We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful classical hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Meson del Marques

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Meson del Marques to your Saves list
El Meson del Marques
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 39 No. 203 x 40 y 42 | Centro Historico, Valladolid 97780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Valladolid
Lancaster
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful classical hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

On our posh backpacking tour of the yucatan this was our hotel highlight over 3 weeks and 6 differerent places. A wonderful old collonial building with a great restaurant around a fountain in the first courtyard and nice but smallish pool in the quad behind that. Simple traditional rooms and very good service. It is right on the main sqaure which is sinigifanctly quainter and more appealing than Merida and far better access to Chichen Itza and Ek Balham (recomended as less touristy and more jungleified)
Price was the upper end of our budget (800 M$ = £45 / $55 US for standard room) but well worth it and miles better value than more touristy places like Tulum or Playa.
Breakfast not included in our deal but recomended, as a bit pricier than local places but really really good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    318
    68
    33
    24
See reviews for
138
353
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The rooms have what they should, but not much more. Clean, orderly and safe, if not luxurious or warm. The beds are hard, as in medieval hard. However, the grounds of the spread out hotel and restaurant are lovely and its location in town is perfect in this authentic locale. The restaurant is why you come and its proximity to the main town square is helpful and charming.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The place looks and feels amazing. I would never image a hotel looking like it does. It's worth to go and its smack in the middle of the city... just in front of the square park and Church and city hall.

The restaurant has very good food, and the pool is nicely placed even if its not always clean to the best.

One thing you have to expect if your room balcony is not facing the pool then yes you will not enjoy it. But its a detail if the weather is nice and you want to stay around the pool.

The rooms and the rest of the hotel are very clean but the tv maybe needs an upgrade.

Also, i discovered a nice terrace facing the park and the view of the square opening that gives the view of the restaurant on top of the roof. Very private of a spot to talk and relax away from everything.
The Hotel does not have an extravagant entrance and you end up going into the restaurant before going to the hotel but that's a detail.

Room Tip: At my stay there was renovated and not renovated room you will have to see where they are placed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Nice hotel in good location but they gave us a room that did not match description, it was not at all a junior suite but they called it one, and told us we could leave if we didn't like it. They said the hotel was fully booked. Their manner was intransigent.

Room Tip: Tell them you want an upstairs junior suite with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel El Meson del Marques for one night, after a long flight in and a 100 mile drive. If the room we were given was a superior room, thank heaven we had paid the extra for it, as I'd have hated to be in a standard room. The expected balcony on which we'd anticipated taking a relaxed drink at the end of a long day turned out to be a Juliet balcony. Neither could we have a good soak in the tub as there was no plug.
That said, the staff were willing and pleasant, and although being asked to pay upfront at check-in for one night's accommodation was more in keeping with a house of ill-repute than a reputable hotel, we paid our bill on arrival.
We ate in the attractive and charming hotel restaurant and can confirm previous reviewers' comments that getting served initially is the hardest part - we were seated at our table waiting over 20 minutes before any member of staff deigned to come near us. The meal was OK, but cheaper wines on the list seemed to be unavailable - how strange!
The bed was small, hard and uncomfortable (remember this is a superior room!) and the sheet was not big enough to cover us both.
The final indignity came when we tried to check out...bearing in mind we had already paid up-front! We had to return the TV remote control, so when we did then had to stand in reception for 15 minutes waiting for a car park exit ticket, whilst housekeeping staff checked that "we had not left anything behind"; when we asked whether they did not trust us, we were told this was hotel policy...which was confirmed by the hotel reception manager who had been standing next to us all the time we confronted her poor receptionist!
In all our travels - and we have stayed in many odd and much inferior hotels in our time - my wife and I have never been made to feel so like criminals as this hotel managed - AVOID IT AT ALL COSTS!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

stayed here for the 2nd time.

Last time we had a suite room in the mainbuilding. Really great ! This time they only had space available in the side block - std room. Rooms so so, bathroom good but a bit small.
Breakfast is served downstairs in the hacienda style patio. Service is good. Hotel is visited by individuals but also large groups of roundtrip tours which means that in the early hours there is already quite some ´noice´ of people moving suitcases.

Hotel has a private parking lot. Very convenient. We liked the hotel and the stay ! You can see the main attractions on walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We rented the standard room for $55 night and found the room to be quite nice and roomy overlooking the piscina! The staff were very good and we checked out late witout any problem or extra charges. The real draw however is the restaurant featuring yucatecan specialties! Huevos Motulenos, Zac Col, pibil, Queso relleno you must try them all! Very tasty and unique.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Meson del Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson del Marques

Address: Calle 39 No. 203 x 40 y 42 | Centro Historico, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Meson del Marques 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Meson del Marques is located in the heart of historic Valladolid,a very peaceful and beautiful colonial city filled with history, just 40 kms away from Chichen Itza. The hotel is one of the oldest buildings in the city constructed in the beginning of the XVII century, unique in its combination of historical atmosphere and contemporary acomodations and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Meson del Marques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Meson Del Marques Hotel Valladolid
El Meson Del Marques Valladolid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Meson del Marques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.