We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than we expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ecotel Quinta Regia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ecotel Quinta Regia to your Saves list
Ecotel Quinta Regia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 40 No 160 - A por 27 | Fracc Santa Lucía, Valladolid 97780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Valladolid
Cozumel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Much more than we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Very good hotel, we stayed here for 1 nigth and after came back for 2 more, we liked it very much, first we only book for 1 because we were not sure of the quality of the hotel, but after the firt stay we went to Merida and on out way back to cozumel stayed 2 more days at Ecotel Quinta Regia. rooms are big and beds are great, the mexican decor is very nice and the gardens and flowers so preatty, my wife ate fruits from the tree of the backyard, it´s really different from other hotels, it´s great!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    70
    34
    8
    7
See reviews for
32
99
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Rooms themselves were fabulous, nice beds, clean, good shower etc but serice, pool area wasn't as good. Pool area was quite dirty and pool itsel not that clean. To be fair guy did come out with a net once we got in but bit off putting trying to swim while the guy was fishing out the bugs. The really disappointing bit was the food. We ordered spaghetti in tomato sauce and got served what seemed to be a heated up tin of Heinz spaghetti. They hadn't even cooked the spaghetti. Makes you wonder why they don't cook a Mexican menu rather than try to cater for visitors. My advice if you do stay would be to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Excellent value. Within a walk into town, but too hot to walk on an April day. Staff is very friendly and helpful, even through our broken Spanish.

The hotel restaurant is very good- not fancy, and not overpriced. Ask for outdoor seating, to get more comfortable chairs, and cooler air.
The salsa and chips here were the best in our entire trip. If you plan on eating breakfast here, pay upon checking in to get a better price. (We found this out too late, and had to pay about $8-9 per person for breakfast instead of $5.)

Tennis court is fun- it feels like playing in the jungle!

The rooms near the back of the property are larger and quieter (king bed ground-floor suite), with garden views from the little balconies, and beautiful birds singing, however the scenery behind this far edge of the property (looking out the bathroom window) is storage and maintenance. The bathroom in our king room was giant, with tub, shower, and full-length mirror! Beds are very comfortable, and our king was actually a king bed, (instead of two doubles together, which seems to be the Cancun norm.)

Be sure to ask for directions from downtown to hotel, if you are renting a car. The entrance is beautiful, but can be easy to miss.

Wake-up calls are VERY quiet. We woke up two hours late, because ours was barely audible.

Gas tip- if you are headed out toward Chichen Itza for the day, be wary of the Pemex gas attendants. They will swindle you, if you are not careful. Pemex attendants are infamous for having an amount due already on the pump BEFORE they begin to pump gas, so you are already overcharged as you pull up. ALWAYS ask for a predetermined amount of gas, and ALWAYS get out of the car, with all windows up, an make sure the pump's cost shows zero before the pumping begins.

You can take the pay road, or free road to Chichen Itza- do the pay road. For $18USD, it is much faster.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are quieter, and appear larger. Prepay for breakfast upon check-in, for a better p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights with 2 toddlers and rented the suite with two bedrooms connected by a living/dining room and kitchenette. It was tucked away in a private building with a large porch, separate from the regular hotel rooms. There were beautiful gardens throughout the property, and the rooms were clean and spacious and very comfortable, the mattresses were even plush. The pool was super refreshing and also spacious. The only thing we were surprised about was the kitchenette wasn't really that; it was just a frig and sink with a coffee pot & mugs. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Vallalodid.

Room Tip: For a less-typical hotel experience, get one of the larger rooms/suites that are separate from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Preparing to see the Equinox at Chitzen Itza, we found this little gem. Its nestled away away from the very narrow streets of Valladolid, just away from the centro. It was clean, breezy, very well staffed. The food was very, very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. Its off the beaten path, certainly not a resort. Very nice place for the weary traveler or family. Enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Perhaps the title of this reveiw is a little unfair as we arrived as a coach party. Therefore check in consisted of sitting in the outdoor bar area and being given the room card, TV remote and Air conditioning remote.

The room was good and clean but the shower head needed descaling.

Our menu was preset so I cannot fairly say what the typical fare is like, ours wasn't bad.

As a touring hotel or short break stay I would suggest this one is probably ideal

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed one night at Ecotel and really enjoyed it. The place charmed us with its mexican decor and warm welcome. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous. We had dinner once and it was a delight and incredibly inexpensive! It was the best filet mignon we had ever tasted and my son could'nt believe how good his grilled chicken was. Mmmmmmmmm......!
The hotel is a 10 minute enjoyable walk to the center of Valladolid.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ecotel Quinta Regia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecotel Quinta Regia

Address: Calle 40 No 160 - A por 27 | Fracc Santa Lucía, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ecotel Quinta Regia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ecotel Quinta Regia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecotel Quinta Regia Valladolid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecotel Quinta Regia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.