We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Catalonia Royal Tulum to your Saves list
Catalonia Royal Tulum
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpuha 77790, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Xpuha
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was our second trip to the Tulum area but first time at Catalonia. We loved every minute of it and would definitely go back! The staff was fantastic and took great care of us, especially Raul & Carlos. There was plenty to do at the resort from the pool, hot tubs, beach, ping pong tables, gym, spa, theater, disco, etc. To me this seemed to be more of a relaxing, peaceful resort rather than a party atmosphere, which is exactly what we wanted.

There were mostly Europeans at the resort, especially Italians, but everyone was very friendly. Even the event staff was mostly Italian! I loved that it seemed to be health focused with two fitness classes a day (aqua gym, yoga, step class, etc), a smoothie bar and relatively healthy food options. The food overall was pretty good and there were plenty of restaurants to choose from so you don't get sick of the food. Our only bad experience was at the Tapas restaurant because we felt rushed by the server, but the atmosphere of that restaurant is pretty cool.

You get plenty of walking in at this resort as well because it is far from the lobby to the beach but that was not a problem for us. I enjoyed the extra exercise because of all the food we ate! The beach itself is very well-kept and there are plenty of chairs to choose from. However we were there during a busy time and you would have to get out there early to grab one! Lots of hammocks to relax in as well.

Overall, I highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a peaceful getaway!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,016
    1,005
    259
    94
    32
See reviews for
226
2,559
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Found this little gem and trust me it is. We spent 2 weeks coming home on Boxing day and wished we didnt have to come back. From the checking to the time of leaving there were no problems at all. Mind you we had a few doubts if we had done right as it rained for a day and a half, and when it rained hell did it rain and it was cold. But on the third day it was brilliant sunshine which lasted for the rest of the holiday. Restaurants are amazing, all 6 of them although we did not try them all. We stayed by the freshwater pool as the beds on the beach soon filled up. The service everywhere was good although the alcohol seem a bit weak and they did not seem to want to give you large measures. This did not worry me as we do not go away to get drunk. Hotel grounds as vast with plenty of walking areas to work off the large and tasty food. All in all its an amazing hotel just nice for a bit of relax. We have always said that we would not go back to the same hotel but I think we will be breaking that rule.

If you are thinking of booking here DONT EVEN HESITATE, JUST DO IT.

THANKS to everyone at the resort for making it a wonderful break and see you all soon.

PS. the towel game is still played so if you want a decent place get up early. We had our towels out about 5.30 and found people there already !!!!!!!. But that was no hardship as my wife did it, lol, but I had the coffee and tea ready, thanks to room service.

Room Tip: Not sure as they all looked good. Only 6 blocks so not far from anywhere. WE stayed in block 3 which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were here in October for 10 nights. We are planning to go back in October 2014. That in itself should be the review. We love the beach - nothing around you. Very quiet, no blaring music or screaming kids.

The room was clean, towells were thick. Armondo was our waiter every morning for breakfast. We never had to wait for coffee or water. He was on top of everything. We never had our dishes pile up at any of the restaurants. Very hard working people. Pleasant people.

Aerobics in the sea - did that almost every day. My husband used the gym.

We went to Coba and a Mayan lunch one day. I encourage the trip. Our tour guy was very knowledgeable. We booked through Apple.

I only wish they provided a better beer in the mini-fridge. We bought our own Tecate Lights before arriving at the resort. Sol, Dos Equi, Tecate - please!!

We ate in the steakhouse three times. Once in the Mexican, but wish we would have eaten there more. The buffet always had something we liked. It was convenient and quick.

We met some nice people on this trip. We are still in touch with two from Germany and may visit this country based on our meeting.

See you October, Catalonia!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannock
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited here the first 2 weeks of December.
I wouldn't say there was anything amazing about the hotel, I feel we got what we paid for.
The food was nice enough, but we found it to be quite bland. But it was replaced regularly and seemed to be well cooked, neither of us had upset tummies. The best selection was at breakfast time. It was also nice that you could choose to eat at the buffet or at any of the A La Carte restaurants which were all part of the All Inclusive. We did find that we had to queue at the restaurants several times including the buffet restaurant but this would only be for a few minutes.
The rooms were nice, they were large and clean, the shower was massive.
It has been suggested that the staff favour the Italians but we never saw this, and I wouldn't know what advantage it would be to the hotel if this were true. The Italians do tend to smoke a lot but this was never a problem either.
The beach was really nice, although you couldn't walk that far before coming to rocks.
We did venture out a few times, you can get a 'Collectivo' at the hotel entrance, this was very convenient, safe and cheap, and recommended.
The entertainment we found to be very poor, the worst we have ever experienced, and we have stayed at much cheaper hotels than this one which is a big shame.
The staff were always polite and helpful, we do try to speak as much Spanish as possible as we are in a Spanish speaking country, but they could all speak English in any case.
The Coatis were the best entertainment while walking through the hotel grounds, we did however find the wooden bridges to be slippy after it had rained, the boards could do with being replaced with none slip ones as they were quite dangerous.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have visited Catalonia Royal Tulum 5 times and we love it. This is a smaller resort intended to be peaceful with a beautiful layout. The Xpuha beach is beautiful and nice and quiet. There's not a lot of other resorts on that beach so it's quiet which is what we enjoy. The resort and rooms are always clean. The staff are wonderful - they go out of their way to make sure that you enjoy your stay. We've always found the food to be delicious with a lot of selection including a la carte restaurants for dinner. We highly recommend upgrading to a deluxe or honeymoon package after arriving at the front desk - they offer a valuable package of extras to indulge you on your vacation! We plan to continue to return for another relaxing and stress-free holiday next year.

Room Tip: honeymoon room is awesome with great perks - loved it...we upgrade each year
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The staff was friendly. The food was decent. The restaurants each close one night a week, and we didn't plan properly to make it to the Tapas restaurant. But, everything else I had was good. I couldn't step near the bar or waitstaff without being offered a shot of Tequila. ;) They were wonderful. Actually, I found I didn't drink very much alcohol - though I certainly could have - because I was thoroughly enjoying the juice bar. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The towel-origami was very nice. I slept like a baby. It was never too loud or overcrowded. The beach was fantastic!! And our rooms in bldg. 6 were very close to it Nice picturesque walk from room to lobby with friendly, non-aggressive wildlife buddies. This was just about the most relaxing week I have ever had. Came with my girlfriends, but I'll be back with my husband.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were skeptical at first when we were offered a “free upgrade” to the Royal Tulum because of our previous experience in Cancun where everything seemed to come with a catch to listen to some pitch on a time share. We were presently surprised, the hotel was great the staff were very nice and service was excellent. Even the tours were cheaper through this hotel than the ones in Cancun. The whole experience was fabulous. The only thing I would pick on is the food… although it was very fresh, the hotel catered mainly for the European palate… (Very mild or bland) for our taste. The food was better during Xmas eve and New Year’s Eve (all you can eat fresh lobster on the grill). The Mexican restaurant and the Grill were OK. The hotel mainly caters to Italian, Spanish and German tourists and even the entertainment crew were from Italy and did not speak a lot of English, but they were a fun bunch and kept every one entertained. I would stay again.

Room Tip: have proof of what you have paid for when checking in if you have prepaid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Royal Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Tulum

Address: Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpuha 77790, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpuha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Xpuha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Royal Tulum 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only all-inclusive resort, located in Xpu-Ha, Riviera Maya, on the Caribbean coastline. It is surrounded by native jungle trees, local plants, mangroves and cenotes - water springs where a diverse variety of flora and fauna can be found in an unspoiled habitat. It is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Royal Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Tulum Xpuha
Riviera Maya Copacabana
Copacabana Riviera Maya
Catalonia Royal Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpuha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Royal Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.