We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum

Save Saved
You added Catalonia Royal Tulum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Tulum
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpuha 77790, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Xpuha
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Perfect place to celebrate our 5th anniversary! Beautiful resort! Good food and the staff is very friendly. If an ocean view is a must have this isn't the place but, we loved being set in the jungle and the ocean is a short walk on stone trails through the jungle. Beautiful!! It's set apart from other resorts and we really felt like we had gotten away from it all but, at the same time the colectivos were ready to take you up or down the highway with loads to do within just 15-30min.

Akumul beach is a must see! swimming with the sea turtles was a highlight of the trip and just a 20 min bus ride!

Room Tip: I would recommend the third floor as it is above the tree line and building 5 as it is closest to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,913
    962
    239
    89
    31
See reviews for
217
2416
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

10th trip to the area and we plan to come back to this resort again. It has soft white sand on the beach that you can walk for hours. Many restaurants and bars to find that perfect coctail. Entertainment was good and the staff is always willing to make you comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just returned from CRT 19/08/13 thru 28/08/13 and I am absolutely blown away! I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews here, but don't be, Go see this Jewel in the Mexican Caribbean! From check in to check out service Top Notch! After having been to several places that had some bad or not so good of a review I have come to the conclusion that these reviewers and very unhappy people and would never be satisfied, with that said a little about CRT! Absolutely Gorgeous resort, from lobby to the beach! We, my wife and I have stayed at numerous AIs and this one tops them all! That includes stays @ Dreams and Couples chains, with a much more attractive price! Food was Great, not ever having a bad meal, from the buffets to the specialty restaurants! do bring bug spray for the outdoor restaurants and as I found out unless you just want to wear dress slacks leave them home, resort casual is casual! Our service was absolutely the Best! I wish I could remember every last persons name, but Ingred on the beach, Emmanualle at Centaures, and Armondo at the grill, Thank You for the best service! Never had to "book" a place @ the pool or beach, never had to wait to be seated @ any restaurant! Beach has powder white sand just like it is flour sooo soft! I could go on & on about things that's already been discussed but without a doubt this has been the best value of any vacation we ever have had, adding in the great food, unlimited drinks, wonderful people and stunning location, CRT we will see you soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Quiet resort for adults only.
Clean: I saw them washing walks with soap and water!
Food: the selection is great! and everythhing is yummy
Beach: clean, make sure to wake up at 6 am to "book" your spot (we used to leave towels and go have breakfast, I know, I hate those people!!! but you do what you gotta's do, or it's gone by 8)
staff: friendly, but keeps a distance. There won't be any "amigoes" like in Cuba

Overall: the best place we've been in Carribean

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Everything you could want for a perfect sundrenched funfilled trip to Mexico :)

Great location - far enough from the tourist packed Cancun and Playa Del Carmen, but within reach. GORGEOUS big beach, postcard pretty soft white sand and bluer than blue ocean. Lots of options as to where to sit and enjoy it!

GREAT food and drink, proper premium rate spirits in the cocktails, yummy juice bar right on the beach, and although we couldn't test all of the restaurants, I can testify to the tapas, italian, steakhouse and the mexican. All were superbly served by lovely staff and produced food which I would happily have paid for.

Nice rooms - Ours was only the standard one but was spacious with minibar, decent shower, comfortable bed and robes :)

Lovely grounds, full of photogenic wildlife, nice pools etc etc

Great staff, courteous and helpful, just couldnt fault them.

Helpful dive shop - guides were friendly and thorough and although the reefs are nothing compared to Cozumel, the cenotes are absolutely AMAZING. Go! Even if you don't dive - snorkel. There is nothing like them, a must for everyone's bucket list.

I really can see why people honeymoon here, and wouldnt hesitate to stay again if I was to return to Mexico. No criticisms at all! :) One satisfied customer here.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are lovely, so who knows what the upgrades are like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile


Just got to crt 2 days ago and it is so lovely and quiet at the resort at the moment. No need to get up at break of dawn to put towels on chairs. At 9.30 only 4 chairs occupied at pool and biy more at beach. We have been here before and perfect for a relaxing and chill vacation. People from all over europe as well usa but much more europeans this time round esp italians. Any questions happy to answer. Weather has been great so far and today yellow flag at beach instead of red! Yay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went there as our honeymoon, and the we had a great time. There are xenotes nearby where you can swim or dive, and Playa Paradiso a great place to visit as tourists. The resort itself has so many activities, and a great variety of international food. The restaurants are great, and the service is really above the average.

Room Tip: If you want a relaxing place, chose the rooms in the middle. The rooms close to reception are closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catalonia Royal Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Tulum

Address: Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpuha 77790, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpuha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Xpuha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Royal Tulum 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only all-inclusive resort, located in Xpu-Ha, Riviera Maya, on the Caribbean coastline. It is surrounded by native jungle trees, local plants, mangroves and cenotes - water springs where a diverse variety of flora and fauna can be found in an unspoiled habitat. It is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Catalonia Royal Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Tulum Xpuha
Riviera Maya Copacabana
Copacabana Riviera Maya
Catalonia Royal Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpuha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Royal Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.