We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most incredible honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Royal Tulum to your Saves list
Catalonia Royal Tulum
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpu-Ha 77790, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Springfield, MA
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The most incredible honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We do not know where to begin. Hotel Catalonia was the most beautiful, romantic place we have ever been. To start our visit there we were welcomed by the front desk staff with hot towels and glass of fruity wine, which was really good. They were very quick with the check-in process and the bell boy brought our luggage right up to our rooms even before we got there. The room was big. Nice comfortable king size bed, with refrigerator, TV, and safe box. Everything was marble including the whole bathroom with a big walk-in shower which the water pressure was great. They had chocolate covered strawberries with champagne waiting for us knowing that we were on our honeymoon. Every night we would come back to our room with the bed turned down with chocolate pieces on our bed. We thought that was a great touch. The refrigerator was stocked everyday with water, soda, beer, and snacks.

Now to start with the beach. It was fantastic. We were down there every morning around 8AM due to we are early risers. Had no problems getting chairs or towels. Even later in the day there were plenty of chairs left for everyone. We would have breakfast and lunch everyday at La Palapa in which the breakfast portion was actually at the Tequila bar. Pedro, the best waiter ever, always had the best table waiting for us and he knew exactly what we wanted every day. He was awesome! The lunch was a buffet style with different variety everyday which was always hot and good. Again Pedro was always right there for us. There were daily activities at the pool. Martin, Jose, and Sylvia were the activity directors and they were great. Always trying to get people involved in the fun. They were very outgoing and fun to be with. The pool was huge. If you get the chance sit in the middle were the fountain is you will get a wonderful massage on your back! Talking about massages. If you get the chance get one from Algeria Spa by Oscar. He gives fantastic massages. He does a wonderful job.

Our first night there we went to Tapas Restaurant which was fantastic. That is were we met Raul the bartender of the Martini Bar and Las Margarita Bar. He was wonderful. Always smiling and very friendly. Him and Victor were awesome. We tried every restaurant there and Tapas was the best. You get very small portions so make sure you order alot. Try the scallop and grouper skewers. They are great!! Don't be afraid to order as much as you want because they are happy to provide it to you. But don't get us wrong. Every restaurant there was great but Tapas was our favorite. La Selva, Toscana, Centenario, and Royal Grill all served 4 course meals in which you were lucky to even make it to dessert. We made it once! The food was fantastic no matter what time of day you ate and we never had to make reservations. Only once we had to wait 20 minutes but we sat at the bar being serenade by a trio of musicians (sorry can't remember the group name) and had a few cocktails.

All of the staff were very friendly. Just remember to tip them. They live for the tips you give them. They deserve it too. Also the only two bad things I can say about it is if you are on the beach or by the pool and you want a drink right away it does take the them a little while for them to come by and take your order and return with it. So if you are in a hurry we recommend that you get it yourself. Also, bring bug spray with you for in the evenings the mosquitos do come out. The items in the gift shop are a little bit more pricey then if you purchase it at home.

Again we would recommend Hotel Catalonia to everyone. We intend to go back many more times.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,247
    1,160
    317
    112
    40
See reviews for
256
2,913
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed at CRT for 7 days. We had a really good time. We have been to quite a few other resorts in Mexico and would probably go back to one of them before this one though.
The beach was absolutely gorgeous. The sand was smooth, the water clear. We never had a problem finding beach chairs. There were always fish swimming along with us in the ocean. It was amazing. The staff was all really friendly. Paulina was favorite bartender. She was amazing. We went to the pool a couple times, it was really nice but it was sometimes hard to find a chair there. The room was normal for a resort but we weren't in it a whole lot so I didn't care what it looked like really. There were A LOT of bugs. We got hundreds of bug bites. A lot welts from the bites, and this was even with bug spray. Being in Mexico we knew to bring bug spray, but this resort had a lot of standing water so I think this may be why there were so many. We went through a can in the week. We couldn't spray our room door on the last day and woke up with beetles and a spider in the room. My biggest complaint was the dinner selection. There are 5 restaurants but they do not have them all open every night. Lunch and breakfast there was always a good selection, I recommend eating a very late lunch unless you are okay with eating the same stuff over and over for dinner. None of the dinners are buffet. The disco was pretty fun. They had pool tables, spinning chairs.... we had fun. The front desk was never able to change out money. Normally they can break at least a $20, but not at this resort, they never had change. We even said we would take it in pesos and they still couldn't change it. We traveled through Apple Vacations, we have gone with them a few times and never had a problem. This time though, I'm pretty sure our rep at the hotel hated his job. He wasn't always there during posted hours and he never smiled. So overall, it was an okay trip. I will probably never go back to this resort but not because of the staff or the beach, I just wasn't a fan of the extra bugs and the food selection. If you are okay with food and bring bug spray though, you will really love this place. The staff is amazing and the beach was the best we have been to.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

This was our first trip to an All Inclusive resort. We picked Catalonia Royal Tulum (CRT) based on recommendations from a co-worker and a lot of time spent researching online. We felt that CRT offered most of the things we wanted for the best price. We were also looking for an adults only resort. We traveled with another couple, so there was a total of 4 going.

Upon arrival we knew we picked the right resort. There was another couple in our transfer and they picked a more expensive resort in Puerto Adventuras and they were amazed at how nice the lobby of CRT looked. The front desk staff checked us in and Yolonda came out to greet us (we had sent her an email requesting room types, etc). They offered us cool towels and drinks to welcome us. One of our rooms was not ready but the other was, they let us check in to the room early so we could get changed and have some lunch and start swimming. We found the room, and quickly changed to our suits and made our way to the beach. The stone walkway was awesome and we met many iguanas along the way. We made it to the pool and we were surprised by how big the pool was. We had seen a number of pictures online of the resort but the photos do not do the size of the pool justice. The beach was awesome, there was always a breeze so it never got too hot.

The first two days we were there the resort seemed EMPTY. The pool was not croweded and there were plenty of chairs on the beach. We did not have issues finding our spot on the beach. We got lucky with the weather, it was hot, but rained each day. The rains would come in from the ocean fast, and they moved out fast. When it would start raining we would run for the bar and have a few drinks to pass the time, and meet new friends. From our arrival we knew the staff would be one of the highlights of the stay. Each member of staff had a warm smile and a "Hola" or "Hello". They all were happy and welcoming. They work their hearts out serving, and they deserve every tip they get!

ROOM - Our room was not an updated room, but it was more than fine. I think you could fit 10 people in our shower. Also our room 4205, did not have the key card thing on the wall to keep the lights on. I looked for it for 5 minutes thinking the lights would not work without it, then my wife started flipping light switches and they started working. Our friends had an "old style" room as well. They did have an issue with the AC kicking a breaker when it came on. The maitenance staff came to the rescue and got things worked out in a jiffy.

FOOD - Quality and quantity was great. We did have a few dissapointments though. We were really looking forward to the Tapas resturant but since it rained each day they did not open the Tapas resturand for dinner our entire stay. This is not CRT's fault, dang Mother Nature! Also the Mexican resturant was closed 3 of our 4 nights for "repairs". They moved it to the Palapa our last night so we did get to eat there. Since they moved it I think the staff was unfamiliar with the kitchen because our dinner took 2.5 hrs from sitting down to dessert. This wasn't a huge deal to us, but some tables were getting upset. The Steakhouse was our favorite, and the Flank Steak was my favorite.

DRINKS - Some bartenders made drinks stronger than others, but over all we could not complain about quality. They were so good infact, that one of our group had too much fun one day and had a rough night praying to the porcelean god. The staff was always accomadating to make drinks including my wife's request for cappucino with Bailey's and Coconut Rum.

STAFF - The staff is awesome at this resort, they were always friendly and would talk to you. They never ignored us. They are ALWAYS cleaning. Sweeping the walkways, cleaning the walls, etc. Their pride showed through!

BEACH - AMAZING!! Great sand, nice chairs, AWESOME staff taking your drink orders. Beatrice is an angel!

Our first night we were in the lobby after dinner looking at the items the locals were selling and the power went out. NO LIGHTS at all! Kinda freaky. They came back on after a few minutes, no big deal. We then went to the pool area and again NO LIGHTS, but they came back on quickly. Be sure to take a small flashlight incase that happens, plus you can use it to read the menus.

Overall a great stay at a great resort!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We had a great time and hated to leave the resort. It had everything needed for our 5 day getaway. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Daily houskeeping was excellent, never a roblem with towels or bottled water. You will get some exercise walking to/from the beach or lobby. We were in the middle building on 3rd floor so we had some stair climbing as well. Really liked having the beach, pool and hot tubs all close. We would go from one to the other, have lunch, get drinks, repeat...!

All in all it was a great place to spend time. Service and Staff were great. I would highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

First I'd like to say that everyone is entitled to their opinions, but some people are so stuck up and up tight. All the bad reviews just show that people can't learn to let the little things go when in paradise, nothing is perfect !!!
If you are a normal, down to earth, fun loving person than CRT is the place for you.
I went with my husband,sister and friend. We searching online for several months to find just the right all inclusive for all of us. When we found CRT we knew it was right and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, our rooms were ready and were next to each other as requested.
The rooms were very clean and the staff fully explained how everything worked and what was available in our room. We never had a bug in our room but did see them around, after all it is their habitat and does not mean the resort is dirty or unkept. The beach can't be beat, there's not a rock in view and the sand is soft and clear of any debris. We specifically searched through photos on TA of beaches at resorts throughout the Caribbean. The view is spectacular, you won't be disappointed in it. As far as beach chairs go, we never once had a problem finding one because we arrived at the beach at a normal time between 8-9am. I think even if we had not found a chair, I would of had no problem laying my towel on the sand. The entertainment staff are great, they are friendly and full of energy, but not pushy about participation. Our meals were good, there are many choices on each menu, along with appetizers and desserts, the breakfast buffet was by far the best especially if you are breakfast lover, if you prefer something light, toast and fruit are offered by the beach bar or room service is available 24/7. I also enjoyed the lunch buffet, there was so much to choose from and changed daily. The beach bar was our bar of choice in the evenings, it was to be near the ocean and in open air. We went to the disco on karaoke night and had a blast dancing the nigh away, the drinks flowed that night.
The whole feeling of the resort is very natural and lush, you feel like you are in the jungle and there is so much nature around you, iguanas are everywhere but are so laid back, bring them some fruit, they will appreciate it. There is so much more I can say, feel free to email me for more info. We just planned a sister trip for this September, we could not pass up the great price for such a great resort. Remember, nothing is perfect but it sure comes close.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We just returned from a week stay at the Hotel Catalonia Royal Tulum. We had orginally reserved the Catalonia Maroma, but (as happens often) or room was not ready and we were offered an upgrade to the Royal Tulum due to overbooking. SInce we were travelling without children and noted several younger famlies at the Maroma...we accepted and were soon on our way to the Royal Tulum. What a fortunate turn of events!
We first noted that the RT was much closer to the highway and that caused some worry ...but proved to be totally unwarranted as we found that the rooms were actually isolated from any noise (other than tree frogs) by the design of the grounds. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and were quickly shown to our rooms which were ready upon arrival and after a welcome drink. The rooms may not have been remarkable on first glance, but they are VERY clean and kept almost new by the cleaning staff...the bathroom was absolutely spotless and we were very impressed with the spacious shower and amenities.
Some reviews have mentioned the meals as being just OK...but I enjoy food and never had even a mediocre meal...including the pizza at the pool and late-night room service!
Bar service was quick, quite friendly, and the staff were happy to mix anything we asked for or to try new concoctions on request. ( We consumed enough Don Julio Anejo to impact their profit margins)...but they never shirked our requests or acted impatient. Cudos to everyone with the pool staff...and we highly suggest taking an insulated cup along - but the drinks are served in regular-size bar glasses....and as often as you wish.
The coffee is very good and be sure to try the breakfast specialties! We had plenty of bottled water replenished every day, but I used the ice with no problem. They stocked our fridge over-full without being asked either!
For the adventurous who want to go to Playa Del Carmen...ask at the Front desk about the "Collectivo" and save about $40 cab fare :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We got back Saturday after 4 days at Catalonia Royal Tulum. If you are looking for a place to relax, this is it.
Overall – excellent. The lobby is great, but they do need to fix the fountain in the lobby. Moving water cuts down on the mosquitoes. Check in was smooth. Our room was ready even though we arrived at 1130 am. The resort is cut out of a jungle. There are bugs, iguanas, snakes, lizards, frogs, etc. Squeals and shrieks and few cuss words are usually heard when walking on the path to the beach and back. Watch where you are going and carry a small flash light.
Rooms – ours was a standard room #1106 which is the first building to left after leaving the lobby and crossing the cenote. We were on the second floor, with the balcony facing the walkway. However the jungle was so thick that you could see the walkway from it. I read on the balcony each morning and it felt like I was alone in the jungle. The AC worked fine and the fridge was kept stocked. We left a note for the night maid for more shampoo and it was there after dinner.
Bars – no problems – try the pipino margarita at the lobby bar. Blanca on the beach came by every 30 minutes or so the refresh your drink. Raul in the lobby made a mean martini.
Food – the breakfast and lunch buffet were fine- nothing special. The seafood pizza at the grill was great except the octopus tentacles grossed my wife out. The carne asada (they call it something different) at the Mexican restaurant was some of the best I have ever had. The steaks at the grill were like golden corral steaks, good for Mexico but don’t expect steak like a high dollar steak house. The Italian restaurant was lacking, the appetizers and pasta were good but the grouper was tough as a boot and the Italian meat loaf was just bad.
Entertainment – the pool party was fun. The staff did a good job during the day. We didn’t go to any of the shows. We wiped down with Deep Woods off wipes every night and did not have a problem with bugs.
Beach – Lots of sea, sand and palm trees. We never had a problem finding chairs in the sun or shade. Maroma beach is better but not by much. Wednesday night after dinner we went for a walk on the beach and saw a female sea turtle laying eggs. Very cool. The next morning the nest was rope off with yellow tape and dated. The resort is part of a sea turtle conservation effort and they check the beach night for new nests and make sure the nests are protected. If you are there in Oct, your should be able to see the turtles hatch out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Royal Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Tulum

Address: Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpu-Ha 77790, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Royal Tulum 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only all-inclusive resort, located in Xpu-Ha, Riviera Maya, on the Caribbean coastline. It is surrounded by native jungle trees, local plants, mangroves and cenotes - water springs where a diverse variety of flora and fauna can be found in an unspoiled habitat. It is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Catalonia Royal Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Tulum Xpuha
Riviera Maya Copacabana
Copacabana Riviera Maya
Catalonia Royal Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Royal Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.