We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Bang for the Buck!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Royal Tulum to your Saves list
Catalonia Royal Tulum
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpu-Ha 77790, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brighton, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Big Bang for the Buck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 7 night stay at Catalonia Royal Tulum. We have been to several all inclusive properties in the Cancun area including Dreams properties, Secrets properties, Valentin Imperial and both Excellence properties. Based on the lower price we paid for this trip, we lowered our expectations. One word - WOW! This was one of our most enjoyable trips. See below for details.

GROUNDS:

Just beautiful and so romantic. There is a lot of walking involved at this resort but it is so pretty that we didn't mind it at all. It is like the buildings were dropped in the jungle - the trees and foliage are very dense. There are pathways that connect the different areas of the resort. There is soft music playing with several benches to stop and enjoy the atmosphere. The coatis were such a treat to see and interact with. They go crazy for bananas (which you can get on the buffet). Be careful when you feed them - I had two babies that were trying to get to the banana I was feeding them - one ended up crawling up my leg (no major problem - just a few scratches) and the other was hanging off my beach bag! There are also squirrels, iguanas, and some kind of rodent that looks like a big guinea pig. It was really nice to see all of the animals. The coatis were definitely the highlight of our trip.

RESORT LAYOUT:

The lobby is closest to the highway - in fact it can be seen from the main highway which is really unusual. Near the lobby is the buffet restaurant where you can eat breakfast and dinner. There is a lobby bar along with three additional restaurants - Mexican, Italian and Tapas. There are a few lounge areas with a pool table. When you leave the lobby you begin your walk down the beautiful pathway. Just a short distance away is the theater where you can see the nightly shows. You cross a bridge over a natural aquarium that is full of fish. You continue on the pathway to the 6 buildings where the rooms are located. Buildings 1 and 2 are closest to the lobby, Buildings 3 and 4 are in the middle of the resort and Buildings 5 and 6 are closest to the beach. At the end of the walkway is the pool, jacuzzis, "chill out" area, spa, gym, another bar, a juice bar, a snack bar for lunch and another restaurant that serves lunch during the day and is the grill at night.

ROOMS:

We booked the junior suite and were very happy. It included a nice size living room with a couch and chair. My favorite feature was the additional window that you get that lets in a lot of natural light. Also, the junior suites are on the end of the buildings so our room was very quiet. It looked to me like all of the rooms have been updated but the standard room looked a little on the small side and a little dark. The room was very welcoming and comfortable. We were very happy with the comfort of the bed - it was a lot softer than some we have slept on in Mexico. We got some of the best sleep at this resort - it was so quiet at night. It was wonderful. The bathroom was not very big but it was nice. There was no bathtub but that wasn't an issue for us. We wanted to be in one of the buildings closest to the beach but we ended up on building 3 (in the middle of the resort). This ended up being great for us - right in the middle of the resort and very quiet. I would not recommend building 1 or 2 - these rooms are too close to the lobby and theater - could be very loud at night. We were very happy that there were no pornography channels in the room like we have encountered at other adult only resorts.

FOOD/DRINKS:

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. The breakfast was good. I have seen more choices on other breakfast buffets but there were enough choices and everything was good. The lunches are really good. They have awesome french fries (very important in my book)! We enjoyed all of the dinner restaurants with the exception of the Tapas. It had a really cool trendy atmosphere but it just wasn't our thing. We didn't enjoy the food at all. But no problem - we just headed to another restaurant for dinner. The joy of all inclusive resorts! We really enjoyed the other restaurants. The Italian has a really good tenderloin and risotto. The desserts were a little disappointing. The only really good dessert I found was the mango mousse at the Mexican Restaurant. They use a little lower grade alcohol than we are used to but for the price we paid we were satisfied. The bartenders do a good job of mixing the drinks which helps. Yeszer (at the bar by the beach) is the best!

SERVICE:

Great service! Everyone is really helpful and nice at this resort. They deserve tips!

SPA:

The hot stones massage is a must. This was my fist massage of this type and it was awesome. I would highly recommend it. I normally have trouble with massage therapists in Mexico shorting me on my time so I was expecting the same here. Not the case at all - I paid for a 80 minute massage and I received 95 minutes. It was wonderful. The spa facilities are nice but not the best I have seen. Based on the $100 price I paid, I was extremely happy with my experience. They have daily specials - probably the best deal is on Thursday where they offer two 50 minute massages for $100. Great deal!

BEACH:

One of the best we have seen. Very little seaweed and no rocks. It is just gorgeous. There is a reef not too far off the beach where you can snorkel. The beach area where the palapas and chairs are is a bit small. We never made it out there early enough to get a prime spot on the beach but there were always chairs available. There is a lot of shade on the beach so even if you don't get a palapa you should still be able to get a shady spot. There are also several hammocks on the beach - nice touch. We were always able to find a palapa around the pool so that was fine for us. You can walk about a half an hour each direction to the right and left of the resort. The beach does "dead end" at each side so you can only walk so far. It was sufficient for the distance we would want to walk so we were happy with it. Be sure to visit the shack on the beach next to the resort for a little shopping and the bar on the beach. My husband was very happy that he was able to find Bud Light at this bar and the cost was only $3 per beer. Nice atmosphere!

POOL AREA:

The pool is a nice size and very clean. We really enjoyed the jacuzzis - there are three with different temperatures - cold, warm and hot. The hot one is heavenly. The jacuzzis overlook the beach and palm trees - very relaxing. We also enjoyed the "chill out" area with the beach beds. We were pleasantly surprised that these were always available - we thought for sure these would be hard to get.

OTHER GUESTS:

We knew when we booked this property that there would only be a few other americans there. This didn't end up being an issue for us at all. We weren't interested in participating in any of the pool games, etc. so it wasn't a problem. It seemed that the people at this resort were very classy people and that was a welcome change.

ENTERTAINMENT:

The typical all inclusive entertainment. Nothing spectacular. We did enjoy the karaoke in the disco. The disco is really nice - probably the nicest disco we have seen at a resort.

KEEP IN MIND:

1. The resort does not accept cash for incidentals. You can charge spa treatments and purchases to your room and then pay for everything on a credit card at checkout. We are used to paying in cash so this was a little different.

2. If you have a spa credit, you must let the spa know about this when you are booking your treatment. The front desk cannot give this credit - it must be taken care of by the spa.

3. I didn't have any problem with bugs but my husband (who is a mosquito magnet) did have some issues. If you are prone to bug bites, it would be a good idea to bring pants for dinners (that seems to be when they come out) and bug spray.

4. It is about hour from the airport but totally worth the drive. This can be a little longer if there are other stops along the way.

Lastly, we took a couple of day trips to Puerto Aventuras ($11 cab ride each way). It is a really fun place to visit. There is a marina with some shopping. We found out there is a small restaurant where you can rent a golf cart for $40 for the entire day. That was really enjoyable. There is another Catalonia property near the marina that you can visit. They use the same bracelets as Catalonia Royal Tulum. It is not nearly as nice as Catalonia Royal Tulum but it is nice to see another resort and to have bathrooms, food and drinks that you can access while you are visiting Puerto Aventruas.

If there are any questions that we can answer about this property, please let us know.

Room Tip: Go with the junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,245
    1,158
    316
    112
    40
See reviews for
255
2,910
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here in 2011 for eight days. The front entrance off the main road is not nearly as romantic as many others that are set far away off the main road through the mangrove swamps, etc. The staff was very helpful and always trying to please. The room was very good - ironically thought the smoke detector would alarm when the blow dryer was used. They got that fixed, but had to repeat we did not smoke in room. The end rooms are worth the extra bucks! The jungle setting is so amazing! Was plenty of food for variety of tastes. Were not cheap or small in portions - we left well fed! The only gripe I had was the relentless efforts of entertainment in the pool area (in and around). Don't expect much from the onsite dive shop. The most amazing element of location was the crystal clear blue water with many fish and amazing beach front! Reefs were also within immediate distance. Was a baracuda bite incident to a person feeding fish and person got a "love tap" requiring sutures. The resort customary chair reservation rush occurred - just have to play the game....Felt very safe and secure within the resort. They also have transportation to Playa and other Catalonia Resort. We were able to eat at other partner hotel japanese grill. Very many foreigners - very few americans there (something we were after). All and all - I would go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room and if seeking jungle top views an elevated room (top floor of four floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at CRT in the last 2 weeks of September! Having read all of the positive reviews on this hotel we thought it would be a great choice! Beautiful resort on whole very well maintained. Our room was spacious and clean but we had a slight problem with dampness in our room our clothes became very foisty! Not what you would expect for 4* plus hotel.

The staff are extremly polite and work extremly hard to make sure the resort is maintained well.

Unfortunatley during our stay the weather was not great, [Which we knew september was rainy season], but when the weather was bad there was nothing to do only 2 bars!

As for the entetainment team just SHOCKING to be honest it made our holiday so unpleasureable! CRT seem to have a contract with an Italian company called vera tour and they have an entertainment team called VERA CLUB! I don't want to be rude but there is just no other way to put it really, they are immature, loud, disrespectful and really rude. There were many occasions throughout the holiday my boyfriend was so close to going over and knocking one of them out!

Another thing to mention is CRT seem to have a band system, so for whatever nationality you are you have a coloured band to match, I mean really talk about being 2nd class. This meant the entertainment team knew where you were from and seem to just think it was alright to just leave you out.

I came to CRT for a relaxing holiday at the end of the day you would be around the pool trying to chill out and all you can hear is them singing and dancing around the place like idiots was certainly not entertaining me in the slightest. If we wanted to go to a party style holiday we would of flown 3 hours out to ibizia.

There was one night we watched the entertainment show and at the end of it one of the italian club reps got on stage and basically said you are welcome to stay and watch the next part the show but we will only be speaking in italian. So we felt that was our invitiation to leave, I mean just shocking! CRT customers may be 70% italian, but what about the other 30%!

The FOOD - Definatley not A la Carte restaurants. The breakfast plenty choice not much more you could ask for. However only two places to eat for lunch either buffet or snack bar. The buffet lunch selection was average at best however huge problem with wasps flying on and off sweet items, management had not really tryed preventing this which means we were unable to eat any of the items all it would of took was abit net to prevent this. There was on occasion were I had spaghetti and there was actually a wasp in it. Another occasion I was stung by a wasp while getting ice cream. The staff saw and didnt seem to care or ask if i was ok.

Evening Meals - Was simply rubbish no other way to describe it, best restaurant being Tapas Bar but you do get eaten alive but that cant be helped.

It is such a shame because the grounds and the resort itself are beautiful, but unfortunatley we would not come back to this hotel or recommend it. This review is simply based on our experience and opinion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here late sept to oct infact back two days. The hotel and staff are just great all ways polite and helped u in every way. The entertainment team well seriously just get rid of them they are absolute idiots complete and utterly imature and seriously in need of chucking out. I had to complain twice about the pool party the music was intense I could feel the bass in my stomac it drove me mad After three complaints in one night. I complained to the management and fare enough the music was kept right low. They were in your face all the time and for the Italian ppl well come on guys respect others yeah extreamly rude disrespectfull. Over all ill go back if I knew the entertainment team was gone yes adults only but key it right down plz. The grounds were beyond perfect in my eyes. We both loved the staff the wild life and the food wow. We just both feel that the entertainer team should be in Ibiza not here. So please CRT if you read this just send them packing

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Catalonia Royal Tulum for a week in October. Our room was clean, large and nice. The service was great and the resort was beautiful. The beach and pool are fabulous! The grounds are very well maintained and pretty. Food was very good. They have plenty of things to do. The staff is accommodating. I definitely recommend it for a romantic get away. It was quiet and casual.

Be careful on the wood walkway. It gets very slippery when wet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is an adult only hotel for those people who like to party and speak Italian. The beach is nice but small and crowded. The rooms are large and clean. The food is excellent, beautiful arrangements, exquisite taste and very friendly servers. Tapas lounge is the best. The grounds are well maintained; a long white stoned road takes you through the jungle to the beach and restaurants; on your way you’ll meet iguanas, other animals and a little pond with clear water and various fish. But I had a ring with an aquamarine stone in the middle and little diamonds on each side and on my second day there the diamonds have disappeared. I thought they’ve just fell until I showed the ring to the Lapis Jewelry’s manager. He showed me the scratches on the ring as the little baskets where the diamonds were set in were pulled out. After that we filled a complaint with the hotel on Oct 2. I didn’t get any response yet. My friends, alarmed by my bad experience, realized that one day their safe was left opened for a couple of hours as they’ve rushed to meet us and forgot to lock it, and when they counted their money they discovered that 220$ were missing. Please be aware and lock all your valuables. I’m not sure where as I’ve read that in 2007 were several thefts from the room’s safe, maybe the thieves are back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angel j, Manager at Catalonia Royal Tulum, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear CeAn Toronto,

First of all we would like to thank you for visiting us recently and for the time taking in writting about your holiday experience.

We are glad to know that mostly you did enjoy our hotel services and facilities.

About your report and not having had a response, we remember that our concierge manager (Mr Roberto Cisneros) talked to your husband, and explained to him all the security procedures we have carried out. We also informed you that we never found any evidence to blame to housekeeping staff that entered to your room. In our hotel, as in most of the occidental cultures, we defend the inocence of our people while there is no clear evidence of being guilty.

Referring to the experience of your friends, we are surprised since they never make a report of the money desapearance. If they lost the money, they should haver helped us by reporting it.

We would like to remember you and all our future guest, that even when we are a perfectly safe hotel, you must use correctly the safe deposit box that you will find in your room. The service is completly free.

Finally, even when we can not accept any responsability about your ring damages, we do have to apologize for not having met your holiday expectations, and we hope you to give us another opportunity to count on you as one of our customers, in order to proof you that 100% customer satisfaction is our main goal.

Kindest regards,

Angel Juana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and i stayed at this hotel in Sept 2012 for two weeks.
Although the hotel and its surroundings are beautiful, the rooms are spacious and maintained to a high standard every day and the hotel employed staff very friendly, we found that the predominantly Italian Entertainment team were rude and loud.
The volume of music for the activities can be heard all along the beach several times a day, We complained to the entertainment team, the reception staff and finally the Residential Manager(Mr Angel Juana) who did speak to them and the volume went down for our last few days, however i note a review has been completed since our stay and the volume has obviously gone up again!
Non smoking areas were not adhered to - to the extent that staff would bring ashtrays to the smokers if they asked.
The dress code for the evenings in the restaurants was advertised as long trousers and shirts with sleeves for men - this policy was not upheld and men in vests straight from the pool did nothing for our appetites.
The buffet lunch area had a persistent wasp problem which the management did try to contain but simple netting would have helped this.
Buffet restaurant food was on the whole good but limited choice compared to some other 4/5 star hotels we have been too.
The steak restaurant in the evenings was very good.
Ma Loos juice bar on the beach - Awesome.
Its a shame to have to write such a negative review, but having looked forward to this holiday all year to have it ruined by an entertainment team who view this hotel as their own private playground.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - you can see over the mangrove trees and get much more daylight in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Royal Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Tulum

Address: Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpu-Ha 77790, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Royal Tulum 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only all-inclusive resort, located in Xpu-Ha, Riviera Maya, on the Caribbean coastline. It is surrounded by native jungle trees, local plants, mangroves and cenotes - water springs where a diverse variety of flora and fauna can be found in an unspoiled habitat. It is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Catalonia Royal Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Tulum Xpuha
Riviera Maya Copacabana
Copacabana Riviera Maya
Catalonia Royal Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Royal Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.