We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills but historical and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Meson del Marques

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El Meson del Marques to your Saves list
El Meson del Marques
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 39 No. 203 x 40 y 42 | Centro Historico, Valladolid 97780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Valladolid
Edmonton,Alberta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“No Frills but historical and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place is situated right on the main square in Valladolid. I would recommend it for its historical atmosphere. The room was spartan but pleasant, and overall quite nice for the price. As with many older places, there are signs asking you not to flush the toilet paper. Parking is free and in the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    317
    68
    32
    24
See reviews for
138
351
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have spent one night in El Meson del Marques during our Mexican tour in November 2012. This typical Mexican hacienda is placed in the city center of Valladolid, close to all interesting places. Rooms are small bur very clean and comfortable. The open air patio is a great place to have a delicious dinner or breakfast. We are looking forward to come back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited the hotel over Christmas holiday, it is a very well run operation. I would recommend if you stay at this Hotel and you are looking for a historic room to request one as most of the rooms are newer and for me that was a bit disappointing. I love old architecture.

The public areas are historic and the restuarant is fantastic. It's courtyard setting is beautiful and romantic, you feel like you have gone back in time, yet it is up to date and extremely organized. The food is very good.

The city is very small as far as things to do go. You will get an authentic look at the pace and vibe of the Yucatan and the Mayan people here. The ruins are about one hour away.

San Diego, CA

Room Tip: Ask to be in the original building if you want a historic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

It is the best hotel I know in Valladolid, you can choose from 4 room types, we stayed in junior suite and were very satisfied! It has a small pool, great colonial style, good restaurant, parking lot for free (if you are a guest) and the location (right on the main square) is just perfect!
There were few little details, really just details that are the reason I won´t give it a "five" but I highly recomend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

El Meson can't be beaten for affordability, accessibility--it's near all the major ruins--great parking & a staff and restaurant second to none: this is the only place to stay in Valladolid. All amenities are available and reasonably priced for the quality afforded.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los altos
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

clean, quiet comfortable room and bed. and the restaurant is first class. free parking in courtyard.

staff was super helpful. my suitcase broke when i was there, and their maintenance guy fixed it

walking distance to the main local (not tourist) shopping district so you can see how real people live and shop. and directly on the main square for the tourists

beautiful roof top deck that nobody else was using (i wonder why not, it was lovely)

only downsides are that the main square has a huge flock of very noisy birds that squawk at dawn and dusk. dusk time was lovely and scenie. but the morning squawk doesn't lend itself to sleeping in on vacation

a bit pricy, but was very nice

Room Tip: pool is only open 8am to 8pm so don't worry about pool noise. you don't want to be on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at El Meson Del Marques. I just love This hotel. It is Clean, the staff is wonderful. The place is just beautiful, Our room had a small Balconey and a modern bathroom. There is free secure parking and breakfast is included in the room.. It is right on the main square. The pool area was very nice. There is a small bar by the pool. We will stay here again...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Meson del Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson del Marques

Address: Calle 39 No. 203 x 40 y 42 | Centro Historico, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Meson del Marques 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Meson del Marques is located in the heart of historic Valladolid,a very peaceful and beautiful colonial city filled with history, just 40 kms away from Chichen Itza. The hotel is one of the oldest buildings in the city constructed in the beginning of the XVII century, unique in its combination of historical atmosphere and contemporary acomodations and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Meson del Marques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Meson Del Marques Hotel Valladolid
El Meson Del Marques Valladolid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Meson del Marques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.