We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon of a Lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esencia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Esencia to your Saves list
Hotel Esencia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Tulum-Cancun KM 265, Xpu-Ha 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Wednesday's FREE in June!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Honeymoon of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent a lot of time choosing the Esencia as we wanted the perfect holiday and honeymoon. From a shortlist of three hotels on this cost (we visited the other 2 during out stay), we made the right choice.
Every detail has been considered and peace and relaxation are paramount.
From the fantasy island style arrival and transportation to your room, to the organic spa and beech cabanas are perfection personified.
We met Kevin, the owner during our stay and you can tell he has plans to keep improving the facilities, but to be honest it will be hard to improve.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I recently returned from a much needed mini vacation to celebrate our anniversary. Being that we could only get away for 4 days our goal was to relax,relax and relax some more.
Hotel Esencia absolutely blew us away. From the moment we stepped off the airplane until we were dropped off for our flight home, we did not have to worry about anything. This incredible hotel took care of everything. The thing about Esencia which elevates it to elite status is their attention to the little details. Some examples are
-the shampoos and soaps which are actually made on premises
-the iPod in the room with an unbelievable mix of deep house, soul, bossa nova and other tasty tunes.
-at arrival we realized that we forgot bug spray as we were led to our room. An hour later we found a brand new bottle wrapped in a flower outside our door.
-a week before arriving I received an email from the staff asking if we needed anything. I mentioned that my wife had some dietary restrictions. An hour later I received an email from the head chef to discuss and he assured me that she would be well taken care of. Really? That was just incredible.
-everyday we would come to the beach and pick out a private palapa(from the 15 or so they have), we would then get breakfast and arrive back to the palapa to find it fully set up with towels, tables and even magazines for my wife. If a towel got wet or dirty, it was replaced immediately. They really go above and beyond.
I could go on and on about these little details, these were merely a few of the many.
Besides these details, I have to say the location is phenomenal. Easily one of the nicest beaches I have ever seen and hardly anyone on it ever. The busiest day we were there was a Sunday and there might have been 30 people on the beach/in the palapas.
Above these other things, what really sets this place apart is the staff. They all take such pride in there work and genuinely want to help you. I have to mention Armando, Jesus and Jair in the restaurants. These 3 waited on us at all of our meals and within a day knew everything we liked and made sure my wife's dietary limitations were followed without us even mentioning them. I can't say enough about them as well as everyone else at the hotel.
Lastly, I have to say that an establishment is only as good as it's owner. The owner is the one that sets the tone and continually looks to improve his product. We had the pleasure of meeting Kevin, the owner, on our last night. He truly has a passion for the hotel and wants it to be the best. You can just tell by talking to him that this is only the beginning and he will continue to do whatever he can to perfect the Esencia experience.
I know this has been a long winded review, but I really cannot say enough about this place. We have been to many luxury resorts in some incredible locations and Hotel Esencia is easily our new favorite.
My wife and I are already trying to figure out when we can plan our next trip (this time with our children).
To Kevin and the rest of the staff, keep doing what you are doing. You have truly created a special place. See you soon!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Financee and I went there to celebrate our engagement, and we are thinking about going back for our honeymoon. Escencia was incredible. We're still deciding whether or not to tell all our friends cause it is such a gem, and we want to be able to go back ;). You'll love it if you enjoy incredible service, quality health food, quiet white sand beach with cabanas, spa, gym, yoga, comfy beds...I could go on and on. I'm seriously jealous if you just booked here. Take me with!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We returned to Esencia in late April. This is our second trip there this year. We were very excited to be able to return as we truly enjoyed our Nov. stay. As expected the trip was wonderful. The people, the room, the food, the service, the spa, the location, and the fantastic beach were once again perfect. It is expensive, but once you go, you do not care, you fall in love with this small, unique, one of a kind resort. Thank you to all of the wonderful employees and to Kevin, the owner. We are planning to return. If you go, you will return!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you like quiet, total privacy, impeccable accommodations and service, deliciously prepared healthy food in one of the most beautiful beach settings, this is the place. As soon as you arrive, you will feel the accumulated stress leave you. A truly wonderful place for body and soul.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully located. Some have a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my fourth trip to the Yucatan Peninsula but my first time at Hotel Esencia, though most certainly not my last. 8 nights of perfection, which started well before arrival thanks to the ease of booking and clear communication with the friendliest and most helpful hotel staff I've ever encountered. Esencia's accurate and whimsical website made the choices for accommodations simple and it lived up to the experience upon arrival through the final day of my stay.

Our room (Garden Suite) was HUGE and designed for welcoming comfort. Amply air-conditioned, along with 2 ceiling fans, a simple connection already had a happy, perfect "vacation" playlist being piped into the room (and into the huge bathroom) from the in-room iPod (which I was able to easily switch out with my iphone) in addition to there being a huge flat-screen TV, which could be viewed from the king bed, either of the two sofas, or even from the outdoor hammock (for 2!). Another notable addition in the room was the stocked refrigerator-sodas, juices, fresh organic milk-all available at no additional charge along with the Nespresso machine.

Entering the lux property is truly like finding an oasis of calm along the otherwise touristy stretch of highway from Cancun to Tulum. Consistent with the pre-arrival experience, the staff was warm, welcoming, friendly, always available but never pushy or in your face. Beautiful, natural grounds with lush and exotic vegetation surround you as you walk past ultra-private, separate suites, most with their own private plunge pools, and some even with their own large swimming pools. The only sounds throughout are those of the birds and the ocean, letting you know that you're someplace very special and "your own." Although the hotel was fully booked, it never felt crowded or overrun with others trying to occupy space I wanted for myself.

There are two large pools adjacent to the magnificent, private beach, one for kids and the other for the grown-ups. The beach has covered huts and uber-comfy padded teak lounge chairs and there was never an issue finding a great spot, and absolutely no need to "plan your morning" to get the "best" chair. Even fully booked, Esencia never felt crowded. Clean towels, snorkeling gear, body boards and food and drink are abundant all day long,and the hotel makes it clear that tipping is included in the booking, and still the staff seems only too happy to help, again, never pushy.

Upon awakening, there is fresh coffee and pastries delivered to your door but don't fill up on these treats or you might want to skip breakfast, served, like lunch and dinner (available throughout the day with no specific times and no need for reservations) at the beach side restaurant. A one hour, beachside yoga class, every morning at 8am is included with booking and is a very great start to the day.

I have to comment on the food: breakfast, lunch, and dinner each offer a vast and varied variety of local, authentic Mexican food (the BEST food I ate all week was at the hotel) along with more homey, comfort food available, including one of the best burgers I've had (on a home made bun!). On vacations like this I often leave the property to eat but here I chose to take most meals on the property because nowhere else could match the quality, authenticity, ambience and service. Definitely try the nachos with the home made tortillas.

Among the other guests I met during my stay, every one of them seemed thrilled with their rooms and the entire experience. One couple was there for their 5th time, another for their 3rd, and yet another was back for their second stay. I, for sure, will be returning as soon as possible.

I had one, wonderful massage in the organic spa, which was as excellent in its quality and ambience as all other experiences at Hotel Esencia.

A final word about the staff: I can't imagine how many people this hotel employes but there are clearly more staff than guests. Everyone from the concierge to the housekeeper was lovely, friendly, and seemed sincerely happy to make sure you have what you want.

This is the hotel where you want to stay and return as often as possible.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I have stayed in many beach hotels around the world (Thailand, Bali, Zanzibar) and Hotel Esencia on the Riviera Maya undoubtedly qualifies as "paradise." The owner, Kevin, greets all the guests individually and will make sure all your needs are met. The poolside meals are relaxing and delicious. There's even a neat lookout point to sip cocktails and people watch at sunset. Thanks for having us, Hotel Esencia. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Esencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esencia

Address: Carretera Tulum-Cancun KM 265, Xpu-Ha 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Esencia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Esencia is a 50-acre private estate, with an awe-inspiring beachfront, two swimming pools, day spa, two restaurants, and an indulgent atmosphere fitting of royalty. In fact, the property and many of the buildings once served as the exclusive beach-side retreat of an Italian duchess. Though friendly, warm and generous, the duchess demands the very best and Esencia still benefits from her superior taste, her impeccable style and her zest for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Esencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esencia Playa Del Carmen
Esencia Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Esencia Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Esencia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.