We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lights Out--Careless Maintenace and Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Quetzal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Quetzal to your Saves list
Casa Quetzal
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle 51 No. 218 x 50 y 52 col. Sisal, Valladolid, Yucatan, Mexico, Valladolid, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Valladolid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Lights Out--Careless Maintenace and Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

Casa Quetzal is as attractive and spacious as its Website shows. It is located in Valladolid's "Sisal district", across the street from the historic Convent de F. Bernardino de Siena. which puts it some distance from downtown. On street parking downtown was easy, however, so we always drove.

Unfortunately, the rooms in this otherwise nice, small hotel were poorly maintained (but clean), and the extra-charge breakfast was poor and literally slung at the table. At check-in, three light sources were not functional (bedside table lamp, the ceiling light and fan, and the light for a lovely outdoor seating area in front of the room) and the bulb was burned out in the bath ceiling light. The door would latch only if slammed very hard, sometimes more than once. In 2 days, we could get only the table lamp replaced.

Breakfast included a very small bowl of fruit, yogurt which you could spoon out of the 1 liter tub set on the table, the most awful croissants we have ever had, and margerine from the blue plastic margerine tub set on the table.

  • Liked — The spacious rooms and pretty coutyard
  • Disliked — The non-functioning facilities and the careless service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    64
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
33
103
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

We stayed at the Casa Quetzal for two nights.

CHECK-IN:
When booking directly with the property we confirmed that we would be arriving in the evening, and then phoned on the day we were due to arrive to confirm this once more, just in case! We arrived in Valladolid by rental car and despite having a map of the town and asking numerous people where the Casa Quetzal was (one of us is a native Spanish speaker, so no problems with the language, thankfully!), we ended up phoning reception again to ask them. (Judging by other reviews we're not the only ones who had a small challenge finding it!) There was someone at reception when we arrived, so no problem there.

ROOM:
Our room was spacious and clean with an equally spacious bathroom. There seemed to be an ant problem in the bathroom - someone had obviously used some sort of bug-killer and there were plenty of dead ants around! The sheets and towels weren't the newest-looking, but they were clean. There was a TV, air conditioning and wireless internet, and the overall decoration was quite homely.

ACCOMMODATION - General:
Breakfast was available at an extra cost, and we tried this on our second day as we had an early start to Chichén Itzá. It was reasonable, though a cheaper breakfast can certainly be had in the town centre. We had breakfasted in the colonnaded market in the main square the previous day and tried a couple of the typical dishes of the area.
The garden area is pleasant, but the pool appeared to be out of use when we were there - it wasn't very clean.

VALLADOLID AREA - General:
Valladolid is relatively quiet and laid-back (hopefully it won't lose its character to overdevelopment!), and made a nice change from the coastal resort where we had been previously. The cenote Zaci is worth a visit, and it's within walking distance of the main town square. The cenote Dzinup/Xkeken is nearby (you can get a taxi there or maybe even cycle). The Ek Balam ruins aren't too far away either, and - as others have mentioned - are smaller and MUCH less crowded than the Chichén Itzá ruins.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

I agree with all of the positive reviews of the Casa Quetza, but with two important provisos. First, take ear plugs! The first night we stayed we had a room facing the street. It was Saturday night and the cars and motorcycles continued all night. The second night we requested a different room and it was lovely and very removed from traffic. BUT, it had a dog next door that barked every time a leaf moved. It also has a rooster that acted as an alarm clock (but being Mexico, we were prepared to accept the rooster).

The second issue was mosquito control. There were good screens on the windows, but large gaps between the window frames meant bugs felt much too welcome.

In summary, very nicely decorated place, pleasant environment, nice rooms with upgraded beds and sheets, and a good breakfast, but too noisy for us.

David
Toronto

  • Liked — Great setting and nice rooms
  • Disliked — Nose from street and neighbourhood dog
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sask
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

We travelled in from Canada and since we're staying in Telchac Puerto for the month, we decided to stay at Vallodolid to cut the driving in half. We arrived at Casa Quetzal around 10 pm after 16 hours of travellling with an exhausted 3 year old only to discover that despite our deposit (6 weeks in advance), that our room had been given away. The owner Judith suggested that we stay at a house she had a block away that was, as she described, "a beautiful 2 bedroom house owned by an interior decorator" and she indicated that it was all ready for us. Faced with an alternative of sleeping in our Chrysler Atos, we had to accept and found ourselves in a disgustingly filthy house that looked as if someone had vacated several months previously, leaving some boxes, dirty linens, and a lot of dust. We erroneously thought we should remove our shoes upon entering and within minutes, all our feet were black with filth. We explored the house - that was a mistake - to discover that what furniture remained in the house was filthy and dusty, the two bedrooms had both been slept in so the bedding was all soiled, there was one clean towel to be had, most of the pillows did not have pillow cases and one of the beds only had one sheet. After discovering that the coffee pot in the "kitchen" was growing a green and black messy substance in it, we avoided that room altogether. After a good cry, we sucked it up like good Canadians, crept into a bed that felt like sleeping on tile, rested our weary heads on case-less pillows, and tried to sleep.
We went to Casa Quetzal in the morning for breakfast and I'm not sure where all the previous reviewers were but the place was empty. The breakfast was okay and the girl that served us was great. The pool was full of debris so don't expect the picture-perfect courtyard that shows up on the web pages.
To her credit, the owner has subsequently refunded us our deposit (all $20 CAD). In total, our night in hell cost us 500 pesos plus breakfast for 3. Frankly, we should have been paid for what we endured.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania, u.s.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

Case Quetzal is a jewel in Valladolid - Wonderful staff and great breakfast - rooms are comfortable, clean and up-to-date - interior garden/plaza is beatiful, and staff friendly and helpful. Surrounding neighborhood is picturesque, about a 10-minute walk to the Plaza Central and downtown Valladolid - convenient to Chichen Itza, various cenotes and Ek Balam, which in my view rivals Chichen (smaller, of course) without the crowds and vendors. Would highly recommend a stay at Case Quetzal

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

This is a beautiful little B&B with rooms looking out onto a lovely garden/courtyard. Our room was clean and spacious and the staff were courteous. It's an easy 45-1 hr drive to Chichen Itza and this is a really good alterative to staying there.

Just a couple of things...the breakfast is pretty good--you are served granola, yogurt, coffee/juice and fresh fruit. You can then order eggs (scrambled, fried, etc) Just be sure your room comes with the breakfast. We ended up paying for it separately ($7 ea) and I'm certain I could have found something cheaper in town. Secondly, as other reviewers have mentioned, it's not easy to find. We arrived after dark and my Spanish is bad these days--so it took us a while to locate it as it's not on the main road.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Quetzal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Quetzal

Address: Calle 51 No. 218 x 50 y 52 col. Sisal, Valladolid, Yucatan, Mexico, Valladolid, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Quetzal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or pleasure, alone or with family, Hotel Boutique Casa Quetzal he looks great facilities in the historic center of the magical town of Valladolid, Yucatan. Since our opening in 2006 we have distinguished ourselves by providing an atmosphere of total tranquility in a Mexican colonial style building framed with large gardens and terraces. The spaces are decorated using Mexican folk art objects, which provides our hotel a regional touch. The undeniable charm of Casa Quetzal will always do their first choice in this colonial destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa Quetzal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Quetzal Hotel Valladolid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Quetzal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.