We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splurge on this one, it's worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Meson del Marques

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Meson del Marques to your Saves list
El Meson del Marques
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 39 No. 203 x 40 y 42 | Centro Historico, Valladolid 97780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Splurge on this one, it's worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

A restored 17th century hacienda, this hotel is a nice oasis from the busy world outside its doors. Right on the main plaza, just two blocks from the bus station, it has a reasonably-priced restaurant surrounding one courtyard and a lovely swimming pool surrounding another. It was a little pricey for our budget (860 pesos for two matrimonial beds), but well worth it: quiet, pleasant staff, book exchange, great location. Nice big tiled bathrooms, hot water most of the time. We thought we'd stay one or two nights, ended up staying four. Only drawback--our room was at the back and right next to a school with a commandant that insisted on raising the troops at 0700 hours with music and rousing advice over a very loud speaker. But, hey!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    355
    82
    36
    25
See reviews for
151
410
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

My husband and I and our 2 children (ages 2 1/2 and 5 months) stayed here for 2 nights. We were very impressed with the rooms, the service and the ambiance of this hotel. The restaurant/courtyard is very evocative and the food is terrific. Many of the rooms have little wooden balconies. Our hallway looked over the main square and the church. The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful. While the character of the hotel is very old-world, the rooms and elevator were modern and comfortable, though the beds were a bit hard.

The main square in front of the hotel is undergoing reconstruction; however, this did not hinder our ability to drive to this hotel or to enjoy the square and the rest of Valladolid. We were also not bothered by any noise. It is very quick and easy to get to Chitchen Itza from here and it's great to get to the site early. We didn't arrive there until 9:30 and it was still pretty deserted - by 11:00 there are huge crowds everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

this hotel must once have been very nice. those days are gone I think. The restaurant is still quite lovely and has good food. the hotel is in a great location. the grounds and pool however are looking shabby. our experience was: the hotel was not busy so were given a very, very nice room, with balcony overlooking pool. first drawback: toilet very unreliable. second drawback: during the morning after we arrived, our room key 'expired' because we had not yet paid the second night in cash. the management was not very gracious about these - I got the impression they were sure we were about to leave without paying. The big problem was the next morning, our final day: we have been robbed from hotels in mexico before, so we lock our suitcases routinely, and because we rarely stay in places with safes, we did not use the safe. While we were out for the morning, our suitcase was broken into and $180 USD taken from a zipped pouch deep in a fairly hidden place in the suitcase. The room has a passkey and when we let management know of the robbery, they investigated and it appears that only one other person had entered the room, a worker at the hotel. I imagine that this might have happened because that person thought we were only going to stay the one day and didn't realize we were likely to check our cash before we left. . I think we were very polite about the robbery; I have been an employer in mexico and I know that you have to be careful about accusing a worker of robbery. I think we were extremely courteous about our robbery. But I did not feel the management stepped up to their responsibility, to express some consolation to us. I would have expected perhaps a free drink, dessert, or dinner, maybe a card, something. instead they requested that we not report this on the web. After thinking about it for 2 months I have decided it would be best to share this information. Robberies can happen anywhere, but this management is treating the guests as if they are the potential thieves. the place needs more tlc. I am sure there are better places in town. The only reason we didn't check out other places, was that in December the streets were being torn up with jackhammers for new sewage lines and the Marques was the quietest bet at the time. But I am sure there are some very nice places to stay here. Don't stay at the Marques, just eat there. By the way there are some great aspects to this town, pedestrian walkways, great local ruins and cenotes, I love the town. Just not the management of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

This is our 4th visit to Valladolid and 1st stay at Meson del Marques. Previous visitors appear to have experienced rudeness from staff, however every staff member we encountered, from the desk clerks to the service staff were pleasant and extremely helpful. We arrived without reservation and chose a superior room in the far back building at $850 MP. The room was clean and well appointed. The beds are extremely firm, as is the case in most low-middle priced Mexican hotels outside the resort areas. Our bathroom was clean though not remodelled as appears in a recent photo of a junior suite. 2 complementary bottles of water were provided, with the option to purchase additional at $17 MP per. The pharmacia on the Zocalo sells water at a more conventional price. The only minor annoyance is that immediately behind the hotel is a school, and they begin playing music on their PA system to greet the students at 0640 - I didn't mind the music until the Celine Dion kicked in...Por Dios! make it stop!
"Centro" in any Mexican city is noisy in the morning so bring earplugs or find somewhere in the boonies if you want to sleep late - otherwise get up, grab a coffee, go for an early stroll and enjoy the sights and sounds of this charming city...you can sleep when you're dead!
The repair of the road surrounding the Zocalo is nearly complete and the sidewalk in front of Meson del Marques has been widened. A front door pull-in has also been constructed for guests arriving by car. The municipal water pipes were replaced so the lack of water issues in the hotel appear to have been resolved. Water pressure is still quite low so if you want to shower, rise early and beat the competition.
We have had dinner here on previous visits and the food, service, and cleanliness of the kitchen is excellent. Breakfast is reasonably priced and accommodates gringo tastes. You can raise a lot of pigs and chickens for the expense of raising one cow, and you may have noticed the lack of lush rolling grass lands on your drive in. If you order beef in Yucatan - get out your wallet.
Check-out is 1 PM. Hotel accepts only American Express credit cards. There is a cash machine next door to the hotel, and machines at Banamex and Bancomer on the Zocalo.

  • Liked — The ambience of the old colonial building
  • Disliked — Could use a booster for water pressure
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

We chose a junior suite just to have a beautiful room but we didn’t know how it was. It was really wonderful as you can see from the attached picture. Pay attention when you pay, the receptionist gave us the wrong change (50 pesos left). Don’t take the meat at the restaurant !! I chose a steack even if the menu didn’t state the price as it was according to the weight. Since I already took the same plate in other restaurant even on the Mayan Riviera which is quite expensive compared to others areas I was not afraid about the bill. Big mistake! The steack cost 260 pesos. The hotel has a parking.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The front in desk
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed in 5 different hotels during our trip to Mexico and this was by far the one we liked the most! We were looking for that authentic Mexican experience and we found it in Valladolid and here at El Meson. When we pulled up to the hotel, my husband looked over at me like "I hope we're not staying here.." because the outside of this hotel does not look very promising and for a moment we were worried As soon as we stepped in though, we were blown away by the beauty of this place and the beautiful courtyard. Our room was a standard room in the back of the hotel, but it was nice and quiet. If I could have changed anything, I probably would have upgraded to a superior room as the standard was quite small, but it was plenty adequate for us and was nice and clean during our two night stay. The food at the restaurant was very good too. We recommend the "poc chuc" because it was delicious. The ambiance of sitting around the fountain at night is amazing! As a warning, there is a ton of road construction in Valladolid so getting around is difficult on all of the one ways, but we mostly walked all around Valladolid and we really loved that little town. Cafe Squimoz is a great cafe with good food and is very clean too. And one of the best buys in Valladolid were leather sandals. There are many shops where they make them right there and we both bought a pair for about 12 bucks each. Overall, we felt our hotel was kind of like an oasis in the middle of Valladolid. To us, this hotel is what you always think and hope Mexico will be like, but that you rarely will see. We loved it here and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights while visiting Chichen Itza and some of the other surrounding archeological sites and cenotes before heading South to Tulum. The hotel is very centrally located across from the town plaza (undergoing road construction during our visit). The hotel itself is well-appointed with a lot of personality and historic detail; it also has secure parking and a large, but chilly, inground pool. Our room was a junior suite located on the corner of the top floor of the older/original part of the building. It was large with huge windows overlooking the town, and had AC and a television. The beds (2 queens) were a bit hard, but the bathroom had a modern tub and strong water pressure. The hotel restaurant was quite good - especially the guacamole, made fresh at the table-side. We really enjoyed the town of Valladolid - it is a sleepy little city that feels far removed from the more touristy regions of Cancun and Playa del Carmen. The neighborhood shops and eateries are great, particularly the mexican style "food court" next to the hotel - the busy place in the back corner (I wish I could remember its name!), open during the morning and early afternoon, served excellent, authentic local food that was really inexpensive and quite tasty. We would stay here again if we were to return.

  • Liked — Central location, secure parking, plenty of historic charm
  • Disliked — mattress was a bit hard
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Meson del Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson del Marques

Address: Calle 39 No. 203 x 40 y 42 | Centro Historico, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Meson del Marques 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Meson del Marques is located in the heart of historic Valladolid,a very peaceful and beautiful colonial city filled with history, just 40 kms away from Chichen Itza. The hotel is one of the oldest buildings in the city constructed in the beginning of the XVII century, unique in its combination of historical atmosphere and contemporary acomodations and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your El Meson del Marques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Meson Del Marques Hotel Valladolid
El Meson Del Marques Valladolid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Meson del Marques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.