We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic regional food in buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casona de Valladolid

La Casona de Valladolid
Calle 41, No 214 Esquina con 44, Col Centro, Valladolid, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 53 Restaurants in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At “La Casona” you can enjoy the past while in the present, as well as an exquisite culinary experience. This beautiful site offers the best of Yucatecan food, either in a buffet or a la carte format, and has special prices for visitors from the states of Yucatan and Quintana Roo.En “La Casona” se disfruta del pasado en el presente, así como de una exquisita experiencia culinaria. Este hermoso recinto, con capacidad para 306 personas, cuenta con una fina selección de 130 platillos con lo mejor de la tradicional comida yucateca, ya sea en modalidad de buffet o a la carta, y ofrece precios especiales a quintanarroenses y yucatecos.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Authentic regional food in buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Located near the local central plaza it has the advantage to serve a good buffet where you can taste the local food. They also offer other intl plates if you are not so adventorous. It worked well for us as we wanted to pack more activities on the day and the buffet saved us from waiting time. Service was attentive and located in a nice colonial house.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    90
    29
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing setting, ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Let me preface this with the fact that I am not a buffet person. The setting is quite lovely, with beautiful decoration, fountain, mosaic altar, and a nice little gift shop. Seems to be a bit of a tourist trap, where busloads of tourists come to have an authentic Mayan meal before their next destination. It is very expensive, even for a buffet, and I thought much of the food was just ok...but the cafeteria feeling may have turned me off.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento C, Customer Service Team at La Casona de Valladolid, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Visitor,

We apologize for haven’t reached your expectations during your visit.

Thank you for sharing your comments, your feedback helps us immensely to improve our service.
Please, tell us if there was something specific you didn’t like about the food, we´ll be very glad to receive your comments at customerservice@experienciasxcaret.com

Customer Service Team
Experiencias Xcaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Went for lunch today. Nice setting, great service. Buffet had many items including steak and yucatan dishes. Food was good and buffet included soda, beer and fruit juices. Beautiful fountain in the back. Overall a very enjoyable meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Choice, choice and then some more choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stopped here within a group of people on a tour to Chichen itza. If you are looking at trips to Chichen itza from Riveira Maya then pick one that stops here. This is the perfect break up of the journey. The place was tranquil and peaceful. lots of interesting pictures to take once you have eaten. However with the variety and quality of food you may use all your time trying out amazing food choices. The are a lot of hot and cold options, a great local soup with breads. A chilli made with chocolate. If you are from England and make chillis with any jar sauces then here is where you will find authentic. I have made my own meals at home and since visiting this place I have added so many new ingredients that I discovered here. Its a shame we could not stay longer. That the only negative.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Delicious and picturesque!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was one of the best buffets we've had. All of the food was tasty and of good quality. We went as part of a day tour and were not disappointed. One regret was that I did not heed the warning of a fellow diner who exclaimed "muy picante!" when I grabbed a scoop of habanero salsa. It was wicked, even for someone who likes that stuff. The restaurant itself was a spectacular 120 year-old house with a backyard shrine and a landmark church across the street. There is outdoor seating among the hundreds of seats available and a gift shop. This is a huge place and is probably on of the most unique places we've ever eaten. Visit if at all possible; you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casona de Valladolid also viewed

 
Valladolid, Yucatan
 

Been to La Casona de Valladolid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casona de Valladolid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.