.