We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Valladolid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Tia Micha

Save Saved
You added Casa Tia Micha to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Tia Micha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 39 Numero 197 Entre 38 y 40, Valladolid 97780, Mexico   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Valladolid
graham Wa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place in Valladolid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a wonderful experience staying at Casa Tia Micha! Don Micha and his family are so warm and friendly! Celso and his brother Julia manage the hotel and their sisters run the kitchen. The breakfasts were among the best I've ever had at any BnB!
They arranged tours to unknown Cenotes on neighboring Ranchos that NO-ONE sees!
Just genuinely friendly and so helpful, nice people.

Room Tip: All of their rooms are very nice and large! Comfy beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    25
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
105
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights.
Very clean rooms and the breakfast was splendid. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
Rooms are far away from the street which makes them very quiet. A nice garden with swimming pool and jacuzzi make it ideal to relax after a day of visits.
Very good location, only 5 minute walk from the ADO bus station.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is located in the centre of Valladolid but the rooms are tucked away so they feel like a calm oasis. We had a lovely room with 4-poster bed. The staff were really hospitable and friendly - one guy gave us a lot of a local spirit one evening, and told us lots of myths and about the work he does for his Mayan community. Has a car park and the breakfasts were amazing local cuisine, and different each of the two days we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Wonderful oasis of peace in the center of Valladolid. The hosts were extremely welcoming and warm. They made us feel at home. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The food is good. Beautiful terrace and patio in the house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Morelos, Mexico
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were planning a brief trip to Valladolid for our son's 6th birthday. I emailed 3 properties to ask how they could accommodate our family of 5, and received same-day responses from each one. They were all very friendly in their responses, but the staff (Julio) at Casa Tia Micha went above and beyond. He offered us two rooms at a reduced rate, and offered to make our son the breakfast of his choice and a birthday cake! I had to tell Julio that our son has celiac disease and cannot eat wheat, and was offered a birthday flan, and custom-order breakfast. I was so amazed by this generosity and flexibility and knew that this was the place to stay!
As soon as we walked in the doors or Casa Tia Micha, we were treated like family. We actually stayed in their new addition, Cases Tia Micha 2, which is just 2 doors down. It has a pool and a jacuzzi and is so beautiful. We were immediately offered refreshments and advice on the best places to see in town.
That evening, as we returned from a restaurant near the town square, we saw the staff in the gorgeous, colonial kitchen busy on the flan. We were offered a choice of what time to have our breakfast the next day, and were eager to see what that would be like.
When we awoke and went into the courtyard, we were given coffee as the staff prepared our meals. We were offered waffles, crepes, or eggs. When we sat down, we were first served an amazing fruit plate with a perfectly-ripe selection and fresh squeezed melon juice. I had never had anything like the juice and it was delicious. After eating our meal, the whole flan was delivered WITH a candle in the shape of a number 6! Our son was thrilled as a Spanish birthday song was sung to him. The flan was amazing! Just when we thought the service couldn't be topped, the owner of Casa Tia Micha entered with a pinata filled with candy for our son... a gift for him to take home!
I obviously could go on and on about this experience, but I have never experienced such treatment at a hotel. After getting to know the family-owners a bit, we departed with fresh avocados and bananas from their garden. I can't recommend this property enough!

Room Tip: Email the staff for advice... they are very responsive and thoughtful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryso n, Propietario at Casa Tia Micha, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi Mrs. Cheryl!

Oh! Thanks so much for your review, was a pleasure serve you!, my mom miss you!, she was very excited with the piñata and birthday of your son. Our mission is this, your happiness!

Best regards and we wait that you come back!

Julio Ayora Sosa
Casa Tía Micha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was just perfect. The rooms are beautiful and uniqe. The breakfast was more than continental, we received cooked breakfast, and it was very tasty.
The owners are really nice people, freindly and helpful. They welcomed us as we were arriving home (we even got some welcome juice and also some tequlia in the evening.) All the familymembers were there to greet us.
The rroms are really clean and modern and nice decorated.

This hotel is a gem in Mexico, the best hotel, where we stayed during our trp (11 days). Do not search for other hotels, book this one!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Excellent suite, unbelievably good service from the staff, outstanding central location. To be honest l cant recommend this hotel enough.

Valladolid as a town as well as this suite/hotel were truly an oasis for us to retreat to after the general fatigue of Playa del Carmen/Tulum which were a both a bit rubbish.

Also breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is fantastic value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Tia Micha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tia Micha

Address: Calle 39 Numero 197 Entre 38 y 40, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Tia Micha 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful old house with colonial architecture. Feel the truly city cultur with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Casa Tia Micha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Tia Micha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.