We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Natural Swim hole” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ek Balam Cenote

Ek Balam Cenote
Valladolid, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Valladolid
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Natural Swim hole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Beautiful cenote that you may or may not have to work hard to get to. You can walk the 2km to the Cenote, or hire a bike and rider to take you there!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    13
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cozumel, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“beautiful and natural ....would go back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

ruins were carefully protected....were able to see well kept murals, paintings and artifacts and you can still climb the tallest buildings. Easy walk on well maintained paths...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“STUNNING!!! Get there early”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were the only ones swimming in this cenote!! It was a great experience. You could use the rope swing to jump into the cenote, you could also abseil into the water as well. This was our favourite cenote when visiting this region - don't miss it!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“This place was the most BANG for your buck in Mexico! Don't miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Cenote is beautiful. It is well kept and run professionally. We had been in Piste/Chichen Itza and decided to spend an extra night in Valladolid to explore more ruins and the cenotes. We took a taxi from the taxi stand next to the main bus station in Valladolid(3 blocks from the central plaza). the taxi ride cost 150 pesos(about $12 us) each way. We explored the Ek Balam ruins first and were very ready for a cool dip in the Cenote after the ruins. We were a little short on time (and very hot) so we paid for the entrance including the tricycle taxi ride to and from the cenote(30 pesos each). There are "locker rooms" for changing clothes and showering before entering the Cenote. There are lockers available for free but you have to have your own padlock. We just laid our belongings on a ledge on the side of the cenote and kept an eye on them but felt we had nothing to worry about. The Cenote is one of mother natures gifts to us. Truly splendid. There is a zip line across the rim and a rappel down into the cenote(100 pesos each). They rent masks, fins, and life jackets but I am not sure how much as we had brought our own for diving in Cozumel. There is a rope swing and a couple dive platforms(low and high). I only wish we had left for Ek Balam earlier so we would have more time to play in the water. 2 hours was not enough. Speaking of leaving earlier...there is a collectivo that leaves from the bus terminal in Valladolid at 8:30am that is only 50 pesos each way(I believe it returns at 1pm but forgot to check). Save yourself $130 per person that the tour charges and take a bus to Valladolid from cancun or playa del Carmen then make your way to the ruins and Cenote from there. We stayed at Hotel Maria de la Luz on the central plaza in Valladolid. It had a great view of the church and plaza at night but the rest was only okay(breakfast buffet = okay, bed was uncomfortable, and it is noisy being on the main square).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Wonderful ruins to see at El Balam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

One of the best things about Ek Balam is it's relatively empty of tourists who flock to better known sites like Chichen Itza nearby. It's worthwhile to climb to the top of the castillo (the large structure with a zillion steps) for a magnificent view of the surrounding jungle and Chichen in the distance. Mid-way up the stairs are some excellent carved figures worth a look and a few photos. El Balam is distinctive in that it's a "walled city," unusual in Mayan sites. It's located close to the main highway that runs between Cancun and Merida.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ek Balam Cenote also viewed

Valladolid, Yucatan
Valladolid, Yucatan
 
Valladolid, Yucatan
 

Been to Ek Balam Cenote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ek Balam Cenote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.