We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable rates and good food for a decent rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maria de la Luz Hotel

Maria de la Luz Hotel
Calle 42 No. 193 C | Plaza Principal, Valladolid, Mexico
52 985 856 1181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 47 Restaurants in Valladolid
Restaurant details
Regina, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Affordable rates and good food for a decent rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Didn't sleep here this trip, but three years ago, we stayed for our two night visit and found the hotel to be decent and clean. It isn't fancy, but it meets your needs for a good, quiet sleep in a decent bed and clean room. Restaurant serves fabulous breakfast buffet or you can order off the menu - both are great food choices at a decent price. Huevos motuleños are fabulous here! I would have no problem staying here again - right on the main plaza so close to a myriad of site-seeing destinations and affordable comfort.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petoskey, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I was staying down the street but had heard about the wonderful breakfast here! It did not disappoint! Great service and the food was hot and fresh. Nice fruit and juice selection! Many authentic Mexican choices...Thanks so much! I will be back!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“On the Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We arrived in Valladolid after a two hour bus ride. We found the Maria de la Luz restaurant for a quiet lunch & margarita plus a beer. Very refreshing & comfortable. Nice surroundings right on the town square so we could see everywhere we wanted to try next. We highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great food at great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

we wandered into this restaurant by chance on our drive back to Cancun. I looks very unassuming from the out-and inside but the food was very delicious and authentic and very reasonably priced. My Pollo Pibil was outstanding, my husbands dish (can't remember the name) of some sort of ham/porc was equally delightful. Our waiter was very friendly, the drinks cheap and we had a great time! Can only recommend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progreso, Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent for a very reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had two dinners and one breakfast at the hotel. They included 4 steak dinners - tender and one chicken dinner in orange juice - excellent. We asked for baked potatoes which they provided us at no extra cost, which were great additions to the meals.

Juan provided us with excellent service in the evenings and was very attentive.

We had the breakfast buffet in the morning which included 3 kinds of scrambled eggs, longaniza, tortilla, pancakes, beans, fresh fruit, fruit juice and coffee. It was all excellent.

I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone that wants a good meal and is on a bit of a budget.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria de la Luz Hotel also viewed

 
Valladolid, Yucatan
 

Been to Maria de la Luz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria de la Luz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.