We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Royal Tulum to your Saves list
Catalonia Royal Tulum
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpuha 77790, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Xpuha
ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were here in October for 10 nights. We are planning to go back in October 2014. That in itself should be the review. We love the beach - nothing around you. Very quiet, no blaring music or screaming kids.

The room was clean, towells were thick. Armondo was our waiter every morning for breakfast. We never had to wait for coffee or water. He was on top of everything. We never had our dishes pile up at any of the restaurants. Very hard working people. Pleasant people.

Aerobics in the sea - did that almost every day. My husband used the gym.

We went to Coba and a Mayan lunch one day. I encourage the trip. Our tour guy was very knowledgeable. We booked through Apple.

I only wish they provided a better beer in the mini-fridge. We bought our own Tecate Lights before arriving at the resort. Sol, Dos Equi, Tecate - please!!

We ate in the steakhouse three times. Once in the Mexican, but wish we would have eaten there more. The buffet always had something we liked. It was convenient and quick.

We met some nice people on this trip. We are still in touch with two from Germany and may visit this country based on our meeting.

See you October, Catalonia!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,092
    1,056
    272
    100
    34
See reviews for
231
2,677
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cannock
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited here the first 2 weeks of December.
I wouldn't say there was anything amazing about the hotel, I feel we got what we paid for.
The food was nice enough, but we found it to be quite bland. But it was replaced regularly and seemed to be well cooked, neither of us had upset tummies. The best selection was at breakfast time. It was also nice that you could choose to eat at the buffet or at any of the A La Carte restaurants which were all part of the All Inclusive. We did find that we had to queue at the restaurants several times including the buffet restaurant but this would only be for a few minutes.
The rooms were nice, they were large and clean, the shower was massive.
It has been suggested that the staff favour the Italians but we never saw this, and I wouldn't know what advantage it would be to the hotel if this were true. The Italians do tend to smoke a lot but this was never a problem either.
The beach was really nice, although you couldn't walk that far before coming to rocks.
We did venture out a few times, you can get a 'Collectivo' at the hotel entrance, this was very convenient, safe and cheap, and recommended.
The entertainment we found to be very poor, the worst we have ever experienced, and we have stayed at much cheaper hotels than this one which is a big shame.
The staff were always polite and helpful, we do try to speak as much Spanish as possible as we are in a Spanish speaking country, but they could all speak English in any case.
The Coatis were the best entertainment while walking through the hotel grounds, we did however find the wooden bridges to be slippy after it had rained, the boards could do with being replaced with none slip ones as they were quite dangerous.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have visited Catalonia Royal Tulum 5 times and we love it. This is a smaller resort intended to be peaceful with a beautiful layout. The Xpuha beach is beautiful and nice and quiet. There's not a lot of other resorts on that beach so it's quiet which is what we enjoy. The resort and rooms are always clean. The staff are wonderful - they go out of their way to make sure that you enjoy your stay. We've always found the food to be delicious with a lot of selection including a la carte restaurants for dinner. We highly recommend upgrading to a deluxe or honeymoon package after arriving at the front desk - they offer a valuable package of extras to indulge you on your vacation! We plan to continue to return for another relaxing and stress-free holiday next year.

Room Tip: honeymoon room is awesome with great perks - loved it...we upgrade each year
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The staff was friendly. The food was decent. The restaurants each close one night a week, and we didn't plan properly to make it to the Tapas restaurant. But, everything else I had was good. I couldn't step near the bar or waitstaff without being offered a shot of Tequila. ;) They were wonderful. Actually, I found I didn't drink very much alcohol - though I certainly could have - because I was thoroughly enjoying the juice bar. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The towel-origami was very nice. I slept like a baby. It was never too loud or overcrowded. The beach was fantastic!! And our rooms in bldg. 6 were very close to it Nice picturesque walk from room to lobby with friendly, non-aggressive wildlife buddies. This was just about the most relaxing week I have ever had. Came with my girlfriends, but I'll be back with my husband.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were skeptical at first when we were offered a “free upgrade” to the Royal Tulum because of our previous experience in Cancun where everything seemed to come with a catch to listen to some pitch on a time share. We were presently surprised, the hotel was great the staff were very nice and service was excellent. Even the tours were cheaper through this hotel than the ones in Cancun. The whole experience was fabulous. The only thing I would pick on is the food… although it was very fresh, the hotel catered mainly for the European palate… (Very mild or bland) for our taste. The food was better during Xmas eve and New Year’s Eve (all you can eat fresh lobster on the grill). The Mexican restaurant and the Grill were OK. The hotel mainly caters to Italian, Spanish and German tourists and even the entertainment crew were from Italy and did not speak a lot of English, but they were a fun bunch and kept every one entertained. I would stay again.

Room Tip: have proof of what you have paid for when checking in if you have prepaid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was our 2nd time to Mexico and yet again it was a fab hol, staff very friendly, fantastic beach, rooms large and always clean, food was brilliant all the time, the only downside was the entertainment, it was for the Italians and there was hardly any English there, but don't let that put u off, it was great to meet and talk to Canadians and the Germans.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I traveled here for our 25th wedding anniversary and had a great time. We did not go through a travel agency to book the resort, we booked it ourselves. One of our few knocks on the resort was that they did not have a notation on our reservation that we had already paid most of our stay in advance. So just a note that if you book and pay in advance yourself...bring proof of purchase. We also had a bit of a mix up for our anniversary dinner on the beach but they did fix the problem. The only thing I would say is that having to deal with those types of issues (poor communication) makes your dinner less romantic. Our room was nice, we were offered and upgrade to a honeymoon suite and we checked it out but felt it was not worth the extra charge...at least for us. The food was good, nothing mind blowing, but you don't expect that at an all inclusive. The Royal Grill next to the beach and the smaller beach side restaurant had great food. We enjoyed the Italian and Mexican restaurants also. I would say if you are a social butterfly this place might not be for you...unless you are Italian or Spanish, however we didn't mind. The beach is beautiful with decent snorkeling. Drinks were pretty decent and tipping definitely helps with quality. Service at the beach could be better but they only have a couple of ladies working the whole beach. On the whole were very pleased with our stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quieter more natural resort experience.

Room Tip: Choose a Deluxe room closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Royal Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Tulum

Address: Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpuha 77790, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpuha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Xpuha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Royal Tulum 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only all-inclusive resort, located in Xpu-Ha, Riviera Maya, on the Caribbean coastline. It is surrounded by native jungle trees, local plants, mangroves and cenotes - water springs where a diverse variety of flora and fauna can be found in an unspoiled habitat. It is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Royal Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Tulum Xpuha
Riviera Maya Copacabana
Copacabana Riviera Maya
Catalonia Royal Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpuha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Royal Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.