We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh! Quite average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 265, Xpuha 77710, Mexico (Formerly Xpu-Ha Palace)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Xpuha
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Meh! Quite average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We actually expected more from this hotel since is part of the Bel Air Collections.

Room: Nice, comfortable, terrace with hamacas and have jacuzzis inside (good for romance).

All Inclusive: for an all inclusive experience go somewhere else. There´s no snack bar that is open 24 hrs. Your last chance to eat is 11pm. The bars are suppose to be open until 12 but from the 6 days we stayed only one they actually stayed open until 12. The service on the restaurant is really really really slow and food is not that good.

Installations: the hotel looks like it´s abandoned. like death. there´s no beach you have to take a van to go to a beach that is not that nice.

I suggest to stay on Barcelo, Iberostar or even on Palladium nice hotels with better amenities for the same price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with jacuzzi and close to the lobby bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    258
    115
    88
    87
See reviews for
183
303
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Took a family trip Xpu-Ha Palace prior to the hurricane that devastated the area. What a wonderful place it was, the round bungalows were very spacious and comfortable. Cleaned daily and were a delight to see the towel animals on the beds. The grounds were outstanding with pathways through the estuary to get from place to place. Along the way you were lucky to see harmless wildlife. The lagoon was so much fun for the kids to snorkel in. The all-inclusive food and staff were good. I love how the décor was of the ancient culture. My favorite decoration was the center light piece that hung in the open lobby. Day trip to the ruins or cenote’s was a blast and the resort had on onsite car rental company for your convenience.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed during six days, and we did not had enough time to be able to enjoy all the activities offered by this great place. We have visited several times the Riviera Maya , because we really love the beach, but this trip changed our perspective of fun in this wonderful place. The theme is "The Forest", and it is decorated with a great zoo, with a huge variety of animals, where you can "coexist" with beautiful birds in an aviary, and other amazing species , also you have chance to see exotic wildlife animals, which are easily living in their habitat. And we saw animals that we do not even knew, that they existed.
In addition there is a "cenote" where you can ride a kayak, the water is very cold, but the experience is incomparable. Also there is a pools area where you can prostrate in their confortable beds, and you can relax after a walk along the hotel. Bel Air has an excellent service, all employees are always aware of what you need, and they are very friendly. From the hotel take you to a visit to a virgin beach where you can enjoy a view of the most spectacular late afternoon, and meet one of the most beautiful beaches of the world.
No doubt, we can highly recommended this awesom Hotel , which also, can offer a very good prices.

Room Tip: The "Villas" are very confortable and with great space, you can see the nature of the tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, Kentucky
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you like the jungle feel with critters running around, this place is for you. We loved it, but if you are squeamish about wild animals such as racoons, etc. then you will not be impressed because they come right up to the tables begging for food. We are farm oriented, so no problem for us, but others were not impressed. The food options were very lacking as there was only one buffet, a grill & sometimes the little restaurant on the beach was open in the evening. It was fine for us and we never went hungry. We found this great deal online & 5 of us got our flights, 7 nights, all-inclusive & transfers for around 5000, so was a good deal for a great vacation @ Riveria Maya, Mx. Beach is non-existing because it was all rocky! Had to walk down over rocks to adjoining resort where we (were not welcome ) to find sand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobleskill, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I had gone for our honeymoon. It was a warm welcome when we had arrived. They served us with mimosas and quickly loaded our luggage. Sadly we had gotten there at 1130pm and were still charged for a whole day for the all inclusive package. It was wonderful seeing the animals everyday and the friendly staff. I would say that the staff really makes the place what it is. The food however was the only downfall. The places were only open certain times and only had certain things. It was the same menu every night at the fancy restaurant and sometimes they didn't have what you wanted. Also room service was not included, and if you did have room service, it was from whatever was open and off of their menu. The beach is what it is. We had found out from Hector (who you MUST get to know there, along with his partner in crime, Lydia) that before the Hurricane the beach was swimmable, but they have a beach that they can shuttle you to which is beautiful!! The pools that they have compensate for the lack of swimmable beach front that they have. Tip for people going there-bring money for tips. Although it is all inclusive, the staff (most of them) go above and beyond to please you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is wonderful for kids of all ages, we went with 2 teenagers and 1 9year old and all of them had a blast. When you check in yes they are a little slow but your on Mexican time not American so relax. The pool is really nice and there is a kids area with some slides very clean and not crowded. The beach that you can walk to is nice but there is another one that is literally 5 min away and is very beautiful white sand good food. The beach that is close to the hotel is very rocky but my kids loved exploring. Lots of animals the kids also loved the adventure with them, Tecate the baby lion cub is so cute. The rooms were fine there is a jacuzzi in the room which is a nice touch. We all thought the food was excellent, there is a nice variety the kids ate really well and the service was good. The only thing that we did not like are the mosquitos you will get eaten alive if you do not have bug spray on!! For some reason the front lobby is really bad and they do not have bug spray for you. I am serious keep your bug spray in your back pocket and have it with you at all times. Would be nice if they would put some candles at the lobby to help with this problem. And finally please ask for Hector he picks you up in a shuttle and takes you to and from the pool, lobby etc. He is so friendly and is always asking you if everything is ok and will tell you great places where to go. He was very interested in pleasing all who came to that hotel!! So if you are looking for a 5 star hotel to just sit at beach and pool it is not for you. We liked it, it was different and quiet not a partying place! Remember your walking shoes, bug spray and to say hello to Hector he is a diamond in the rough!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 900 which was a little far from the pool and dining but I wanted quiet. So if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

we stayed for 4 days and it was a great experience, this is an Animal Park / Hotel; Lots of animals around, tigers, lions. crocodiles, turtles eta

The pool is amazing and it is very relaxing, the place in general is out of the ordinary; this place is incredible for kids and for the adventurous ones; lots of things to do inside the property lie kayak, snorkeling etc; they have a cenote inside the property (deep natural water pit) where a family of manatees swim around

They have a private beach that a shuttle takes you every 30 minutes, amazing beach with bar service and lots of beach activities to do (volleybal, jet ski, deep snorkeling, water boarding, fishing etc etc)

Price was excellent considering the place, we paid around $200 per night for 2 persons

Food is a la carte, it is very close to Xcaret and around 30 min away from Tulum ruins

So you will have a fantastic time; beds are super comfortable and all rooms (cabanas) have a huge Jacuzzi inside


Ask for Mr. Anwar the manager, excellent, friendly gentleman.

Room Tip: All rooms have AC, get the rooms close to the restaurant, they have golf carts that take you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge R, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped:

Agradezco mucho su confianza al haberse hospedado con nosotros y agradezco del mismo modo el tiempo dedicado a transmitir su vivencia a los demás viajeros mediante este medio. Saber que disfrutó de nuestro hotel, de nuestro concepto, de nuestras instalaciones, del servicio que le brindamos y de la maravillosa naturaleza que nos rodea, me llena de orgullo.

Nuevamente le agradezco el habernos permitido ser parte importante en su viaje a la Riviera Maya.

Será un placer atenderlo nuevamente.

Cordialmente,

Lic. Jorge Rodriguez A.
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 265, Xpuha 77710, Mexico (Formerly Xpu-Ha Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpuha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Xpuha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel Air Xpu-Ha is the newly open Resort of Bel Air Collection at Riviera Maya. Feel with your family the natural environment, the perfect place to rest and delight yourself. A unique place for a romance experience. Enjoy our facilities surrounded by natural beauty in an eco-paradise. A gourmet experience in each of our restaurants, from Mexican-Italian fusion cuisine to sushi & martini delightful Japanese style, all in a la carte menu selection. Premium brand drinks and appetizing snacks in our Bars at Lobby and pool area. A unique layout of a cozy and peaceful guestrooms in liberate getaway with all the luxury and comfort of a five stars resort, refurbished indoors with jacuzzi and branding amenities; a relaxed exterior and a spacious terrace with hammock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya Hotel Xpuha
Xpu Ha Palace Xpuha
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya Mexico - Xpuha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.