We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Royal Tulum to your Saves list
Catalonia Royal Tulum
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpu-Ha 77790, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Berlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This was our third time at the Catalonia Royal Tulum. I usually give 5 stars, but this time there was differences in the resort, not to my liking: Time Share Sales and Lack of food choices on buffet.
Pros: Recreation Activity Team (this is also includes Vera Club) Rosa, she is full of sunshine and happiness. The team has so many activities for each and everyday.
Bartenders and Waitresses on the beach, excellent drinks and service.
Juice Bar: The regular juicer, who has been there for years, excellent.
Waiters and Waitresses: The treat you like Royality.
Concierge: Fernando, what a great guy, he talked my wife and I into taking our daughter to the Catalonia Playa Maroma in August for a return trip, good sales job. :-)
Grounds: Excellent, beautiful, and clean
Beach: Perfection!
Rooms: Clean and great

Cons: Timeshare Sales: Why?! The place is always pack.
Buffet choices: The choices the past two years were huge and excellent. This year, less choices and not up to par.

Will I go back, probably YES!

Room Tip: It depends. I like quiet, so we get the building 4. If you don't like to walk, get building 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,414
    1,237
    339
    118
    41
See reviews for
283
3,131
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We recently got married (a week ago). Came down to CRT to celebrate our honeymoon. It was truly the best of both worlds for us. On one hand we had a jungle feel to it and then the beach and rest of the amenities were great. The music was a bit outdated. (I'll make sure I bring some music for the staff next time, lol). We enjoyed the food, the pool area, the beach and the attention that was given to us. We also became Club members and would like to thank "Edson" for his attention and helping us become Exclusive Members so that we can continue our yearly vacation plans each year. Great Job Edson!! We were in love with the hotel and we are already planning a vacation again for this year in December. Can't wait!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My thoughts on CRT:

- If you are english speaking you will be the minority, this resort largely caters to Italians. We had no problem with this, but I feel its worth mentioning as the staff's English can sometimes be weak and entertainment and activities are largely conducted in Italian. This did not effect my rating just a tip to other travelers.
-Food is mediocre. The buffets seemed pretty stale, the restaurants with menus were better but slow service, small portions and long waits. Only exception to this is avoid the breakfast menu, that food was terrible, stick with the buffet. The best meal we had was the romantic beach dinner, which costs extra, that was actually really good. Beyond that try the tapas or the asian place were our favorties.
-drinks were up to par with an all inclusive of this price range. Nothing too fresh mostly syrupy mixers and domestic alcohol. The bar tenders were happy to make double strong drinks, give you two at a time, and even add shots to smoothies from the smoothie bar or sodas from your mini bar if you prefer. They do have drink service at the pool and beach but we found it was too slow most of the time, don't expect them to come around more than 2 times in day even with tipping.
-Service was generally kind of slow, from check in to check out, dinner, and assistance with our room everything moved at a glacial pace. This was especially frustrating the three(!) times we had problems with our room, eating up a large portion of our beach time.
-amenities were good, the pool is spacious, and they have two ambient temp soaking pools overlooking the beach. The pool chairs were very nice and comfortable and plentiful. The beach chairs fill up fast and good shade too. So snag a spot early if you can. The water activities offered (kayak, catamaran, snorkeling) were actually pretty good and each guest is allotted 1 hour per day. You can see some decent stuff snorkeling in that time as there are some small active reefs just off the beach.
-beach was great, probably best thing the resort has. The water is very clear and beautiful shades of blue and green. The sand is very soft and smooth. Very few rocks. They have bouys marking off a swim area but many venture off the sides of it too, just be careful of the nearby water sports.
-rooms are hit or miss. we had quite a bit of trouble with ours; our keys, safe, hairdryer, and toilet all failed us at certain times. The big one was water came leaking through our ceiling and the staff acted like this was pretty routine and normal. I'm talking about a large amount of water here too. I had to request to moved to another room (they seemed surprised for some reason i didn't want a room with an inch of water on the floor??). This is a big problem too as I mentioned it took a long time to get help from the staff and wasted a large portion of our trip. So much so that we decided to just live with the minor stuff rather than waste time trying to get it fixed. All the rooms are really far from the beach (the lot is very long and skinny with just a slice of beach at the end, although very nice beach).
-the grounds of the hotel were kept pretty well for its age. there is a nice jungle with friendly wildlife (little racoon things, lizards, iguanas, tons of birds, and we saw some other weird piglet type thing) which make the walk kind of enjoyable. This could be a marjor problem for people who have mobility limitations. The big problem with the grounds is their pool and beachside bathrooms, these were never well stocked and ran out of hand towels etc at the start of the day and NEVER refreshed. Same with a lot of the restaurant and lobby bathrooms.
- staff was pretty friendly and helpful but a lot of stuff seemed understaffed as well. When i finally complained about all the problems we had with our room and especially the water leak the manager did give us a free romantic beach dinner which was nice but he also wasn't very forthcoming with solutions or compensation I have come to expect from most hotels.

bottom line CRT was pretty average, we have stayed at nicer all inclusive resorts in mexico and would choose them or try a new one over this one. Come here for the nice beach and maybe for value.

Room Tip: all the rooms seem about the same but it is considered an upgrade to be closer to the beach/pool, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week towards the end of July, to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We enjoyed it very much.
The staff are amazing always helpful and smiling. The food was ok at the buffet but the best in my opinion was the Tao Cat- Asian restaurant. The food was so good there we went twice!
The beach is the most amazing part of this resort, white sand and beautiful blue water that is so warm it's like your bath tub. The waves were very strong at times and this was difficult for me as I have bad knees... And the walk to the beach although beautiful was also difficult at times.
The walk to beach often meant seeing Coatis and iguanas.
We would return to this resort in a heartbeat.
As others have stated watch out for the vacation club people! Just say NO!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have been to Riviera Maya for the third time. We happily chose the Catalonia Royal Tulum (CTR). This hotel is our Best Resort Ever. If you are looking for a relaxing resort, no kids, great food, best beach on Riviera Maya, this is it. Let me tell you why we loved this resort and plan on coming back:

Staff
The staff are all great and they are all smiles with guests. Everywhere we went on the site we were always greeted by friendly staff with the extra effort to greet us both in Spanish as well as our native language. The hotel grounds and beach are perfectly manicured. The hotel is run quite efficiently. You never have to wait more than five minutes for the bellboy to either deliver or pick up your luggage. We had difficulty with our room keys upon arrival and they took care of it immediately.

Beach
This is the most beautiful beach we have ever been to. The Xpu Ha beach has nothing to envy beaches of Cuba, Saint-Martin or even Meagan’s Bay in St. Thomas. The beach is approximately 1.5 km long and the CRT is the only « large » hotel (288 rooms) on that beach. When walking the beach on either side of the hotel, you will find two or three other abandoned hotels on the beach (vestiges from past hurricanes) and also very small hotels such as the Al Cielo as well as a beach club. The nice thing about this beach is that you can snorkel and see lots of fish, there is a coral reef right in front of the hotel. You will find people reserving lounge chairs by pool or beach. We never reserved chairs and always found a place in the shade, at least at the time of year we went.

Pool area
The pool is exquisit. The chairs are very comfortable. There are two jacuzzi, one warm and the other at ambient temparature (cooler than the pool). The activities team are very polite and far from pushy, they ensure you are included in activities you may wish to participate in.

Food
The breakfast and dinner buffet were okay and found lots of choices. The lunch buffet, which is located near pool and beach was the very best we have ever had. There were lots of fresh and healthy choices. The « à la carte » restaurants were also very good. The steakhouse is very nice just as the Italian and Spanish as well. We really ate healthy at this resort.

On-site dive shop
We went on two dives with the ProDive team and they are magnificent. Ask for Laura as your instructor. They are also responsible for lending the snorkling material as well as kayaks. You can also book snorkling excursions with them too.

Other
There are lots of guests from Italy as the resort is part of Veraclub resorts. We have met people from all over the world and this makes for a very diverse resort, we just loved the place. We were not sollicited with timeshare sales people; we saw some of them but they were not after us. Upon check in they proposed an upgrade for $25 per person per day which we found the value to be somewhat poor. The only added benefit of people who upgrade was possibility to have breakfast by the pool and ocean. All rooms are equal. There are no ocean-front or ocean-view rooms. Rooms located on third floor mostlikely have a better view as the vegetation does not quite reach that high. We were in building 3 (out of 6 in total) and next time we will ask for a room on the third level. Going to Playa del Carmen is also easy, for reference, a taxi costs $50 for return trip (driver usually waits for you). They have a fresh juice bar on the beach which is popular in the morning. Getting coffee (awsome lattes) or drinks at the beach is easy and you never have to wait.

Room Tip: Third floor roomas may have better view as vegetation does not reach that high. Any building is fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife and a few friends stayed here in early June. This is our first time here, but not our first time for the Riviera Maya area. The Hotel is as nice as there are in the area. The restaurants (about 5) are above average and don't require a dress code though I did dress up on some nights. There isn't a 24hr snack shop, but you can order room service 24 hrs a day, which we did not take advantage of. The Hotel grounds are a jungle which 'made us feel closer to nature' Due to the lay out of the buldings, there are no rooms with an Ocean views. So getting to the beach was a 5 minute walk each time. But I was real happy that we ddin't have to get toe the pool/beach early to get a decent spot. I was also dissapointed that there wasn't a swim up bar. Getting out of the water to get my drink was a hassle (it's not easy being me). The previous resort we stayed at had a man made reef which blocked all of the waves. This made it possible to see the fish in the clear water. The beach in this resport had quie a few waves which a lot of people like and had fun with, but not for me. But the best part of this Hotel..... No kids!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romulus, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I went for four nights in June for my 40th birthday. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were in total paradise. The rooms were very clean and at times we would return to it and there would be a pretty towel animal on the bed. The pool area was are hangout. There where enough huts for everyone to lay under and plenty of lounge chairs available, so no worries about the great towel save a chair race. Every morning when we would arrive to our pool spot my husband would go over to the bar and give them a $5 and the bartenders took care of us all day. They even took the time to learn our names. The beach was the BEST beach I have ever been too. The water was so clear and turquoise and warm. No seaweed and very private. You can walk in either direction for about a mile and there are no other resorts.
Food: Bloody Mary's at the morning buffet are delicious ! The best place for lunch is the out door lunch grill by the pool bar. The wings where so good!!! Our favorite place to eat dinner was the steak house...Mmm the flank steak was Amazing.
My only complaints are these(otherwise I would rate this a 5 star).The dinner buffet was not good in our eyes. It was geared for the European taste and very limited for options. And the "vacation club" at the main entrance was very annoying. We learned from other reviews to avoid them and I second that. They will try to give you a tour. Don't do it unless you want to waist at least a hour of your vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are above the tree line, so unless you like little animals climbing on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xpu-Ha
2.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
6.9 mi away
Al Cielo Hotel
Al Cielo Hotel
#1 of 4 in Xpu-Ha
5.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
9.7 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#13 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 4,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
2.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Tulum

Address: Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpu-Ha 77790, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#3 Spa Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Xpu-Ha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Royal Tulum 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only all-inclusive resort, located in Xpu-Ha, Riviera Maya, on the Caribbean coastline. It is surrounded by native jungle trees, local plants, mangroves and cenotes - water springs where a diverse variety of flora and fauna can be found in an unspoiled habitat. It is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Catalonia Royal Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Tulum Xpuha
Riviera Maya Copacabana
Copacabana Riviera Maya
Catalonia Royal Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Royal Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.