We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, relaxing, relaxing....ALL ADULTS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum

Save Saved
You added Catalonia Royal Tulum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Tulum
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpuha 77790, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Xpuha
North Conway, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing, relaxing, relaxing....ALL ADULTS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

That's right....relaxing all adults. Describes a lot of this resort. Just returned from 8 glorious night with my wife of 5 fabulous years. We were on our anniversary trip. The staff was the best we have experienced in Mexico. We have not been disappointed elsewhere, but the staff here was exceptional. Never expected anything more from you but happiness and a smile.....but we are tippers and they appreciated that as well....just a buck or two for each good service. Food was great...have had better at other Mexican resorts but this was by no means bad. We enjoyed the food very much, but have had better at other resorts. For the money, it is more than great! The beach is UNBELIEVEABLE! White sand, azul waters and no congestion. This made for great walks at any point of the day....very safe. Don't worry about the Vera club. They are there to do a job and that is to entertain the Europeans....that they definitely do....they are not unfriendly to others and if you want a part of their entertainment, you are more than welcome. This did not affect our vacation at all, and if it affects yours, you should probably think about vacationing within your own country. There is a lot of Europeans at this resort and they operate VERY differently than us. If you are prepared for it, you will be fine. This is a beautiful resort with plenty to keep a couple satisfied for their vacation. We loved this place and will not hesitate to go back.....enjoy!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,975
    990
    253
    92
    32
See reviews for
223
2512
36
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
B&NES, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have just returned from a two week stay at Catalonia Royal Tulum (28 May-9 June) and we just didn't want to leave! Most of it has already been said so I will try and keep it brief...but there is so much to say!

The hotel itself is in a great location- ok so the 1.5 hour transfer from the airport after a long flight from the UK isn't ideal but it's worth it! Lovely entrance, friendly check in with drinks on arrival and we were soon in our room, which was much bigger than I had expected! We were in block three right in the middle and were genuinely very impressed. The air con is very effective- but noisy- if you are a light sleeper like me I recommend ear plugs! We didn't ask for a room upgrade, but the bed was huge and we also had a bath which I don't think you get in the standard rooms having spoken to another couple. I think we must have been lucky to be honest- the rooms right at the end of the corridor just seemed bigger and for some reason, we got allocated one! Don't expect a view from the balcony though! All the rooms back onto the 'jungle' and we didn't really venture onto it as it was in the shade and a nest for mosquitos!!

Staff- fantastic! Friendly and enthusiastic at all times; we followed advice and tipped where we thought appropiate from the bar staff to the restaurants to the concierge to the house keeping!

Food- it was our first time in Mexico and having stayed in the Dominican last year and been very impressed with the food there we weren't sure what to expect. However I can honestly say that we thoroughly enjoyed everything that we ate, breakfast lunch and dinner. We ate at all the restaurants, our favourite being the Grill down by the beach. We loved the tapas but only made it there once as it's outside and we got eaten alive by mosquito's. Italian was mixed, excellent the first time and very average the second time- and our least favourite, ironically, was actually the Mexican! Still very good though. Buffet always impressed- great variety and very tasty. On two occasions we had room service which was also good.

Drinks again were great- none of this watered down stuff you sometimes get at all inclusive resorts; personal favs being the mojitos, and the margaritas were also good at the tapas bar.

Beach beautiful and pool nice and big. We never had problems with sunbeds, some days were busier than others, but we didn't bother reserving them.

Veraclub- not sure what people are complaining about here. They are there to cater for the Italians, but my other half showed an interest in the water polo and they always made an effort to talk to him when they saw him and involve him in the activities. If you want to join in, just ask-and they are perfectly friendly!

Entertainment- didn't actually watch any but there was always something on. We were looking for a relaxing holiday and not to party, but it seemed that you could do either if you wanted- there were the bars, shows and a disco, sometimes a pool party. And if you wanted a livelier night you could always go into Playa Del Carmen.

Trips- we barely spent any money! The only trip we did through Thomson was Xel-Ha (which is amazing- we recommend!) but even that you could have got the local bus! We took the bus to Tulum, Akumal and Playa Del Carmen both in the day time and in the evening- cheap and safe! The only time we got a taxi was back from Playa Del Carmen as it was late in the evening.

Overall, we had a great holiday and could easily have stayed longer! GO!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Very disappointed in the Royal Catalonia Tulum? Previously stayed at the Royall Catalonia Punta Cana and absolutely loved it. Yes, the beach is beautiful, but the Riu Palace Rivera Maya's is just as nice or even better.. Traveled in April with three girlfriends. We do a yearly girls getaway and leave the husbands at home. Just can't put my finger on what I didn't like. The rooms were fine. The meals were good. the beach was beautiful.. After reading all the wonderful reviews, I guess I expected more. There was no WOW factor for me. Didn't mind the walk to the beach, the Italians were not a problem. We booked this resort 9 months in advance thru Apple Vacations. When we arrived three hours later than expected because of airline delays, we were told they only had one room available. It was only 4 o'clock in the afternoon and we had no choice but to share one room for the night. We were given 2 of the Royal Suites for the rest of the trip which made for a lovely room -- much nicer than the standard rooms. I still didn't get that wonderful feeling for this resort that I was expecting. I've stayed at many other resorts in The Rivera Maya that I preferred much more. I would not recommend this resort and would never go back. Sorry to all of the vacationers who just love this resort. Actually, we all felt the same about this resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

What a great place! We travelled to CRT for some fun and R&R. The service was excellent, the food was good and the beach was breathtaking.
I read many negative comments about the Veraclub, and the Italian people being rude and arrogant. They were no louder or annoying than some of the groups of Americans that were there. On the last day we were there, I overheard one American lady in a group complaining about people "staring" at her. Yet, (she must have been from Louisiana) because she kept screaming cheers like "Go tigers, beat Alabama" ??? And "Give me an "A", give an "E", what does that spell, "Aeeee" ??? Well lady, if you don't want people to look at you, don't draw attention to yourself.
Anyway, the resort was awesome, and I hope to be back someday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We did a lot of research prior to booking our vacation here so we had some expectations, both good and bad. We decided to stay at CRT for a few reasons including the price, it's an all adults resort, the great reviews and it's closer to the natural attractions the Riviera Maya offers. We were at the CRT from June 3rd-8th.

Location: CRT is located right on Highway 307 which makes it very easy to travel to other areas in Riviera Maya. You can take a cab or stand on the highway and take the local bus (collectivo) for about $3.00 a person anywhere you want to go on Highway 307. We took the bus to the town of Tulum and then walked to the ruins. We also took a cab (about $22 each way) into Playa Del Carmen. Both were about 15-20 minute rides. There are also a handful of cenotes near the resort that you can walk to but be careful because the cars fly down the highway.

The Grounds: The actual resort is beautiful and set into the jungle. We saw wildlife daily including: iguanas, coatimundi, birds and even monkeys! When swimming in the ocean you are often joined by many angel fish as well. The beach is STUNNING!! You can walk far in both directions as there are no other resorts. The pool is great as well and large but doesn't have a swim up bar. From the rooms it is a decent walk to either the lobby or beach but nothing terrible. We enjoyed our walks because of the wildlife and the exercise.

Room: We stayed in building 3 on the 2nd floor in 3103. The room was basic but nice with a King bed and roomy shower. We sat on the balcony at night and just enjoyed the sounds of nature. One morning we were even greated by some Coati who climbed the tree and jumped to our balcony.

Food & Drinks: We were NOT impressed by the food at this resort. The morning & lunch buffet was okay and we never attended the dinner buffet. We tried out Tappas, the steak house and the Italian restaurant for dinner. The food at Tappas was not good and the chairs were so uncomfortable. The steak house was okay but didn't blow us away. The Italian restaurant was the best in our opinion but we didn't try the other dinner restaurants. We also ordered room service a few times which was good but somewhat slow. The poolside grill was good and had a good variety of food and it was fast service. Drinks were great at all the bars (lobby, pool, restaurants) and never lacked alcohol. There's also a smoothie bar on the beach where they will make smoothies from fruit and veggies.

Staff: The staff were wonderful! They were so nice and went out of their way for you. From check-in to room service to dining and beyond they were great!!! We tipped the staff because they work so hard and wish others would do more of this. The event staff was also fun to watch. My boyfriend played volleyball and ping bong with the Veraclub staff and other vacationers. Other people on here have complained about the Veraclub staff and Italians at this resort but it is what you make of it. Yes there is a language barrier but you are in a foreign country. The Italians were actually funny to watch and the Veraclub staff always welcomed us in their activities (yoga, aqua dance, ping pong, volleyball, Spanish lessons, cooking class, bocce ball, bingo). A large ratio of people who vacation at this resort are Italian or from Europe. I would say about 10% were American or Canadian and the rest were European.

Nightlife: As it has been said before by others, the nightlife here is not great. We walked passed a couple of the shows and they seemed terrible so we kept moving. The strange thing about this resort is that most of the night entertainment is based around the lobby rather than the pool area. In the lobby there's a lot of seating as well as a pool table. The pool bar does stay open at night but was never busy. There are no lights on the beach at night so spending time there was also a no go.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and the resort was beautiful. The biggest let down was the quality of the food which is why I didn't give this a 5-star rating. If you are looking for a relaxing time for a good price that's near many attractions then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We just got back from the Catalonia Royal Tulum. My husband and I really enjoyed this resort. From the staff to the rooms, The BEACH!!!, and the food and drinks were FAB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We would return to the Catalonia Royal Tulum.....The intertainment was also great. This is a great couples resort. Don't hesitate just book this resort you won't regret it... Have fun.........

Room Tip: Any building is good. We had a deluxe room which was just fine. We stayed on the first floor in bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Where to start. I have to say the CRT is an amazing resort from our stand point. We decided to go to CRT for the price and all adult resort. We have stayed in the Riveria Maya area two times before. And comparing this resort to those it blows the other trips outta the water. The beach was absolutely gorgeous, not even one rock in the sand. Crystal clear, aqua blue water for half a mile. You could snorkel or just play in the waves. The staff always had a smile and went out of their way to make you happy. The drinks were good, they didn't skimp on the alcohol. We mostly hung out at the pool/beach bar at night with the other couple that went with us and a few people we met. We loved Betty who served there at night. She was so sweet.If you are into partying as we attempted to do then you should try the super man shot, tastes like a sweet tart. At this resort you could party if you wanted to but also relax if you wanted. We did both! The food at the restaurants was really good. We especially loved the grill. The beef tenderloin, rib eye steak and spring rolls were excellent. We ate there 2 nights. The Italian was our least favorite but still good, I had the stuffed beef tenderloin which was very good. For an all inclusive resort the food was great. If you don't like one thing then order something else. We stayed in the lowest level room and had it was nice. Large shower and balcony. The maid always left us a towel animal on the bed for a surprise everyday. We didn't do any excursions but we did taxi into Playa for shopping and then to Akumal Beach towards Tulum for a day of snorkeling with sea turtles. Doing this on our own was much cheaper and totally safe. As for the vera club comments from others, the vera club is made up of mostly Italians so no wander Italians are drawn to them. If they were Americans it would be the same way. We enjoyed doing the water aerobics at noon it was a lot of fun!!!
We loved this resort and hope to return. Definitely our favorite thing about the resort was the beach!
Like I have said before we absolutely loved our time here and hope to go back someday. Highly recommend this resort for couples.

Room Tip: Take bug spray because there are a few mosquitoes at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Royal Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Tulum

Address: Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpuha 77790, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpuha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Xpuha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Royal Tulum 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only all-inclusive resort, located in Xpu-Ha, Riviera Maya, on the Caribbean coastline. It is surrounded by native jungle trees, local plants, mangroves and cenotes - water springs where a diverse variety of flora and fauna can be found in an unspoiled habitat. It is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Catalonia Royal Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Tulum Xpuha
Riviera Maya Copacabana
Copacabana Riviera Maya
Catalonia Royal Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpuha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Royal Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.